Posted by: granny1947 | February 2, 2014

Granny’s Sunday sillies.

 

2014_0131sylvia0009

 

Hello All.

What do I have to talk about today?
Hmmmm…not much it seems.
I could talk about the weather but I think I have exhausted that subject.
It even bores me now.
No…I will say something…it is MUCH cooler today.
I am a happy Granny.
Except for the odd hot flush.
But I can’t blame that on the weather.

The above photo.
Mex and I went to a new restaurant on Friday evening.
This does not happen often.
Mex shies away from change.
However, I got quite a nice voucher off on a meal in a washing powder promotion.
So we went and I loved it.
The food was not bad but the view was fabulous.
You know me and the sea.
I could have sat there for hours.

2014_0131sylvia0010

 

The downside was it is quite a way from home.
So I was the designated driver.
I don’t drink and drive when we are in MY car.
If I am driving Mex’s car I might have a glass or two.

Mex is helping my brother put a cover on my Dad’s car.
I don’t know why they bother.
The car is almost as old as the old man.
But it makes him happy.

I have notched up another bad mark with my mother.
Every night Mex goes into the house and pours my mother a glass of wine and my Dad a whisky.
The other night the old man said he wouldn’t have anything.
When he refused the next night I asked why.
He said my mother did not think he should have a drink.
I said “rubbish”.
I told him one tot of whisky is medicinal.
So he is back to having one again.
And she is not happy about it.
For crying in a bloody bucket.
He is ninety years old….why don’t we just take away the few little pleasures he has.

Before I go into a rant about her let me end.
Some things are better left unsaid.

Cheers!!!

Responses

  1. Happy Sunday to you Granny!!!

    • And you my love…ours is nearly over!

  2. Reminds me of my last stay in hospital: as I left, the cardiologue had a parting shot: stick to the no salt no animal fat diet and NO CHOCOLATE. I’m not 90, but agree some things make life worth living. Not worth giving up.

    • No chocolate!!! That is just cruel!

  3. What a beautiful view! XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks for the visit….xoxo to you too!

  4. Good for you! Pour the poor man a wee dram . . . and let her stew in her own juices.

    • I did and I am not popular.
      And I don’t care.

  5. Mothers can be a pain in the rear sometimes. Glad that you have cooled down a bit. Your tales of the heat were quite hilarious…Take care Granny and lots of love

    • Thanks Patrecia…lots of love to you too.

  6. I love the views of the sea. 🙂
    I quite agree – if you can’t have a little bit of a treat when you are 90 it’s very sad.

  7. I know just the course for your mom. It’s free, over the internet and is offered by University of Queensland.
    “Critical Thinking”
    It’ll keep her out of the step-dad’s hair for 12 weeks, but I can’t vouch for what you’ll face if she’s passes the danged course!

    I just know she’ll have good homework trying to pull one over on you. Thank goodness you have no qualms about asking questions.

  8. Now see there you said something interesting afterall. Gorgeous views at the resturant, thanks for taking us!

    Geez a ninety he should eat, drink and be as merry as he wants!

  9. I agree, let the old man have his tipple! Mom doesn’t always know best 😉

  10. Beans on toast would taste good with that view Granny, no harm in a wee whisky a day – it thins the blood and at 90 he deserves it.

  11. Tell mommy not to be an old woman – even if she is!
    Now, if one was becoming two, and then three etc it might be different.

  12. Who’s the real Gran? Cheers to your dad. If he’s made it to 90 I think he knows what he’s doing.

  13. I’m with you, let the old boy have a tot or two, he deserves it


Leave a Reply

Categories

