Granny goes WHAT?


Hello All.

So much has happened.
Where to start.
The above picture is my friend’s dog.
She is deaf.
The dog, not my friend.
And, as you can see, living a great life.

Now, the storm.
We got a 100mm of rain in 49 hours.
With gale force winds.
I was lying in bed when I heard a huge crash.
Thought to myself, “I hope that is my neighbours”
It wasn’t.
The next morning, I discovered my ladder had crashed down.
My Weber was upside down.
My garden was under water.
Decided, I might have a swimming pool.
Anyway, the water seeped away, and I was able to restore the the chaos.
Discovered I am really too old for all this crap.

I sent my son a weather warning for his area.
He replied “drama queens”
He has had to eat his words.
They had 200mm all at once.
The highway was closed.

I could not get hold of him.
Was really worried.
He is fine.
They have no electricity but they have gas to cook and shower.
He is stuck on the farm but that is not serious.
Younger son is also stuck on their farm but are ok.
Eldest daughter is ok.
Have heard no news regarding my younger daughter.
Their village was badly hit.
Hopefully, I will hear from them soon.
There is more rain expected over the weekend.
But, hopefully, nothing too serious.
Went to my Dad’s house, yesterday.
Dreading what I would find.
Fortunately, no water got into the house.
That was a miracle.
Big sigh of relief.

So, I am sure you can understand why you have not heard from me.
On the upside we had no loadshedding.
However, it is now back.


13 responses to “Granny goes WHAT?”

  1. OMG Granny. What an exciting life you do lead! We had crazy weather a couple of weekends ago – roofs blown off, slips and road closures. My daughter-in-law’s mother was blown over when out walking (question why is a 92-year-old out walking in a storm?) She suffered a broken wrist and elbow and a badly bruised shoulder. Apparently, and nevertheless, she is coping well.

    • It’s amazing how similar our weather patterns are.
      The old lady is crazy.
      I am not looking forward to going out this morning, in the rain.
      And, I will be in my car!

  2. 🫣 Yikes! I hope you’ll soon hear that your younger daughter and all are fine. (Have you got a wearable flotation device? If so, let’s hope you’ll never need it!) Is that cute dog eating my favorite comfort food (baked mac’n’cheese)? And now I have to go Google how much “100mm” is! (🌹Hang in there.)

Leave a comment