Posted by: granny1947 | October 21, 2014

Granny is breathtaking.

003

Hello All.

So, where did I get to?
Not very far it seems.

The days have blurred into each other but I will do my best to unravel them.

There were moments of humour.
Not many, but one I shall never forget. I think it was on Saturday. ML was looking so much better and she signalled to me to lift her bed. And, no, I didn’t shoot her into the air. I did it slowly and carefully but she kept wanting to go further until she was almost sitting upright.

And I heard something fall on the floor. I looked down and there  was a thick tube which I picked up. I glanced out the window just in time to see a look of horror on the faces of the nurses. Who then came rushing in, throwing on protective clothing as they ran. I asked if the tube was important. It was. It was her ventilator!!! I felt better when I learned that this has happened a couple of times. So, it wasn’t something I had done.

On Sunday her breathing had improved to such an extent that they were planning to take the ventilator out so she could talk. They took it out but,  during the night,  things went horribly wrong. Her blood pressure plummeted and her blood count did not look good. When I came in on Monday for the morning hour she looked dreadful . She cried a little and my heart broke for her.

When I went in the afternoon they had sedated her. I sat and held her hand. And felt guilty because, for the first time, I was thinking “Thy will be done”. I care too much for her to want her to suffer like this. She is fully aware of everything going on around her. This must be like the worst kind of torture for her. A couple of weeks would have been bearable. But, to lie like that week after week, staring at the ceiling, is just too much. This must be like a constant nightmare for her. She does not deserve it.

Just to finish off my visit in style I put my back out last night. I might have just turned awkwardly or it was the culmination of all the driving in rush hour traffic in ML’s tank of a car. Or, simply stress. Whatever. This morning I could barely get dressed. I got home, took a couple of pain killers and went to bed with a hot water bottle. My wonderful boss was very understanding. Hopefully, by tomorrow I will be back to abnormal.

p.s.

Why do WP keep messing my paragraphs around?

Responses

  1. whatever it is that WP has done it does no detract from your wonderful post.I am praying for you both everynight and I know that you are both being cared for…
    That was a silly thing to do…but it is so easy to just do a very simple thing then..wop!..one bad back,,,a good massage with some hot lotion should do the trick especially if you can find a hot young man to do it.
    I have a bad cold, runny eyes, and sniffy nose but still sending lots of love

    • Thanks Patrecia…no hot young men around here…damn!

      • Oi! What about Mex? *runs like hell*

  2. Be sure to take your time getting back to abnormal! Wonderful post, thanks!

    • What a lovely thing to say…thank you Marge.

  3. It took me a while to ‘get’ your post title! 😀 What a shame ML isn’t doing so well now, but your visit obviously perked her up enormously.

    • Yes,Elaine, initially. However, feel a bit negative now.

      • It must be hard, but the thing to try and remember is how much better she was for a little while.

      • Yes, I am hanging onto that…I got her to smile…for a little while.

  4. I would put stress at the top of the list, the body does strange things when stressed out…it must be so hard to deal with all this and see your beloved friend in that condition….prayers sent out into the universe for her for peace…hugs…

    • Thanks Annie…that means a lot.

  5. I’m in tears reading about ML. I’ve seen two of my friends go through things like this (different situations, different issues but ultimately the same debilitating condition), so I know how you feel. From your posts about your trips with her, I always think of her as a person who loves to grab life and swing it around a bit. It’s so hard to see a person like that in this condition and I’m sure it’s hard for her, just like you said. I would bet anything that your back went out from the stress of this whole situation. I hope it’s better by tomorrow. We’ll continue sending strong prayers out for ML. You are a blessing in her life – and in every life you touch,

    • Hello Rd…thanks so much for the kind support.
      I have just heard from her son.
      She is on the critical list this morning.

  6. So sorry to hear that it didn’t go too well after the ventilator was closed off for a while granny! Had so hoped the news would be good 😦 I continue to pray for ML and family and for you her (and my) beautiful friend! What you did coming to see her was amazing and I know that it had to be so meaningful and so special for ML! Hold onto that. Sad to hear your back is paining….lumbar or where? Possibly a combination of stress, nerves driving ML’s car in the traffic, lugging bags and sitting in planes….I know it does it to me! I hope you will be better soon! Big love xx

    • Hi Colleen..the pain was on the lower back on my right side.
      Much better this morning.
      ML is on the critical list today!

  7. Prayers and good wishes are all I can do. I hope the situation is improved when you are there next.

    • Thanks Viv…it is not looking good today.

  8. Keeping both you and ML in my prayers.

    • thank you so much Barb.

  9. So sad. Hope she doesn’t have to continue this nightmare much longer.

    And a swift recovery to you too, Kathy.

    • Thanks NR…my back is much improved today.
      ML is critical….hope her suffering will end soon.

      • Just read the last comment, hugs to you….

  10. It’s so difficult to watch someone you love suffer so much, Granny. Just being there is the only thing that you can do and I know your visit has made a difference to ML. My thoughts are with you both, take care. ❤

    • Thanks Jaqueline…wish I could have been there longer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

