Posted by: granny1947 | April 28, 2015

Granny and so it continues.

Hello All.

There is good news and bad news.
Let’s start with the good.
That is always more fun.
At long last I have a phone.
Now I can visit everyone.
Yippee!!!!!!!!!
It is a wireless phone in the meantime but it seems to work.
Most of the time.

This is going to be a long post.
Bear with me.
Or leave.
YOU have the choice.
And, I won’t be offended.
Because I won’t know.

Before I go any further let’s have a photo.
I feel naked without one.

040

You weren’t expecting that, were you?
Came across him in the back yard the other day.
NO, NO, No….we live in Africa but we don’t have lions roaming in the garden.

I don’t know if I mentioned that the 21yr old granddaughter/daughter was spending ten days with us.
She has kept me on the hop.
The game park.
And nearly every shopping mall in town.
Thank heavens she has run out of money.
I never want to see another mall.

When we got into the park we met these guys.

014

 

And they wouldn’t get out of the road.
I, eventually, had to drive off the road and edge round them.

There were load of big photos of various animals with stats about them.
But we saw next to nothing.
And I wondered if it was a big con!!
We saw lions and tigers etc but they were all in enclosures.
Big enclosures but they still made me feel sad.

The bad news is about the house.
The new ceiling is in but they have to work on it again.
Still joins showing.
NOW.
Wait for it.
The whole bloody house has to be repainted inside.
Apparently, they put the primer and some other thing on in the wrong order.
They got in a woman from the paint company.
She said the whole lot has been compromised.
It has to be scraped down to the plaster and completely redone.

Mex is besides himself.
Walks around muttering.
And sometimes swearing.
It is all he can talk about.
Except when he is grumpy about almost everything else.

Well that is it for today.
No wait.
It was my birthday on Saturday and I had a lovely day.
Which included a surprise cup of coffee with my lovely friend, Colleen.
I wonder if I can copy the photo she put on Facebook.
Nope, I will save that for another day.

Mwah!!!

Responses

  1. I agree about animals in enclosures, but at least safari parks give them more room than zoos, and in more natural surroundings. Sorry about ceiling and re-painting news. You’re really going through it, and could probably wish a grumpy husband as far away as possible.

    • You have that so right Viv..husband bit!

  2. I’m sorry to hear that the ceiling saga is still not over. Having to have the whole place repainted does seem a bit excessive. 😦

  3. whoops-a-daisy! That is b unlucky..why don’t you go stay in a hotel until it is completed and make the builders pay ….ooooo I would be so mad!
    It is always sad to see animals closed up even in big enclosures especially in Africa when you can see them in the wild..( if they don’t get killed first) After our visit years and years ago to Kenya I could never go to see animals in a zoo, it made me very sad.
    Glad you enjoyed your visit with granddaughter, yes they can be very tiring, but well worth the effort…
    Glad you enjoyed your birthday…..

    • Hi patrecia…don’t think the builders are going to put us up in a hotel somehow!!

  4. Belated happy birthday, Granny! Your birthday was the day before my daughter’s. πŸ™‚ How frustrating (to say the least) about the house!! Sounds like these guys have practically moved in with you. πŸ˜‰ I’m with you, I also feel bad for wild animals being held in captivity. The only open-space habitats I like are those that take in wounded animals and nurse them back to health. Some can’t be re-released because they’d become prey, so they stay indefinitely. I went to a bird sanctuary like that, and it was really good to see those birds healing and thriving. πŸ™‚

  5. Many Happy Returns of Saturday!
    I knew you were shooting a line …
    You should put a warning before posting such giraffic obstructions!
    As for building and stuff – at least, finally, we have somebody who does things right first time every time!

  6. I’m with you, wild animals should be left to roam free, but at least in a safari park, they have more room than they do in a zoo, although they are improving too.
    You must be cheesed off with the ceiling saga, and you could do without Mex’s huffing and puffing about it!

  7. Happy Birthday, Kathy!

    Glad you had time with your granddaughter BEFORE the scraping and painting begins.

  8. Kath, back in the land of the living here at home after a super road trip. It was a highlight to meet up on your birthday and enjoy a cuppa with you! You are looking more fabulous as the years pass. I will send you the photo via email with pleasure. I am so sorry to hear about the ongoing saga of the house issues. I do hope they get it all right this time around so that Mex can stop being a grumpy old man πŸ˜‰ Love you xxx

  9. Hey – you far too quiet – hope all ok!! xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

