Posted by: granny1947 | October 18, 2014

Granny flies South

DSCF6068

Hello All.

Yes, believe it or not, I am in my beloved Cape Town.
But, it is a bitter sweet trip.

My friend Ml, who has now been in ICU for an incredible 7 weeks, signed to her son that  she wanted to see me.
She refused to see anyone else.
So I flew down on Friday morning.

It has been SO hard to see her lying there.
Unable to talk.
Or eat.
Or breathe on her own.
My heart goes out to her.

Fortunately, I am able to babble on and on and her son says she has bucked up.
I have even managed to get a few smiles out of her.
But, it is taking it out on me.
She is in isolation so I have to go in in gowns and masks etc.
This is not my best look.

Damn, supper is ready.
Don’t want to spoil some VERY expensive steak.
I am with my elder son and DIL.
I will write more tomorrow.
Or just now.

Responses

  1. Hugs from across the pond….

    • Thanks Annie…hugs are so good.

  2. I am so sorry, been there with my brother and my best friend, they smiled at me too. Keep talking.

    • I am trying Sue…so hard.

  3. You are a special friend and I am sure your visit is much appreciated.

    • Oh I hope so Pussycat…she is certainly getting all my positive vibes.

  4. Strengths to you in your mission.

    • Thanks so much Newsy.

  5. I am so sorrow that your friend is still so ill. I will mention her in my prayers tonight.
    maybe better news tomorrow

    • Thank you my friend…that means so much.

      • How is your friend?

      • kathy how is your friend

      • Not good Patrecia…not good.

  6. I meant sorry

  7. I’m sure she really appreciates your visit, and you just chatting on. I expect her family appreciates it very much too.

    • Hi Elaine…the family are very chuffed…..just wish I could stay longer.

  8. You must be very stressed. I hope your friend soon improves.

    • Thanks Viv…wish I could stay longer but I fly back on Tuesday.

  9. How wonderful that you were able to answer her request to see you. I’m sure it will do her a world of good . . . no matter what happens.

    Enjoy your stay/ visit as much as possible under strained circumstances.

    • Good Morning NR…yes…despite everything it is good to see my kids and some of the grandkids.

  10. Your strength will pass through to her from your visits. My hubby was in the same situation a year ago but he was also in a coma and I babbled on to him for two weeks till one day he responded by squeezing my hand.
    Hang in there granny……….

    • How awful for you Barb.
      Thanks so much for the encouragement.

  11. Granny, you’re the best medicine for her right now. You’re doing all the right things and it’s so kind of you to give so much of yourself. Is this the friend who used to take you on those fabulous vacations? No matter what happens, you’re making her endless hours in the ICU more tolerable. Bless you and our prayers go out to her too.

    • Thanks so much RD.
      Yes, she is the one!

  12. It’s great that you were able to visit. It must have meant such a lot to her and the family too.

    • Yes AD…tomorrow is my last day…she didn’t look too happy about it…I feel so bad for her.

  13. Shame Granny – Bittersweet indeed. Very sorry to hear about your friend 😦

    • Thank you Saint…I know YOU understand!

  14. (((Hugs)))

    • Thanks Jacqueline….much appreciated.

  15. It was so special seeing you for a while yesterday afternoon granny! Thank you for taking a little time out of your limited time here to visit us. Praying for your beautiful friend. Love you xx

    • It was great seeing you Colleen…you look wonderful!

      • Thank you! As do you granny! 🙂 xx

  16. It is always sad and difficult to see a loved one in that situation but your visit must have meant the world to her. Sending big hugs your way.

    • Thank you so much teacup.


Leave a Reply

Categories

