Granny thinks back.


HI All.

My last proper post was on the 1st of March.
I went back to have a look.
Quite a lot has happened.
Most of it not so good.
People keep dying.
Par for the course at my age.

I have a friend who has been my friend for decades.
She sent me a message the other day to say her husband had passed.
We had a long talk the next day.
He passed in her arms.
She was ok with that.
Said he was so peaceful.
I don’t think I could handle that.
Both my husbands passed, unexpectedly, in hospital.
Adrenaline carried me through.

My eldest daughter phoned me two days ago.
A very dear friend had passed.
He was like a father figure to her.
The same day another friend passed.
Mental note, don’t be friends with my daughter!

Every two weeks I get a chap from Malawi.
I inherited him from my Dad.
His name is Gift.
And, he IS a gift.
He starts in the garden.
Tidies up the beds.
Then he comes into the house.
Vacuums and washes the floors.
I don’t have to tell him what to do.
He works flat out.
Love him to bits.

I have a new friend.
We are meeting today for a brunch.
It is going to play havoc with my routine.
But, I know I have to make an effort to get out.
She came around a few weeks ago.
Spent about three hours with me.
She said we are very alike.
We aren’t.
She loves housework.
I don’t.

And now, I have waffled on far too long.
Hope I haven’t bored you.


17 responses to “Granny thinks back.”

  1. ahhh love, no matter what you are have been through and going though, you still have that wonderful sense of humour to make me laugh, love you

    >

  2. so nice to have you back for a post. keep plugging away at and please do continue to share you humor and outlook on life with us.

Leave a comment