Posted by: granny1947 | September 22, 2014

Granny is windblown

missing my beach

missing my beach

Hello All.
It is a good thing I have Jasmine.
My get up and go left at about eleven this morning.
And I am TIRED.
But, Jasmine gave that look and I just didn’t have the heart to say no.
It is horrible outside.
The wind is blowing and the dust is dreadful
Still , we went for our walk.
And I feel marginally better.

When we lived in Cape Town I had a really ugly white, sleeveless jacket I wore to the beach.
It had nice pockets for car keys and phone and smokes.
When I put it on Jasmine would start getting excited.
The moment I picked up the camera she would go ballistic.

Now she associates my winter boots with walking.
She can hear me zip them up from the next room.
Since I haven’t got around to buying gumboots my, once good, boots have become my walking amongst snakes boots.
They only go about four or five inches above my ankles so the rest of my legs will just have to look after themselves.
I am dreading the hot summer days.
I am going to look ridiculous.
Especially when I pass a little girl, with her dogs, and she is wearing flip flops.

I think there is rain coming up this evening.
It is forecast for Tuesday and Wednesday.
Mex leaves on Wednesday for Johannesburg.
I don’t like flying in the rain.
Rather him than me.
Actually, the older I get the less I like flying.

I am looking forward to six days on my own.
I like my own company.
I like to eat when I am hungry.
Jasmine will have to cross her legs until I get home from work.
She would be distraught if I left her outside.
Hope I hear my alarm in the mornings!

Responses

  1. Have a nice manless time. I too enjoy being on my own for a limited period. I have a funny feeling you’re about to invest in fishing waders for walking Jasmine!

    • Believe me Viv..that has crossed my mind…more than once.

  2. Maybe Mex can bring some of your rain to Joburg! Enjoy the days on your own 🙂

    • Thanks Pussycat…I intend to!

  3. I think I prefer reading your blog on fb, Kathy! Thanks so much!

    • I haven’t copied it across…am finding FB a bit difficult to navigate.

  4. Maybe in the summer you can wrap your legs with bubble wrap so the snakes can’t get to the meat of the matter?

    • Uhm…don’t think bubble wrap will do it somehow.

  5. As much as we love having our families around, it’s always nice to have a little break of “me time”. I think everyone needs some of that. Enjoy!

    • I LOVE me time RD…am really looking forward to it.

  6. so agree, a few days alone is bliss.

    • Not having to consider anyone for a few days will be marvellous.

  7. Enjoy your time alone, my friend. I can so relate xxx

    • Hi My love…are you feeling better?


Leave a Reply

Categories

