Posted by: granny1947 | July 9, 2015

Granny still has all her chompers.

2014_1003housenew0002

Hello All.

No interesting new photos so we will have a blast from the blast.
Maybe it will inspire me.

So I went to the dentist.
And he was great.
He assured me he wasn’t there to hurt me.
And, if he did, he wouldn’t mean to.
I wasn’t quite sure what to make of that.
Was he apologizing for the pain he was about to cause?

As it turned out he was great.
He didn’t give me a lecture about the state of my teeth.
He didn’t muck about with x’rays.
Probably because I don’t have many teeth.
He did not suggest pulling out my remaining teeth and getting false teeth.
Something I was stressing about.
He offered to file away my one crown(my only crown) as it is slightly out of line with the tooth next to it.
As I had not even noticed that little fact I declined.

He did not hurt when he gave me an injection.
Filled my tooth in no time at all.
I have two more cavities but he is going to do them on Monday.
Along with a much needed clean.
I shall go back with a lighter heart.

When I arrived he said “welcome to the family”.
I am not sure about that.
Family give you hassles.
And I have a very large family.
Don’t think I need to add the dentist to my clan.

Responses

  1. LOL So glad you found a good dentist! That definitely takes the stress off you when you go back again. Glad you posted – I was thinking about you and wondering how it all went. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • So nice to know you were thinking about me. Thank you!

  2. I have a wonderful gentle dentist too but I still avoid him. ๐Ÿ˜„ Glad it went well.

    • Thanks Lin….I can relate.

  3. See, you didn’t need to avoid going. nor to fret about it. You’ll be just fine.

  4. see, i was right..it was not as bad as you thought it was going to be.
    Now get them dar teef all sorted then you won’t have any trouble….
    I am glad you are sorted and all is ok

  5. Glad you have a good relationship with you dentist.

    Coming from the rural areas, a dentist was always one of my greatest enemies. I remember the first time I had to remove a molar, I woke up early in the morning somewhere around 3am to register my name at the hospital’s queue and to my suprise I found that there were already people who seem to have slept there waiting for 8am when the hospital open its doors.

    When the time eventually came for me to see the dentist, it was 11 O’clock and it was the most painful thing I’ve ever experienced. This was compounded by the fact that when the nurses arrive in the morning, they call the names on the list, then give everybody anaesthetic, by the time your turn comes for your tooth to be removed, all the anaesthetic is gone.

    The pain, I told my mom, it’s like child labor, my mom laughed and said nothing can be compared to child labor.

    • Oh my word Bobby, I feel for you. I recall once, telling the dentist I hated injections so he said he wouldn’t give me one. Then pulled the tooth out. I never complained again! By the way. It is NOTHING like child birth!!!!!

  6. Great news!

  7. Yay! Sounds like a great visit.

  8. I may just need his name and come to your neck of the woods for my dental treatment!!!

  9. I love a happy – and well-written – ending…

  10. It’s such a relief when you find a good dentist who treats you as you’d like to be treated. We’ve had several since we came to the island and two of them abused our trust and cost us a lot of money. Then we managed to get on the NHS list and these guys only do what’s absolutely necessary ~ it’s so much less than the private dentists suggested and our teeth are just fine! We do pay for a private hygienist, though but after a couple of times she downgraded us both to visits once a year, because all the heavy work has been done. Result! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

