Posted by: granny1947 | December 6, 2013

Granny says “rest in peace”

2010_07290010

Hello All.

Yes, the old man is at peace.
I am not sad.
I am relieved.
He has spent months on life support machines.
Stuck in bed.
Not the way I wanted to see him go.

I admired him for several reasons.

His gentleness.
His love of children.
His lack of bitterness.
His integrity.
His sense of humour.

Rest in peace Madiba.
You deserve it.

He left a great legacy.
However, this legacy is being swiftly eroded by the greed and corruption of the present people in power.
If I am still around when Zuma shuffles off this mortal coil….I shall raise a glass of wine.
The will be no sadness from me.
Just relief.

Back to the humdrum.
I took my car in for a service this morning.
They replaced the fan belt.
Now it can stop screeching at me.
Hopefully.
Mex dropped me at work.
And then got lost.
Found himself on the highway out of town.
I was lucky he managed to find my office to fetch me to go and collect the car.

Tomorrow we leave for our birthday weekend at the coast.
I hear there are deer that graze on the lawns.
I do hope Jasmine behaves herself.
I don’t THINK she will chase a deer.
She will, however, be very interested to see what they are.

2010_07080039

 
It is raining right now but the forecast for tomorrow is sunshine.
Be prepared for lots of pics.
I can’t wait to walk in the water.

Responses

  1. i too have just posted something along these lines. A sad day, but also grateful that he is no longer suffering. My heart goes out to his family and friends

    • Yes Blanket…I think Graca has been through hell.

  2. I thought of you when I heard the news about Mandela, and particularly when they talked about what Zuma had to say about him and his legacy. I thought the same thing as you, and I hope his good works don’t become completely overshadowed by this administration’s extreme corruption. They are such complete opposites. On a lighter note, it sounds like Mex and I have the same nonexistent sense of direction. I once got lost cycling through a new neighborhood, I kid you not. I passed the same guy mowing his law SIX times trying to find my way out. I LOVE that pic of Jasmine! Have a wonderful weekend and I look forward to more pics and stories! 🙂

    • Thanks so much RD…I can’t wait.

  3. I made it this weeks theme, a life well lived

    Enjoy the break away

    • Thanks Sidey…I intend to enjoy every minute of it.

      • good

  4. Have a great weekend!

  5. Enjoy your time awa’

    • Hi Nancy…beautiful weather…busy packing!

  6. A good tribute to a good man. Thank you.

    I hope you don’t try to walk on water instead of in!

    • I’m good Viv, but not THAT good. Unless I see a snake…then I reckon I could walk on water.

  7. I concur, Granny! Now how do we keep all his goodness alive…I guess by each one of us emulating his goodness. Quite a job, but I’m willing. My percentage for success may end up being low, but it will be better than it would have been before Madiba!

    • Quite right Amy…every little bit helps.

  8. My sympathy goes out to you and your nation on the death of Mandela. He was a great man. I hope his legacy will live on. Enjoy your vacation.

    • Thanks so much Maire…that is the one thing we can be proud of…the whole world knew who he was…quite amazing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

