Posted by: granny1947 | January 29, 2012

Granny and the wish list

Hello All.

Jasmine and I were down at the beach at seven this morning.
It was already hot.

There were no clouds.
No wind.
No seals.
No whales.
No dolphins.
No dead fish.

There were happy dogs.
Several people.
A couple of surfers(as there were very few waves I don’t know what they were doing there)
A rather strange smell.
Which I couldn’t pinpoint.
And our usual stunning scenery.
Aren’t you guys getting sick and tired of the same darn photos?

I’ll take my camera when I go to fetch Wendy just now.
Take some shots of the parking garage at the airport.
Just by way of a change.

Supper went well.
I love the friends who came round.
Which is why I invited them.

I tried a new recipe for red cabbage.
Done in the oven.
It was tasty.
And a little crispy in parts.
Which I think was wrong.
I checked on it and found the bits of onion were burning slightly.
And it looked dry.
So I tossed in a glass of wine.
And it perked right up.
Wine has that effect on me too.

Oh yes….the wish list.
Almost forgot.
It is granddaughter’s 18th birthday on the 1st.
She left a wish list lying around.
Right next to where I sit at the computer.
The kid is not subtle.

A car…..in your dreams girl.
A Blackberry…also very doubtful.
A scooter….see number one.(unless it is a push one)
Money….a real possibility.
A tattoo….over my dead body.

She tells me ALL her friends are getting cars.
ALL HER FRIENDS.
If that is true(which I doubt) she needs to get new friends.
Or a rich Dad.
A very rich Dad.
Who can support me too!

Hope you are all having a great weekend.

Responses

  1. It is beautiful beach and each morning it looks new.
    A scooter… they are fun to ride but is it really safe with the taxi’s on our roads. That is almost a bigger consideration for me than the money.
    How many things that we want is based on the fact that many others have it – that being the sole reason, I wonder…

    • I hear what you say Yada and I fully agree on the scooter story.

  2. I love the ‘same darn photos’. I’m going to miss them when you move.

    If all granddaughter’s friends are getting cars, why would she need one? She can just get lifts from them. Don’t suppose that argument will go down well with her though! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Elaine…now why didn’t I think of that…will try it out on her and let you know.

  3. The granddaughter has been watching too much American tv where the “Sweet 16’s” always get a fancy car for their birthdays.

    If she hasn’t already got some sort of savings account, how about starting one for her with her birthday money deposited into it.

    • She does have an account Twolips…will be putting something into it.
      Isn’t that a ghastly program???

  4. a wish list has to have impossible dreams as well as the possible ones

    • I agree Sidey….as long as she can handle the disappointments now!

  5. kids have dreams with their head in the clouds..one day they have to come down to earth!

    I am sure that whatever you buy it will be beautiful and suitable

    • Hi Patrecia…I think I will take the easy road…money!

  6. Good morning to you, granny. I don’t think people ever tire of the pics of your beach. Love the wish list and your thoughts on it. πŸ˜‰ “All the other kids” always get what they want, don’t they? Hugs to you. xx

    • Yes AD…ALL the other kids…humpffffffffff

  7. I have a wish list too. Nothing I can afford but it’s nice to have some dreams πŸ™‚

    • Hi Sarchasm…I have a dream of winning the lottery…however…am sure it is rigged.

  8. Had to chuckle! Grandkids–what can you do but love them?

    • Hi Marjulo…uhm…dislike them???

  9. She doesn’t need new friends . . . she needs to share her Wish List with the RICH ones she’s got! πŸ˜‰

    Love how you perked up the cabbage with a splash of wine!

    Say hi to Wendy. Can’t wait to see the photos of the parking garage . . . something to look forward to on a Monday morning. πŸ˜†

    • Oh dear NR…I have let you down…didn’t take any!

  10. I never get tired of your photos granny.
    Wish lists – we all have them but sometimes wishes come true! Not sure about your granddaughter’s though! Take the easy way out and give her the money!

    • Hi Barb…actually, I will not have any time to go shopping so it is going to have to be money!

  11. I for one would never tire of your beautiful photographs! Look at that beautiful happy smiling Jasime. I love it.

    As far as the wish list, a girl has to dream.

    • Hi Linda…yes…when Jasmine is happy she shows it…also when she is down in the dumps!

  12. No, I’m not getting sick of the photos! You kidding? You’ll be on to new vistas soon enough.

    Love the granddaughter’s moxy attitude…

    • Hi souldipper…am optimist deluxe!

  13. I think that you should leave a couple of wish lists lying aroung too – and don’t be subtle about it. πŸ˜‰

    • Hmmmmm Joberry….what would I put on my list?
      I will have to give it some thought.
      Losing weight would be number one!

  14. Kids only start realising the value of money when they have to earn their own living, haha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

