Posted by: granny1947 | April 30, 2017

Granny has something to say….at last

Hello All.

Are you still out there?
What have I missed?

Took the above pic the other evening.
Nothing like an African sunset.

So, where to begin.
First, let’s get the bad stuff out the way.
My Mom took ill in February and we had to get her to hospital by ambulance.
Turns out she has dementia and a heart problem.
Then the fun and games began.

She had put herself to bed so much her muscles had weakened.
My Dad and brother could not get her to move.
The old man was taking so much strain trying to look after her.
I got her out of bed but as soon as I left she put herself back.

Anyway, to cut a long story short I found a home in Uitenhage that had a vacancy.
And, was affordable.
Then it was all the red tape to go through with medical aid.
Fortunately, my Dad’s medical aid pays half the fees.
But they needed SO much information first.
Doctors reports, quotes, affadavits signed at the police station etc.
Every time I sent stuff to them they wanted more.
I was tearing my hair out.
Finally got it all sorted out.

Unfortunately, Uitenhage is 40kms from here.
On a nasty twisting road.
So, between working and going there two or three times a week and checking in on the old man I am a bit bushed.

Enough of that though I have some amusing things to say about the other patients in the frail care.

On a happier note I have just got back from a six day road trip.
I went down to the Cape to spend my 70th birthday with all my kids and six of my seven grandchildren.
Saw my younger daughter for the first time in seven years.
It was magic.

Time for the first of many photos.

Me with the four kids.

I will be going through the whole trip in the coming days.
So much easier to blog when you have stuff to share.

The trip down was seven hours.
My various body parts argued all the way.
My brain said “we can do this”
My back said “what…are you crazy”?
My bladder won the day.

Catch you all tomorrow with day one of the trip.
I do hope you are all still out there.
Or I will be talking to myself.

 

Responses

  1. of course I am still here…lovely to hear from you again..as I said the other day,its about time!

    I am sorry to hear about the old folks but suppose this is what happens when you get on a bit.

    I have just been in hosptal to have gall bladder removed.Got the stones in a pot to prove it. I shall have my stitches out nest Thursday.

    Off to see my children on 19 may and staying in UK for 11 days…

    Just waiting to see you pics…lots of love as always

     

    Sent: Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 4:51 PM

    • Hi There Patrecia.
      So sorry to hear about your gall bladder.
      Get well soon my friend.
      Love you too.

  2. Hmm . . . let’s see, what have you missed?

    Well, I had tea with the Queen at Buckingham Palace on a rather drizzly day. Still, a memorable experience. Then I got nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. Still waiting to hear the result.

    What else? Oh, right. I taught myself how to time travel ~> what a BLAST!

    Happy April Fool’s Day!

    Glad to see you back. And happy that you celebrated your 70th in style!

    • Hi There NR…super to be back…missed you guys.
      What did the queen have to say????

  3. Yay you back, so glad to see you again, you always make me laugh. Sorry about your mom and all the hospital drama, glad you had such a fun birthday. Missed you around these parts xx

    • Thanks so much Natasha…feels good to be back.

  4. Lovely to see you back, granny. Sorry to hear about your mum. Looking forward to hearing about your trip. X

    • Hi Cynth…yes, am looking forward to sharing it.

  5. It’s good to see you back. Happy 70th!

    • Thanks so much Castiron!

  6. Sorry to read you have been involved in such dramas. Hopefully you will now have enough of a return to ‘normal’ (for what that is worth) to enable the back history to be filled in.

    • Morning Col…”normal” is so boring:)

  7. Glad your back but sad to hear about your mom. It’s always sad to watch a parent deteriorate. Hey girl its time you retired, don’t you think..

    • Yes, retiring would be nice but no money honey!

  8. You were the third person I followed when I first joined WP all those many years ago. Just last night as I was drifting to sleep, out of the blue I thought, “I wonder how Granny1947 is doing. I haven’t heard from her in awhile. I bet she misses Jasmine and her walks on the Beach” Then lo and behold I woke to find your recent post. I’m sorry to hear of all your challenges. You’re Wonder Woman to me! My mother has had dementia for 7 years now. That, plus menopause and other things, have sent me down a darker path than when I first set up my blog. You are certainly a “survival of the fittest” sort and I send you my best wishes and Happy 70th Birthday blessings!

    • Oh how wonderful Maggie.
      I had no idea you have followed me for so long.
      Dementia for seven years…oh wow….that must be such a strain for you.
      Menopause really sucks.
      I went on pills for it and, when I came off them, back it came.
      Only really stopped quite recently!!!

      • If you ever need to vent, drop me an e-mail.

  9. hi Love, have missed your blogs so much, and it is wonderful to hear from you again. Sorry about your mom. That is a great photo of you, you do not get any older!

    • Hi There. I wish I could believe I do not get any older but I look in the mirror every morning, and give a little squeak!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

