Posted by: granny1947 | October 8, 2016

Granny is horrified.

100_0455Hello All.

Remember me?
I cannot believe I have not posted since June.
Time really flies when you are having fun.
Not!

The above picture is from 10 years ago.
When I walked every day.
And soaked up the all the beauty.
And Jasmine was alive.
And I saw my children.
And my grandkids.
And I loved my job.
Don’t worry, this is NOT going to be a pity post.
Though it sounds like it so far.

The old folks have been keeping me pretty busy.
I have to take my 93 year old stepdad to hospital on Tuesday.
He has to have more cancer cut out his back.
Poor old bugger.

I took him to the plastic surgeon a couple of weeks ago to take a biopsy.
On the way home I stopped to pick up some medication for him.
It took a while and when I got back he told me a prostitute had tried to pick him up.
Either she was desperate.
Or had bad eyesight.
Or he looks good for his considerable age.
In any event I had a good laugh.
He was a bit indignant!

Mother is starting Alzheimers.
Why doesn’t WP like the way I have spelled that?
The only time she initiates conversation it is to repeat something she has told you a hundred times.
Her eyesight has suddenly gone wonky and she can’t read anymore.
Spends most of her time staring into space.
She keeps putting articles of clothing into the warming drawer of the stove.
And then forgets about them.
I am constantly taking out red hot clothes.

She became convinced there was a sink hole under their bedroom.
Wanted Dad to get in an engineer.
She kept feeling a draft on her legs.
I think this is bad circulation because she never moves from her chair.
Eventually I told her there was no sink hole.
But if a sink hole DID swallow her up I would put “she was right” on her grave stone.
That was the end of the sink hole story.

Well, now that I have bored you all to tears,  I shall end.

Responses

  1. Good to see you back, granny. I’ve missed you.

    • Thank you so much Cynth. Feels good to be back. Now, just to keep it up.

    • I don’t feel so bad now. See your last blog was in 2012!!!

  2. Not a boring story, a nice way to shed light on a situation… AoK

    • So, you found me!!! Good to have you here.

  3. Dont know whether to laugh or cry…your life is so clogged down with the problems of others and yet the thought of putting clothes in warmer..which could be dangerous, getting propositioned by a pro or falling into a sink hole is really funny but it is putting such a strain on your lif..and that makes me sad. You are not the only one who does not blog as often as before..other things crowd into our lives..things more important than WordPrrss and weget bogged down and it gets forgotten or pushed further down the list of jobs to do. But somehow it really does not matter..if friends are friends ,they will understand and still be around when the next thrilling installment becomes available… I got arthritus in the bade of my spine and sciatica in the rest of my body…oh. And i ma madly in love with my doctor but he does not know… Other than that life is the same old plod… Love you lots and keep smiling

    • Oh dear Patrecia. So sorry you are in pain. Helps to have a crush on your doctor. I don’t have one on mine. He is gay! Do like him very much. He loves dogs. Let me have a little weep about Jasmine. Love you too my friend.

  4. Woweeeee, a blog from you at last. It isn’t fun to have to look after old folks but we do it. The Village Care Centre has more than its fair share of Altzheimers residents and I admire the staff who look after them. Keep well, much love.

    • Thanks so much Pussycat…yes it is a real blast. Have to laugh sometimes…she comes out with weird snippets from the past.

  5. Ai Kath, life is a circle hey? Miss you big time. So sorry to hear about Moms Alzheimers….and Dad’s skin cancer woes. Sending big hugs your way xx

    • Aww thanks Colleen. Miss you too. Am hoping to come down to the Cape in April for the big 70!

  6. Have missed you. Hang in there. We go through tough periods in our lives gut we manage to work our way through them somehow. It is good that you are close enough to be able to help your mom and stepdad as much as you can. When my parents went through health problems I was several hundred miles away and couldn’t do anything other than keep in touch. There is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

  7. Sounds pretty dismal . . . that prostitute provided your step-dad with a boost to his ego and a good laugh for you. Win-Win!

    • Hi Nancy…always something to laugh about.

  8. Good to see you back again, Kathy, I was checking here from time to time, so now I’m going to catch up on your new posts. I’m sorry to hear about your stepdad and mom, it’s hard when multiple health issues hit at the same time. I don’t know how you do it…though I’m sure your wonderful Granny-humor gets you through. 🙂

    • Hehehe…sometimes think my Mother does not appreciate my sense of humour.


Leave a Reply

Categories

