Granny has a chuckle


Hello All.

I think I might have mentioned this before.
If I have, bear with me.
My brother lives with the nearly 99 year old.
My brother had a brain tumour which affects his memory.
The nearly 99 is nearly 99.
Eye sight not good.
Hearing not too good.
They are always looking for things.
Remotes.
Magnifying glasses.
Library books.
You name it and they will have looked for it.

Today I went around and Dad tells me there was great consternation.
And arguments.
They were hunting for Dad’s bank card.
BOTH of them forgot that they gave me the card yesterday.
I had to go and buy a heater for the old man for winter.
He battles with the cold.
And, their house IS cold.

I think the penny dropped when I sent my brother a message to confirms Dad’s pin number.
Was very chuffed that I had it right.
Haven’t used his card for over a year.
Be impressed.

How does one declutter the brain?
Besides dementia and Altzheimers.
Don’t want those.
I do all my Dad’s banking.
My brother’s banking.
Some of M’s banking.
My own banking.
I remember all their user names and passwords.
Some of their ID numbers.
It is crazy.
On the upside, since stopping work I have done away with all the work passwords.
Guess I just answered my own question.



26 responses to “Granny has a chuckle”

  1. You’ve got a good memory. I have to save all my non important passwords. I get locked out of WordPress at least once a week 😊

  2. You do have a good memory, Granny. Mine’s not so great, although, thankfully, we don’t have any history of dementia or Alzheimer’s in our family. I’m quite okay with log-in details, not so much with passwords, but then, I’ve devised a secret ‘system’ which works most of the time. And when it doesn’t, I end up clicking on the ‘forgot password’ button (probably more times than I care to admit!) 🙂

      • I’m sorry to hear that, Granny. Perhaps, my comment was a bit flippant. Apologies if it upset you. They do say that keeping our minds active, i.e. reading and writing regularly etc., as, I guess, we both do, keeps our brains healthier. I can understand it being a bit of a worry for you, though. With a bit of luck, all our blogging, amongst other things, will keep our grey matter in good working order.

  3. I AM impressed! Once I handed my phone over to my son so he could put in a food order with Skip the Dishes on my account – and not a minute later had a little panic attack because my phone appeared to be missing! Then he handed it back and I was really glad I hadn’t said anything. So no memory advice from this genius. Lol

  4. I lose my mobile phone every single day. My husband can never find his glasses, but he always leaves them in crazy places. I can’t believe how many times I almost sat or stood on them!
    Don’t you think different people have different types of memory too? I am pretty good with words and dates but I have an awful visual memory for pictures and faces. My husband is amazing with codes and and calculations, OK with faces but can’t remember events or conversations.
    One of my sons has an amazing picture memory but is terrible with words or appointments. How is that in your family?

    • Hmmm.
      I can remember things from the age of 2.
      Am hopeless with names and faces.
      Fortunately, being old, I can get away with “hello sweetie”
      M has an excellent memory for things I haven’t done.
      My eldest daughter can remember our phone number from 50 years ago.
      My younger daughter remembers things that never happened.

      • “M has an excellent memory for things I haven’t done”. I laughed my socks off at that one!
        I’ve worked a lot with kids over the years and am prone to calling them all honey and sweetheart to hide my incapabilities. Perhaps your younger daughter follows in M’s footsteps.

Leave a comment