Granny and so it continues


This was meant to be a short post to wish you all a great Christmas.

Unfortunately, while I DO hope you all had a great time, it has been simply horrific for me.

Some time back I said, to someone, I will be glad when 2023 is over.
2023 said “you think?”
First I got Covid.
Really badly.
Thought I was going to die.
After five days flat on my back, I was able to drag myself up.
Finished the antibiotics.
The slightest exertion sent me back to bed.
Am still coughing and spitting.
But, feel much better.

Then my ex boss phoned me.
To tell me my favourite customer had died.
A really fit guy who had never had a drink or a cigarette.
Such a shock.

Today I was devastated.
A young tenant and I had become really good friends.
He is younger than my kids but we just clicked.
He would walk over to my place and we would talk for two hours.
His sister sent me a message this morning.
He passed away yesterday afternoon.
He had an abscess in his stomach.
It burst and he bled to death.
In hospital.
This was the final straw.
I have cried a bucket.

Now you know why I have not been posting!


22 responses to “Granny and so it continues”

  1. I have missed your posts, but now completely understand why you haven’t been online. I am so very sorry!! My heart breaks for you as you grieve the loss of special friends. 💔 So hard, especially hitting you back to back and UGH on Covid too! Wish I had a magic wand, would be waving it for you!! Warm hugs, my friend!💙 I pray 2024 holds a bountiful of blessings for you!

  2. I sent you message so I’ll simply say here that you are never out of my heart and often in my thoughts. You and South Africa! All of you have done incredibly well holding up in this mess. And it takes individuals with souls like the one you have displayed over the years to get through the hurdles.

    One thing is certain, we’ll never be without challenges as long as we keep our toes pointing forward.

    Love to you Granny!

Leave a comment