Posted by: granny1947 | October 31, 2014

Granny and Friday Foughts.

018Hello All.

No the title is not a misprint.
It is how you say thoughts when you lisp.
Not that I lisp.
But I am practicing for when I lose a few more teeth.
Which could be quite soon considering I haven’t been to a dentist since the ark was under construction.

If you are looking for a stimulating post I suggest you leave now.
This is going to be a lot of waffle.
Just feel like chatting to you guys.

The complex is starting to take off.
Houses going up like mushrooms.
And, today, they offloaded a stack of grass to plant in the green area adjoining our place.
Wait, I took a picture for you.

001

The house on the left is the policeman and his family.
Then it is our place.
The houses are attached.
The two on the right are still empty.
The first one was sold and then, immediately, put back on the market.
No-one moved in.
It is a strange house.
They did their own tiling and cupboards.
The cupboards are so high they will need a ladder to reach them.
Or a pogo stick.
Instead of a third bedroom they have put in a scullery which looks onto my room/study.
I don’t like it…it is dark and dreary.

I took Jasmine for an early walk and I see someone is moving into a place across the way.
They are the only house in a quiet circle.
Hope they don’t mind that Jasmine and I often walk there.
If the mood takes me.

So, although houses are going up we haven’t seen people rushing to move in.
I must say I like it here.
It is almost like living on a farm.
Says this town girl.

In other news, parliament found our dancing idiot of a president not guilty in the minor matter of 246MILLION rand spent on upgrading his private residence.
Apparently, he didn’t know what it was costing.
He didn’t know he was improving his own home.
He didn’t know WE built his wife a new shop.
He didn’t know WE paid for a very expensive cattle kraal.
He didn’t notice the swimming pool.
Oh sorry, not a swimming pool, a fire pool.
Which just goes to prove what I have always thought.
Our president knows nothing.
Let me stop talking about him….I am getting mad.

And now let me go and cut up the huge pot of beetroot I boiled just now.
We will be peeing red for weeks to come.
Too much information?

Responses

  1. I hope you get some more nice neighbours soon.

    • Hi Viv…I am quite happy with no neighbours…Mex is the one who wants people around.

  2. LOVED reading your waffle….hahaha πŸ™‚ xx

    • Hi My Love…glad SOMEONE enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

  3. How pretty that open space will look covered in grass! I’m so glad you’re happy there, you really deserve this. And more. Have a wonderful weekend, Granny!

    • Thanks RD…Jasmine is going to think it is a huge place to poop!

  4. How weird, you are thousands of miles from me and I too am boiling beetroot! I too am watching a friend suffering in the final weeks of her life. I too take my dogs for walks – but luckily I don’t have to contend with snakes! I look forward to your posts, even if they are full of day to day stuff, because that’s life. Oh, and our government is just as corrupt! All of them out for what they can get and blaming the poor and immigrants for the state of the country. Now I too am getting angry so had better stop. Hope you have a nice day.

    • Hi Cynth…where are you?
      I am so sorry about your friend…know just what you are going through.
      This is my second close friend in two years…my other friends are starting to look worried!

      • Hi granny1947,
        I’m in England, Rotherham to be precise. (Although I’m actually. Scottish by birth’). I’ve not written my own blog for a long time, but I get yours delivered to my email. You are the only blogger I follow now. I was so sorry to read of your friend’s passing.

      • Thank you Cynth…hard to lose a good friend.
        Why don’t you blog anymore.
        I am really chuffed that you still read my blogs.
        Not that they are enlightening or anything…just day to day stuff unless something really annoys me.
        My Granddad was Scottish…lovely sense of humour.
        And an accent he NEVER lost.

      • I thought ‘chuffed’ was a Yorkshire word! πŸ™‚ I find it fascinating how our lives are so different yet we have so much in common. I don’t know why I stopped writing the blog. I think it was just that I had nothing to say – and I couldn’t imagine anyone wanting to read it. It felt like I was writing a diary, and I already do that. Also, I joined two writers groups and had to write stuff for them, so I didn’t have time.
        I went to see my sister- in- law this afternoon and she is now needing help to eat and is having trouble swallowing. She is very confused and sleeps most of the time, which is probably a blessing.
        My dogs are pestering me for chews which they have each evening to clean their teeth. I have run out. I’m going to get no peace until I go to the supermarket and get some more! Maybe I should start up the blog again. I have lots of rubbish to share!

    • Good Morning Cynth…you are a good dog Mommy. Jasmine followed me around for ages yesterday waiting to go for a walk…even though I showed her it was raining. I am a fair weather walker.
      You should blog…I find it great to get rid of all the shyte in my head. πŸ™‚

      • I too am a fair weather walker. I’m also naturally lazy. Which suits one of my dogs, Maisie, just fine. She refuses to set foot outside if it’s even slightly damp. The other, Pippa, came from a rescue centre and is made of sterner stuff. They are both old now and a bit doddery, just like me. Maybe I will start up my blog again.

      • Oh my word…we ARE alike…I am also lazy.
        Can sit for hours watching someone else do the work.
        I see no fun in walking the dog in a howling gale or rain.
        Nothing worse than wet dog smell anyway!

  5. Waffle, waffle!
    Pass me the maple syrup.

    I’m glad you like your new neighborhood. An oasis in the midst of idiocracy.

    • I am not sure NR…maybe I am the idiot in the oasis!

      • Well, sure, when you say stupid stuff like that! πŸ‘Ώ

        No. Even then, your president has you beat by a WIDE margin.

      • Let us not talk about our esteemed president…a national embarrassment.

  6. That green space is going to be very pretty with grass….a nice place for Jasmine to romper..maybe no snakes? Hope you have a good weekend eating all that beetroot and doing red stuff ..lol….

    • Hmmmm…beetroot not my favourite veg but I know it is good for one and it adds colour to the plate(and other things)

  7. No matter how bad anyone else’s president is, our takes the cake (and all our tax money). Glad to see an effort is made to put grass near your place. I hope someone will look after it until it has settled and starts to grow.

    • I am sure they will look after it Pussycat…there is a large green area below our house and it always looks good.

  8. Your posts could never be boring Granny. Its like eavesdropping on peoples lives reading all about your neighbours. Sounds a bit weird if house was sold after just doing some work on it…keep an eye on that one.
    I love beetroot sandwiches, well beetroot anything really. I did some tye dyeing years ago using beetroot juice and it was great result. I am happy to hear that you are content in your new home and that hopefully your life will be a bit more less stressful than before….lots o love P

    • I so admire people who do things like tie dyeing…I have never attempted anything like that…I am not good with my hands…baked crunchies the other day…big fail.

      • I would fail doing that as well.but tie dye was easy just tie something into knots or wrap string around in various places then stick it in the dye…simple..easier than making crunchies

    • Yes, but once you have dyed it you have to DO something with the material. I don’t knit or sew and now, it seems, I can’t bake!

      • Yea but you can write a good blog…thats better than baking

      • You are too sweet.xxxx

  9. And I agree about Zuma..what a pillock! Never yet found out what a pillock is so if someone knows please tell me as I often use it to refer to somebody sho is thick and stupid

    • Patrecia, the word”pillock” is British slang for idiot. Originally pillicock, (a Norwegian slang term for a certain part of the body (use your imagination)! You did ask……….

      • Your posts could never be boring Granny. Its like eavesdropping on peoples lives reading all about your neighbours. Sounds a bit weird if house was sold after just doing some work on it…keep an eye on that one.
        I love beetroot sandwiches, well beetroot anything really. I did some tye dyeing years ago using beetroot juice and it was great result. I am happy to hear that you are content in your new home and that hopefully your life will be a bit more less stressful than before….lots o love P

      • Thank you Barb, I have always wondered , now I know, and it suits zuma to a T.

  10. The grassy area is going to look great – as long as they take care of it regularly and keep it short because long grass = snakes, and you have seen enough of them!
    I enjoy your chit-chat………

    • Thanks Barb….don’t snakes like short grass?

      • Don’t know, but they are easier to see slithering along in short grass!

    • Oh good grief slithering…now I have goose flesh.

  11. Loved your waffle, and as for “peeing red”, well that’s just plain funny. πŸ˜€

    • And it didn’t happen…obviously have not eaten enough!

      • I love beetroot, and I believe it’s very healthy. πŸ™‚

      • I hope it is because we will be eating all week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

