Posted by: granny1947 | January 13, 2015

Granny slips back in.

008

Hello All.

Long time no see.
I have no good excuse.

I have had four weeks holiday.
Most of which I spent playing on my computer.
Or lying on my bed reading.
And sleeping.

I went back to work yesterday.
Maybe that is why I have climbed out of my rut.
I need more stimulation!

I have had a couple of little dramas.
Like my computer packing up on the last day of the year.
I was beside myself.
Fortunately, I found the number of a great computer guy.
He came around to the house and said he thought it might be my bios.
Whatever the hell that is.
Anyway, he took it away and brought it back a couple of hours later.
Working.
Only charged me R456.00.
Which I paid fairly happily.
Just could not imagine myself without my link to the outside world.

Then, yesterday, the panel beaters phoned me.
Said I could bring my car in to have the last dent fixed(about bloody time too).
They gave me a courtesy car.
As I got into the traffic I noticed the petrol light was on.
By the time I got to the next service station I was a wreck.
Had no idea when I was going to come to a shuddering halt.
And, I was drenched in sweat.
It was the hottest day we have had in ages.
And, I couldn’t get the air conditioner to work.
Who gives you a car with NO petrol?
Actually, that is going to be me.
They are getting this car back with the petrol light on.

I took my Stepdad to the yacht club for lunch the other day.
I met some friends there.
He really enjoyed himself.
It did him so much good to get out and meet other people.

I ended my holiday feeling really ill.
Nauseous for days on end.
Eventually went to the doctor.
Who said I was stressed.
I don’t do stress.
I had pins and needles in my finger tips(pinched nerve in my neck,apparently).
Night and day sweats.
Have gone right back into change of life.
Don’t laugh…this is not fun when the temp is over thirty anyway.
Anyhoo…I feel a bit better today.

Now I need to go and cook liver and onions for supper.
Sorry, vegetarians.
But liver is supposed to be very good for one.
I know I need mine!

 

Responses

  1. Sounds pretty hair-raising. We’ve bought several cars from the village garage, and he always sells them with only a teacupful of fuel. We’ve just changed the car, and past experience had me standing over the guy and wagging my finger until he filled the new(old) car up. The old old car that he took in part exchange was almost as full.

    • Hi Viv…don’t know how they can do that…this crowd shall still hear from me!

  2. Good to see you back Granny and I’m glad you’re feeling better! I lost my computer for almost a month at the end of last year – there must have been a conspiracy among computers to drive us crazy! 😉

    • Oh good grief RD…no computer for a whole month…I would go into the garden and eat worms!

  3. Gawdy gawdy, thank the Lord! I thought you had popped your clogs and not told anyone…all that holiday spent on the computer and not a peep out of you. I could be cross but I loves ya so I’m not , I am just relieved…. I think that you need a full health check up, stress is an illness like everything else but there has to be a reason…I know what it is…you are missing your original place of living where you and Jasmine walked on the beach everyday. I can’t remember its name cos my memory is none too good…but I know its a long way away and its where you went a while ago… I got a bad neck too..mine is cervical degenerative disease, in other words I am wearing my neck out..due to age and constant use..what happens when it finally breaks off I do not know. I could end up with a floppy head.It does hurt sometimes so I have today bought myself a neck massager. I’d rather have a good looking 20 year old but no such luck so I have a machine instead.I am sorry that you are not feeling well, maybe once you get your car back you will feel better.What a stupid thing to do..hire out a car with no petrol..ask them why they did not tell you. Anyway my dear girlie, I am here if you ever need an ear to moan into.. until then lots of love xxxxx My computer broke down a while ago…life came to a sudden fuul stop but at least I had my ipad

    • No my dear…I shall tell you if I intend popping my clogs!!!
      Not nice having neck pain…keep your head on your shoulders…thanks for all the concern. Love you lots.

  4. Looks like a number of us had computer problems at the end of last year. I simply ran out of bandwidth and left it like that till 1 January when the new Mb’s kicked in.
    Courtesy cars or rentals should, in my opinion, have at least a quarter tank of petrol and the customer should be informed of that fact.
    Well-cooked liver and onions are a treat!

    • Hi Pussycat…I was very underwhelmed with the panel beaters…they shall still hear from me!

  5. Welcome back! You’ve returned just in time ~> I am taking a sabbatical from daily posts. We’re like Clark Kent and Superman ~ never in the same place at the same time.

  6. Nice to see you back after your month off. Stress is not good and it can have all sorts of implications on your health. I know you are missing your old place where you and Jasmine walked on the beach every day….that could be the problem. You have to pin-point the problem so you can de-stress.

  7. Happy Belated New Year! Glad to have you back, and sorry to hear that stress is making you sick…I know all about that, it can do really strange things to your body…maybe time to take up yoga or meditation to de-stress a bit..I am freezing over here, expecting ice/freezing rain and the temps are dropping quickly….

  8. I find I stress about having stress! you just can’t win.

  9. Great to hear from you Granny and glad that you had such a fabulous vacation. I also can’t think of anything better to do either. That is all I do as well when I am not blogging or working.

    I am glad you had a great computer guy there. You never said if he was a hunk? Now don’t keep us in the dark, okay. 😛

    Silly panelbeaters and lucky for you, and serves them right to get the same treatment. 😀

    I am glad you’re feeling better and stress sucks. Take it easy hon. 😀

    How is Jasmine doing? I bet she’ll also enjoy the liver. I love liver and I know what this lot of mine is going to eat tonight. ha! Thanks for the idea. 😀

    ♥ Hugs ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

