Posted by: granny1947 | October 22, 2013

Granny is sooooooooo bored

Hi All.

Yes, this is indeed my blog but there is no pic today.
I am writing this at work.
And, for some reason, I can’t get into my media to insert a pic.

I was busy for the first hour this morning and now nothing to do.
My mate is off sick today so I might have to work later.
More hours of boredom to endure.

I wonder if anyone has ever died of boredom?
Or had their head explode.
I have read every online newspaper.
Even some of the overseas ones.
And the news does not improve when you are reading it on different websites.

My boss has just been on three weeks holiday in Bali.
While he was away I worked for seven hours instead of four.
I did the buying and getting quotes etc.
I could have done it in my four hours.
But I was grateful for the bit of extra cash.
He came back last week (with no presents for me) and told me I must continue
with the seven hours for the moment.
I have NO idea why.

I got an interesting call yesterday.
Apparently there are excess pension funds in the company I worked at before the last one.
About ten years ago.
My name is on the list to receive something.
I have no idea how much or when.
Probably won’t be much.
But I live in hope.

Are you all still awake out there?

Oh yes…I got an sms from an ex boss of mine, last week.
He must be about my age.
Or a little younger.
Though he looks older. πŸ™‚
He was the financial manager for a large company I worked for.
He now lives mostly in England doing a variety of things.
Including homecare and teaching English.
Hmmm…he is in England teaching English??
I wonder who he is teaching.
I must ask him.
Anyway, he has just spent over a year backpacking through Europe.
Working on farms ( I think he must be younger than me) and sleeping in strange places.
That must take such courage.
I wish I could just up and take off…hitchhike around the world.
But I don’t think Jasmine would like it.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Oh dear, poor Granny. I hope your working day picks up and you get something interesting to do to relieve the boredom.
    I admire your ex-boss for backpacking round Europe. It’s something I wish I had thought to do when I was younger, but wouldn’t do it now.

    • Hi Elaine…it must be scary to just set off on your own like that…not sure I could do it.
      Mind you…I have made such good friends through blogging I could just hike to visit all of them…now there is an idea.

  2. Still, it must be nice to feel wanted.
    You never know – Jasmine might love it!

    • Jasmine likes her creature comforts Col…she also is not too keen on the dark and she hates storms!

      • Right – home sweet home within reach, for her!

  3. I cannot possibly imagine you being a backpacker, regardless of current situation, you do like a wee bit of luxury living, a bath, good food, and a warm bed…you only get freedom if you go trotting off around the world.
    I thought once that I would join VSO ( voluntary service overseas) I had great visions of living in a mud hut somewhere in the depths of darkest Africa…however I suppose I got part way there as I now live in Bulgaria in a house partly made of mud and straw….and the sun is still here.
    Take up knitting Granny…don’t Grannies always knit? Or painting. but then you do have your photography which is always good.
    And you have Jasmine..you cannot ask for more than that! Dog walking along the beach.
    Go pack your bags and become a beach-bum or is it a beachcomber…. lots of love

    • Hi Patrecia…now that summer is on the way a beach bum sounds really good.

  4. Do a bit of knitting or crosswords in work to fill your day πŸ™‚

    • Oh good grief Harry…this Granny doesn’t knit or sew. I do crosswords, word games and play scrabble…I need more!!!

  5. Hey Granny. Sorry you’re bored. Come join me in Florence there’s plenty to see and do here. πŸ™‚

    • I could die of boredom – which is why I am never without a book or my Kindle.

      • My Dad is using my Kindle Viv….I will have to stick to the news channels…at least I am keeping abreast of current affairs!

    • I wish. The most magical place in the world, Florence, even if we did stay in a grimy fleapit hotel.

    • I am on my way Judith!

  6. Better being bored “on the clock” than off it. Hope that windfall from the excess pension is LARGE.

  7. Where were you when I needed efficient, intelligent, capable, reliable staff like you!!?? Why doesn’t your boss consider REAL delegation and semi-retire? Ooops…are you planning on living there for a long time…?

    • I don’t know what I am planning right now….feeling very down.

  8. I remember dying of boredom several times at my last job, so yes, it’s possible. πŸ˜‰ We’re at opposite ends of the time spectrum right now, though, because I’m so overwhelmed with everything from my aunt’s move/house sale/going through unkept records to my own work that I don’t have time to breathe. I could use a little boredom right now….but just a *little*.

    Hope you’re in for more of a windfall than you expect! πŸ˜€

    I’m ready to do what your former boss did, though I lack the courage too. But the idea of getting away where no responsibilities can find me sounds pretty good right now.

    • Hi RD…shall we go together????

  9. Sounds about like my life right now, Granny. I’ve got a 3,200 page legal document to review and it gives new meaning to the word boredom. I certainly hope it can’t be fatal.

    • Me too Bud or my days are numbered.

  10. You’d think people in solitary confinement die of boredom – did you hear about the man who was freed from 41 years of solitary confinement recently & died 2 days later from liver cancer? CRUEL. It was found there wasn’t enough evidence to convict him original. Surprise, he was black.

    Anyway, just here to say I relate. OH I relate to being bored at work, I do, I do.

    • Hi There…yes…when you are bored the day is Soooooooooooooo long…like now….it is a quarter to eleven…don’t get out of here until two…sigh

  11. I hope you have a splendid weekend to make up for the boredom of yesterday. xx πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

