Posted by: granny1947 | July 15, 2015

Granny was brave(or stupid)

2014_1003housenew0006Hello All.

Yes, I went to the dentist again.
Thank God that is over for another year.
He informed me I had three holes to be filled.
Then offered to do them without an injection.
I agreed.
What can I say.
It was a senior moment.
He hit a nerve a couple of times but it was not the end of the world.
I have has ten pound babies.
Pain I can handle.
Having said that, I might have been lying flat on my back but I was also on the edge of my seat.
Waiting for him to hit a nerve.

Cleaning my teeth was another story altogether.
I will never wait so long to go and see him again.
It was hell.
And I thought it would never end.
He really had to work for his money.
So, I am set to go.
I can give big beaming smiles.
This is the time for me to win the lottery.
The Cheshire cat will have nothing on me.

Darn, just as I was getting into the swing of having a chat with you, Mex wants supper.
Guess I will have to go and cook.

Catch you all tomorrow.

 

Responses

  1. Oooh, ouch! The teeth cleaning bit is the bit I hate too.

    • I agree Elaine…thought I was going to have lockjaw by the time he finished.

  2. I’d rather have an injection than take a chance of a nerve being hit!

    • I HATE injections but the tension waiting for him to hit a nerve is also bad.

  3. Been there with the nerve hitting thing. I think I would rather give birth. lol
    And my dental hygienist tried to drown me with her new water pik cleaning tool things so I’m never going to do that again. Glad you survived and laughing at the image in my head of your Cheshire Cat grin!

    • You are SO right Lin…forgot about that…am sure I swallowed a litre of some unidentifiable liquid.

  4. I don’t mind the cleanings, it’s the idea of the needle that bothers me. I tried to talk my dentist into refilling a missing filling without a needle but he said, “Why suffer?” Well, because suffering to me is a needle, even though it’s one prick as compared to constant nerve pain. (I’ve had a long ugly history with needles and bad doctors.) But my dentist actually gives painless – not even a pinch – injections when it’s in the back half of the teeth through acupressure in the cheek, and he won’t let me look at the syringe at all. Smart man! I told him he can never retire or I’ll hunt him down every six months and force him to continue dentistry. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad your ordeal is over for another year.

    • Hi RD…I must say the injection he gave me on the first visit was fine but, like you, I hate the thought of injections.
      AND it is so difficult to smoke when half your mouth is dead!!!

  5. what a good brave heroic Granny..it just takes that one time to find the courage and then you are away …..but go for regular checks and if you feel something is wrong..go straight away do not leave it hoping it will go away

  6. I’m also not fond of the teeth cleaning process. It can hurt! Always glad afterwards though ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I find the cleaning bit far more painful than injections or fillings.
      Yes, it does feel good now they are clean and almost shiny.

  7. Brave Granny! I find the injections annoying when they take a long time to wear off ~ but I don’t think I would have been brave enough to have fillings without them! Is it’s all done, don’t be a stranger to the dentist ~ it’s a good feeling to have a checkup and nothing has to be done! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hi Jacqueline….I shall go once a year to have my teeth cleaned. Going for a check-up and finding nothing wrong and STILL having to pay…mow THAT would hurt. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hello, thanks for checking out my blog….I love yours, I am a beach hound from childhood, love the pictures….dentist horror stories are all I knew until I finally went back this last year….it had been, well I can’t bring myself to say how many years…just lots and lots….found the most gentle dentist, young enough to me my son….but after multiple visits I am proud to have a full mouth of plastic and a few real teeth in my .I can actually eat anything again….what a concept…lol nice to meet you and I look forward to reading your blog…kathy

    • Welcome New Journey…I can so relate to the years that pass without a visit to the dentist…think mine were at least sixteen.

      • mine was longer except to go in and have a molar pulled due to pain and my sister nagging me…LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

