Granny and the Eagles


Hello All.

So I went to the Eagles concert last night.
It was held in the Greenpoint Stadium.
A stadium that was built for the Soccer World Cup.
Quite quickly.
With quite a bit of controversy.

Look at the above photo.
Carefully.
Squint if you have to.
I used my little camera.
And I used the zoom.
Really….I used the zoom.
The figure on the left is on the Tv screen.
I don’t have zoom.
I could barely see the guys.

We were on the fourth level.
Thank heavens I did not pay for the tickets.
They were REALLY expensive.
And I discovered just how much I can multitask.
I can think four thoughts all at the same time.

I was thinking….
Where the hell are they?(the Eagles)
How well did they build this stadium?
Who opened the frigging windows?(there was a hellish south easter blowing)
What am I doing here?
Gee…they are old.
Gosh…they can still play a mean guitar.
Damn…I am hungry?
I wonder how clean the toilets are?
That is more than four thoughts.
My brain was in overdrive.

It was my first visit to the stadium.
Even if I was not leaving Cape Town, it would be my last.
Parking is almost impossible.
We had to walk miles.
I tried to cheer myself up by saying it was replacing the beach walk I had missed.
It didn’t work.
We had to queue to be searched.
The woman who searched in my bag didn’t have a torch.
She wouldn’t have found a thing.
If I had known it was going to be so cold I would have smuggled in a hipflask.
On second thoughts that would have been a very bad idea.
Take a tumble from that height and you are going to do yourself some serious damage.

We had to queue to get into the actual stadium.
I reckon there were at least 40000 people there.
You had to queue for food.
So I didn’t.
There weren’t very long lines at the bar.
I am not surprised.
R20 for a small glass of cheap wine.

So, I can cross a visit to the stadium off my wish list.
Not that it was actually there.
If anyone ever invites me to another rock concert I shall decline.
And buy the DVD.
I might make an exception if the Beatles had to appear.
But, as some of them are dead, that would be a bit creepy.

Just to keep things more or less normal.
A beach picture.
Gee…what a surprise.

Eleven more working days here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


25 responses to “Granny and the Eagles”

  1. Love the beach pic Granny – I never get tired of them. Each one is unique in its own way.

    I’d have loved to see the Eagles! I had 2nd row seats to a Rolling Stones concert several years ago – I could see every line on Mick’s and Keith’s faces (and that’s a LOT of lines!! LOL). I might have lost some hearing that night but it was damn well worth it!! 😀

  2. Mixed blessings that night, eh, Gran? I loved this post and will NEVER get enough of your humour! Do you have a job yet – in PE? The time has flown by since you first mentioned relocating! I pray it will all work out for the best.

  3. Wow Granny you do get around. I was driving out of the city at 6.45 pm last night and the wind was pushing the car all over the place. Did you enjoy the concert though?

  4. I think a few of those soccer…sorry…football stadia have been controversial.
    The Moses Thingamabob stadium in Durbs is also a bit of a white elephant.

    Hopefully the music was audible and you still enjoyed the concert.
    Have a happy long weekend!
    (aka Twolips)

  5. I used to like the Eagles. Shame the concert was disappointing on so many levels.
    Lovelly beach photo as always – I’m going to miss them.

  6. Oh no that sounds like a wasted night. Sounds like the time my son went to see Bruce Springsteen and didn’t invite me. Later he said be glad, very very glad. He knows that I am deathly afraid of heights. The stadium seats go almost straight up with several hanging sections for lack of a better way to describe it. He said they were practically on the roof.

  7. I once went to a Bob Dylan concert in Toronto and had the same experience as you. I figure it’s nuts to pay a small fortune, become a herd animal and not be able to even see the reason for going.

    The Eagles still turn out a fine tune, I suspect, but I’m happy watching them on You Tube.

    Guess that’s what we get for getting older, Granny – Sensible! And let youth think we don’t have fun anymore. Hah! 😀

  8. I wonder how clean the toilets are? LOL you forgot one!
    I would have been obsessing how long the queue was for the toilets and I wished I’d have bought the shewee I’d seen advertised because I aint gonna make it through the rest of the concert because I’ve got to go NOW. and OMG there is gonna be such a big puddle, no if we are on a slope 4 stories oh no! If I leave my seat to “Go” will I find my way back to the seats?

    No, concerts of this size are not for me either! Loved your photos. Binoculars would have been good 🙂

  9. Have to agree with you, Granny, concerts in such huge venues makes for less visuals than the DVD. I went to see Celine Dion when she was in SA once, and although she is one of my favorite artists, I didn’t see much. Then again, I guess I can say that I was there (even though I was not impressed with her live concert; I suppose I expected more). Still, I was there 😉

    Wow! 11 working days… I can’t believe we’re in April already! Can someone PLEASE just stop blinking or next thing it will be Christmas 2012! 😀

  10. I’ve been to many many rock concerts over the years, and I’m not inclined to see any more. Too much time, effort, and $’s without nearly enough return on the investment.

    Glad you lived to tell the tale.

  11. The last rock concert that I went to was at least ten years ago. Like you… I’d rather just buy the DVD. 😉
    The beach photo is beautiful!

  12. Yeah, what a shame that is Granny! I never go to big concerts like this and would either watch them in the privacy of my own home with my own wine without lots of people around. I love the Eagle’s music. Quite a great band in their time. 🙂

    Oh, such a great pic of the beach again! Love that! Thanks Granny!
    *big hugs to you and Jasmine*
    xxx

  13. I laughed at this because I never go to The Isle Of Wight Festival (which is held about a mile away from where we live, each June) I watch it on T.V., from the comfort of my sofa. I save myself a wodge of cash, see the artists close up, can fix a snack whenever I’m hungry and use my own clean bathroom. And if it’s boring, I can switch off. Am I sensible – or just getting old! 🙂

Leave a comment