Posted by: granny1947 | October 3, 2011

Croaking Granny

Hello All.

This is going to be a short post.
Don’t want to strain the vocal chords.

I have returned to a mountain of work.
It doesn’t pay to stay off sick.
Well,it does if you have sick leave due.
But you know what I mean.

Supper went off very well on Friday.
Even without my sparkling conversation.
My attempts at talking had everyone in stitches.
I should have charged them entertainment fees.

Granddaughter washed the dishes.
She was lucky she had left when I checked in the fridge on Saturday.
A dish with six peas.
Another with a tablespoon of cauliflower.
A pot with leftover rice.
She,obviously,wasn’t in a dishwashing mood.
I can relate.

I was a bad Granny yesterday.
Younger granddaughter had her 7th birthday party.
I didn’t go.
It was cold and miserable.
I would rather have gone to the dentist than been surrounded by a bunch of yelling seven year olds.
Hell, I AM getting old.

My computer has gone on a go-slow.
The above pic took ages to download.

Before I get back to the grindstone…a joke.

At a wedding reception recently someone yelled,

 

“All the married men please stand next to the one person who has made your life worth living.”

 

 

The bartender was nearly crushed to death.

Responses

  1. lol! Granny, can I steal it for my blog?

    • Of course you can Tilly!

  2. May you get your voice back soon, Kathy.

    • It is back Maire…just gruff!

  3. Haha I got that joke in an email too – it was a good one! I’m glad your supper came off well despite your squeaky voice. Granddaughter is funny with the leftovers, but it’s worth it for all the dishwashing she did!

    I agree with you that there’s a hefty price to pay for time off – sick OR vacation, we end up overloaded with email and spending at least a day or so just catching up on that. Sometimes it makes me miss the days before computers when you’d go back to work and only have to deal with whatever important stuff was left specifically for you, all the junk had been sifted out and tossed or delegated.

    Ah well, happy Monday anyway, Granny!

    • good afternoon RD….Tell me about it…to make matters worse it is month end.

  4. I hope you get your voice back soon, sure your staff don’t share the hope. *runs away very fast*

  5. The written word is wonderful…I only heard the granny voice that I imagine: soft, gentle, loving, soothing, cursing. What? How did that get in there?

    Teen strategies are the same world over. That’s so that Grannies can live anywhere at any age!

  6. I love this comment , “All the married men please stand next to the one person who has made your life worth living.” and the answer.

    If you need help with your pc just ask.

  7. That joke is HYSTERICAL!
    So are you.

    Charging entertainment fees
    For croaking at the dinner table
    To amuse those in attendance.

    I’d take the 6 peas
    And the tablespoon of cauliflower
    Mix them with the rice
    Toss in some celery and seasonings
    And enjoy at the next meal.

    I’m Scottish.

  8. Nuthatch says this: “I’d take the 6 peas And the tablespoon of cauliflower
    Mix them with the rice Toss in some celery and seasonings And enjoy at the next meal.”

    I say “no” and “bin it”

    But then I’m not Scottish 🙂

  9. great post – nearly wet myself with the ending..,hehehe

  10. Lovely photos, Granny. Glad to hear you’re up and about, though still quieter than you’d like to be.

  11. Sounds like a fun dinner. Beautiful photo with Jasmine.

  12. love the joke
    hope you get better soonest. i’m still coughing badly after 3 weeks

  13. […] Granny1947 loaned me this one. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

