Posted by: granny1947 | December 16, 2014

Granny reports in…at last.

004A little bit of beauty amongst all the rubble of the new houses going up.

Hello All.

I haven’t been around for a while and that was a mistake. Every time I take a break WP changes and it takes me ages to figure out how to get into my blog.

Quite a lot has happened in the last few weeks so I will try to catch you up quickly.

First, my Stepdad had a couple of dizzy spells. And I got a call at four o’clock in the morning. He had gashed his arm and it wouldn’t stop bleeding. Thank God I live nearby. Threw on some clothes and grabbed my make-up bag. One has to get one’s priorities right in an emergency.

To cut a long story short we got an ambulance and I followed it to the hospital. Where he was stitched up by a really lovely doctor. I am getting to know that hospital really well. He wanted to know why he was getting the giddy spells. She told him that when you get older(try 91) your brain takes a bit longer to get the message that you have moved. Horrors, I think that is happening to me right now. Nope…it is just the wine.

Anyway, it has been a hectic couple of weeks. Work has been very busy preparing for our annual shutdown. And I have been going around every day to change his dressings and take him to the hospital for follow up visits. And, yesterday, I spent the morning cooking a whole heap of meals for them. I came home completely knackered. I forget I am no longer a spring chicken!!! Tomorrow we go back to the hospital, and, hopefully they will take out the stitches.

On the upside I am now on holiday. But Jasmine doesn’t know that. And she still wakes me at five for her breakfast. Silly damn dog.

My neighbour is a professional baker. Two days ago she dropped these off for me for Xmas. There were six but one is in my tummy. Correction…it is probably sitting on my hips.

003

 

 

Also on the upside, I am now talking to my younger daughter again. I am a happy Mommy.

On the downside I won’t be seeing any of my kids for Xmas. Oh well, it saves on presents. Unless I win the lottery tonight.

If I do I will be flying some bloggers in to visit. I love my blogger friends. You keep me sane.

p.s.

Mommy and Daddy plover and three babies are alive and well.

Responses

  1. What a chapter of accidents in your life! I am following an excellent course (free) from Newcastle University on Ageing Well, which explains why we fall, and how to avoid it, with lots of excellent advice and feedback: https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/falls

    Have a very happy Christmas (ours will be offspring-less too).
    ViV

    • Hi Viv…it hardly seems worth the bother to cook for the two of us but I shall do my best.
      I shall take a look at that course…thank you.
      Hope you have a great Xmas and a wonderful year ahead.
      Lots of love.

  2. Well hurry up and win the lottery..I will keep my bag packed!
    You have been busy, scooting around like a bullet from a gun,but please dear lady (i know you are not old but) don’t go making yourself ill again.
    i shall not be with kids again this year , just me and him, but we are making the most of it with 2 hams, sausage rolls , mince pies, lamb leg and beef plus pigs in blankets and pork pies…..Hips be damned! Enjoy life
    Those cakes look very tasty…to help save your hips you could always post them to me..I would be a very good friend and help you to demolish them.
    Love and nosey kisses to Jasmine xxxx

    • Hi patrecia…you are too late…I have eaten another one…and I am not even a cake fan!
      Keep your bags packed.
      You are definitely on my list.

  3. Glad that you’re on Holiday . . . hope Jasmine gets that memo sooner rather than later.

    Those cupcakes look fab, festive, and fun.

  4. Great news that you’re communicating with your younger daughter, I know how wonderful that would be. Neither of my (middle~aged) ‘kids’ are talking to me at the moment ~ which has actually given me a break from their chaos. So we’ll be on our own this Christmas and I’m really looking forward to the peace! 🙂 Happy Holidays! 🙂

    • You have a great Xmas too Jacqueline…not too serious to miss a Christmas when the kids are adults…they all have their own lives…you enjoy yourselves.

  5. It might be a health risk to have a baker as a friend or neighbour, looks sooo yummy!

    • You are so right…don’t think I must get too friendly with them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

