Granny waffles on.


Hello All.

I was all set to blog yesterday.
There was no loadshedding due.
And, then the lights went out.
And, came back on.
And, went off.
Then they stayed off for a few hours.
Some substation tripped.
So, I lay on my bed.
Read a bit.
And napped.

I have a new resident.
A Daddy Longleg spider.
Apparently, harmless.
A couple of days ago it caught a small grasshopper.
I know, nature.
However, the previous night the grasshopper had showered with me.
I felt we had a bond.
I spent twenty minutes watching the spider to see what it would do.
Finally, I googled it.
They paralyze the prey.
Wait for it to get all squishy.
And then suck it up.
Yech!

I have a friend who lives three doors away.
We check in on each other every day.
I adore her.
But, she is artistic.
She loses or forgets things on a daily basis.
She drives me crazy.
Yesterday, she forgot her phone charger.
She usually comes and borrows one from me.
However, I had a visitor so she did not want to bother me.
She has just phoned me to tell me she left her office keys at home.
Was on her way back to fetch them.
The other night we were talking about when I got Covid.
She came around and brought me food.
Looked after me.
I did not remember a thing about it.
So, she is so special.
And, infuriating!
I will live with it.

Two days ago, someone died in the complex.
His wife and son came home from work at five thirty.
When he did not open the door for them, they had to force it.
Nasty shock for them.
One hears more and more surprising deaths.
Trying not to think too much about it.

And now, I have been up since four this morning.
Lights are due to go off soon.
I think a nap is on the cards.


4 responses to “Granny waffles on.”

  1. I also have an artistic friend. She is awesome but very indecisive. I think that she loves me because I am decisive.
    Three of my children are very creative. The youngest is fine: organised, efficient, reliable. The other two would forget their heads!

Leave a comment