Posted by: granny1947 | November 23, 2013

Granny remembers….well some of it

001

Hello All.

So, yesterday,   my boss took us to The Ocean Basket for lunch.
Normally, given a choice, I would opt for steak.
But my calamari steaks were excellent.
AND I remembered to take a picture of them.
After I had had a couple of mouthfuls.

Oh good grief…have tried to insert a picture of my meal THREE times.
Nothing happens.
Why?????

050Now I don’t seem to be able to download any of the photos.
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

The restaurant was great and I would like to go there again.
But they don’t do pizzas so my chances are slim.
The place is right on the beachfront.
We sat on the verandah which was super except for the breeze.
Port Elizabeth has earned it’s name of the windy city.

045                                                                                                                                      My boss and my friend, Peggy.

My boss insisted we had desert.
And you don’t argue with the boss.
Not that I tried.
The sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream was orgasmic.
And, no, I forgot to take a picture of it.
And I put on two kgs just looking at it.

This fellow was walking around.
I have never seen a pigeon with such a bad hair-do.
God knows what he had been up to.

048

Three more weeks and Cape Town watch out!
Granny is on her way.

Am going to press publish and see if the pics appear.

It worked!!!!

Responses

  1. Oh ye of little faith! I would choose fish over steak every time. Here in France if you ask for “well done” it comes to table red and bleeding, which quite turns my stomach. I like my meat thoroughly dead.

    • Hehehe…I like it to moo when I cut into it. 🙂

  2. yaay, a Cape Holiday for you. so happy~!
    Who will look after jasmine?

    • I am going on my own…Mex is babysitting!

      • wonderful, they will keep each other company

      • It is going to be so good to be away from this place for a while!

  3. All photos printed..so no problem…. pigeon sure looksvery tatty.

    • Hi Patrecia…there was another one that also looked very tatty…wonder what they had been up to?

  4. I think the pigeon world lives by the “don’t ask, don’t tell” philosophy. 😉 How exciting that you’ll be going back to Cape Town for a holiday! I’m looking forward to lots and lots of pics. 🙂

    • And you will get them!!!

  5. Not a good neighbourhood when even the pigeons look that disreputable!
    You should keep total abstinence – now you’re just going to get hooked on Cape Town again!

    • I have never unhooked my self Col…sigh

  6. Woo Hoo! I’m counting down the days for you, Kathy! Glad that Peggy treated you to such a lovely lunch.

    • Yes NR…I am counting the sleeps now. My boss bought the lunch. Peggy is my mate at work.

      • Gotcha. It’s great to be appreciated by those we work for and with.

  7. That pigeon looks a bit windswept!!

  8. The meal looks excellent!

    • It was delicious Maire.

  9. Hope Cape Town rolls out the red carpet for you Granny 🙂 Ocean Basket is one of my favourite places, consistently good fresh fish at very reasonable prices.

    • I haven’t been there much but would really like to go again.

  10. Wish I had a boss like that – oh, I forgot, I work for myself lol!! You’re very lucky, hope you enjoyed the lunch.

    • Then you should take you out to lunch. 🙂

      • Oh I do, and drag my friends along kicking and screaming…lol.

  11. Oh my gosh, sticky toffee pudding….

    What a wonderful boss. I love your pictures, Granny, but always oh always to see that great rolling ocean. I just want to dive in.

  12. I’ve been sooooo bad about blogging. Thank goodness I can come around and catch up. Why don’t I just read and keep my blab turned off?

    • I have been worse…I haven’t even been reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

