Posted by: granny1947 | November 13, 2013

Granny gets her feet wet

005

Hello All.

And the top of the morning to you.
It is four thirty in the morning.
Mex woke me up at three to tell me to call my brother and tell him to turn off the mains.
We had water cascading out of the kitchen cupboard.

I phoned my brother on his mobile.
No answer.
When he sleeps he sleeps.
Called my mother and told her to wake him.
He is not at his best at that time of the morning.
Who is.
It took about ten minutes for them to turn off alarms, find keys and then switch off the water.
By that time we were ankle deep.

Mex started emptying the kitchen cupboard.
I sloshed around looking pretty.
Then my brother and I started collecting the water in dustpans and putting it into a bucket.
When the bucket was full my brother went to empty it outside.
And slipped and came a cropper.
I think they must have heard the thump down the road.
Followed by a few curses.
And that was the end of brotherly help.

Thank God Mex was here.
He has his uses.
I would have slept until Jasmine woke me.
Just before her bed floated out the door.

I phoned my insurance company.
They assure me the plumber will be here by eight.
They pay for the call out fee and the first hour of labour.
If he is worth his salt he should fix it in an hour.

I shall, happily, leave for work at six thirty.
I donโ€™t like mopping and cleaning.

On the upside our floors have never been so clean.
Untilย  Jasmine went outside the back door.
Where we had been throwing the excess water.
We now have cute Jasmine prints all over the floor.

Responses

  1. Oh wow, the only thing worse than a flood is a flood in the middle of the night! I had to look up the phrase “came a cropper”, which I’d heard on a British television show once and forgot to look up then. It has quite a range of meanings! I’m glad you didn’t have to clean up the mess – sometimes going to work is a good thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Good heaven…I just finished commenting on YOUR post and up this came. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Talk about a nasty wake up call! Hope order is restored in short order, Kathy.

    • Thanks NR…just hope I can stay awake today..think I might have to work another nine hour shift!!

  3. Oh, no. It never rains but it pours! I bet you wish that “Never a dull moment” would not apply in your life.

    • Oh I don’t know Pussycat…a little bit of excitement doesn’t hurt…though my back DOES hurt from all the mopping!

  4. That’s what I do in emergencies too….slosh around looking pretty. ๐Ÿ™‚ well somebody has to do it, right??

    • Our job is important Lin…especially as it is not easy to look pretty at three in the morning!

  5. as i said on my blog. ‘ It never rains but it pours’ sorry about your puddle but you could have been in the Philipines which does put it a bit in perspective…but I’m still sorry for your pickle..hope that Jasmine was safe

    • Jasmine was fine Patrecia…a bit puzzled about all the fuss but fine.

  6. I love the way you tell this story – insouscient, no pahic, just pragmatic. But I’m very sorry for you having to mop and squeeze for half the night. I hope you haven’t permanently fallen out with your brother.

    • Thanks Viv…my brother did the falling. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m sure he will be fine when I get home….no wait…he is a man..hmmm

  7. Granny Jasmine feetie prints must be a cute design. You could start a new trend! Hope all is dry and good when you get home from work!

    • Thanks so much…all back to normal…or as normal as my life can get!

  8. Oh dear! What a rude awakening, granny. Is Mex going to be Mr Mop? Hope it’s all cleared up by the time you get home from work. xx

    • Hehe AD…all spick and span. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Water joke that wasn’t!
    You may find you want to keep the new decoration style?

    • Hi Col…think I can do without the water feature thank you!

      • I was thinking of the doggy dots. You could paint them in.

  10. Oh poor Granny – if it’s not one thing it’s the other. At least you got to ‘escape’ to work and let someone else do the rest of the clearing up.

  11. Hi Elaine…yes that was a definite upside to the day. Though I had to work nine hours so that wasn’t too great…am off to sleep right now…am exhausted.

  12. Been there done that…makes for an amusing blog post or two ๐Ÿ™‚ hope it’s all cleaned up now!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

