Posted by: granny1947 | October 12, 2014

Granny and now you see her and now you don’t.

2014_1011housenew0001

Hello All.

Another week has passed and I haven’t blogged. Naughty Granny.

This is not going to be a long post either. It is nearly wine time. Though I suppose I could sip and type at the same time.

I got my car back on Wednesday. She looks brand new. And, they even got ALL  Jasmine’s hairs off the back seat. The panel beaters fetched me at the airport so I could drop off the hired car. I took the above pic on the way back to their workshop. Where I asked if they had done the wheel alignment. Nope. One of the guys took me around a couple of blocks and said it felt fine but if I wasn’t happy they would fetch it the next day to have the alignment done.

On the way back home, along the freeway, I felt the car was pulling to the right very slightly. I phoned the next day and they duly picked the car up from my office. Turns out she has a bent control arm and lower frame. I have no idea what that means but it does not sound good. Thank heavens I insisted on having the alignment done. Anyway, they loaned me one of their cars and my yellow baby is still in hospital. Their car is also an Atos but bright red. With a clutch from hell.

On the way to work on Friday, a truck had broken down in the left hand lane on the highway. Someone must have come down too fast and there was a four car pile up. I have to confess I am not a happy driver at the moment. I know I will get over it but I am still nervous.

In other news people are starting to move into the complex. We have a young policeman and his wife and small kid next door. I haven’t met her but he seems very nice. He came over to ask us a few questions. Turns out he uses about R800 of electricity a month. Wow. We seem to be getting away with about R300 or less. The solar panel definitely helps a lot. Theirs will be higher than ours. She bakes for a hobby. That doesn’t happen here. They bath. That doesn’t happen here. Though, I hasten to add, we DO shower. AND they use a tumble drier. I am far too mean for one of those. Real power guzzlers.

A Chinese man has moved into the house on the other side of the policeman. I have seen his car but not him. I hear he is in I.T. This could be useful. Someone has moved in on the other side of HIM but I haven’t seen them either.

I have had a cooking weekend. This is so unusual I shall blog about it tomorrow. I am actually loving pottering around in the kitchen. Maybe I shall start knitting in my old age. But don’t hold your breath.

I have no idea why my paragraphs all disappear when I post.

Or why WP have changed things again.
It took me ages to find out how to get to my dashboard.
Then I spotted a TINY little house and bingo!

AND…is anyone else getting really disgusting spam mail?
What have I posted that makes them think I am a likely target????

Responses

  1. My blogging gets sporadic sometimes too, Granny. It’s always a treat to see one of your posts show up! Yeah I’d say the people next door are doing a LOT of things to use more electricity than you. Hmmm….baking as a hobby….you could benefit from that! 😉 You’re lucky you’ve got nice neighbors so far. Hope your car comes back soon in perfect health!

    • Hi RD…I find it hard to relate to someone who bakes for a hobby but I guess it takes all kinds. 🙂

  2. Spam: is this on your WP blog or your email? I get about 20 a week on WP, and almost zero o my email and nothing disgusting since I changed my email address about 5 years ago.

    I hope your car comes back in a state of perfection.

    I used to bake for a hobby – as well as for food, but can’t stand long enough these days to do more than the occasional cake. No more bread, which I used to love making.

    Tumble driers should be banned. They are unnecessary in places with adequate wind and sunshine, and even in the rainy season, we dry our washing in the garage with doors open each end. A family home burned down recently because of a blocked filter on a tumble drier.

    • I agree Viv…we hang our washing on a couple of clothes horses…we can move them around to stay in the sun and the clothes dry in no time at all.

      • It is my WP Viv.

  3. Good to hear all’s well and that your car will be 100% soon. It’s also nice to have more people in the complex so you don’t feel so isolated.
    I did have a tumble drier when I lived in the flat as we had occasions when washing disappeared off the lines. I used it sparingly and never had a really big electricity bill.

    • Morning Pussycat…I sure hope it is ready today…miss my baby!

  4. I have to use a drier here because we have no clotheslines outside…..I really do prefer drying them outside, nothing like the smell of sunshine on newly dried sheets and towels….hope you get your car back soon, lucky you insisted on checking the alignment, so it should be covered by insurance….

    • Hi Annie…yes…it will be covered by insurance..well, it had better be covered.

  5. Glad to hear that your neighborhood is starting to fill out. Have fun pottering with your pots in the kitchen.

    • We could be sorry when the place fills up. 🙂

  6. If you don’t stop taking photos when driving it will be in getting fixed again or you will 🙂

    • DO NOT open spam or you will get more, just delete them.

      • I WASN’T driving Harry….the panel beaters had fetched me from the airport!!!
        I never open spam mail.

  7. Let me get in again and I will fix your dashboard back to the old one.

    • Thanks Harry but I feel I must go with the times. 🙂

      • The new dashboard had so many problems they switched back to the old one.
        If you see beep beep blob or something, in that dashboard you will see something like ” switched back to old dashboard ” just click it and that’s it.
        It did have loads of problems with photos as well.

      • Thanks Harry…another case of “if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it”

  8. After my car accident, I couldn’t drive by the spot where I hit and killed a beautiful stag, then went over the embankment. Just takes time.

    Persistence pays – my latest post is about that very thing. And we don’t even have to be bitchy about it~

    Great gatherings of good neighbours. Yahoo.

    Spam…it’s crazy making. Don’t fall into the trap of thinking it has anything to do with you. That would be like trying to live with a schizophrenic.

    • Morning Souldipper…I thought it might have been my post about sex.
      But I don’t think I used the word sex.
      And NOW I have. 🙂

  9. First of all the answer to your last question is no…what sort of emails are you getting? Don’t you have a spam box? Or a blocker?
    Secondly..it is great to hear from you again. I don’t think that it is necessary to post everyday, as not everyone has all day in which to sit blogging, and you are one of those. I always think that if you feel that you HAVE to post then it becomes a chore..you are ok as you are..so stop worrying about that…

    Having neighbours..sometimes good , sometimes bad, but at least you know that you are not on your own.and that there is someone around if you need help..also more feet stomping the ground will make the snakes go away.

    love you lots Granny dear, so please take care of your health ( for one ou could stop smoking) Lol!!!!!

    • Hi Patrecia…love you too my friend.
      I WAS going to give up smoking last week.
      Really!
      Then Mex annoyed me as did my co-worker.
      sigh.

      • Mmmmmm

  10. As always you make me laugh, I needed it.

    • Oh Dear….are you OK????

      • Sure, thanks for asking. Just some days you know. So much going on in the world. I have peace for the future but it’s the right now that’s the problem.


Leave a Reply

Categories

