Posted by: granny1947 | September 15, 2013

Granny is windblown

2010_10090013

Hello All.

The following headline caught my eye when I opened the Sunday paper this morning.

Northern Cape premier Sylvia Lucas used her official credit card to spend R53 159 on fast-food during her first 10 weeks in office.

She went on to say:

“How would we have eaten if we didn’t use taxpayers’ money?”

She failed to mention that she earns a HUGE salary.

I got to thinking.
How does one EAT that much?
And what does she look like?
So I googled her.
And here she is.

GetPic[1]

 

 

I don’t know when this picture was taken but I reckon she has gained a couple (more) chins.
Our president wants more positive news in the press.
You got your wish sir.
This is positively disgusting.

I went to the vet, yesterday, to get drops for ticks.
For Jasmine not me.
Lord but animals are expensive to look after.
I didn’t want to take her to the bush without some protection.
R114-00 for a little tube of stuff that took me ten seconds to administer.
After our weekend I have to take her back to the vet for her injections.
And he has to look at the growth on her leg.
It is cancerous but he said we would only remove it if it grows.
I don’t think it has.
I hope it hasn’t.
It does not worry her.
It worries me.
That visit is going to cost me R350-00 without her worm medication.
She is lucky I love her so much.
I would think twice about spending that on any human I know.

There is a big coldfront in Cape Town today.
They usually send it up our way.
Hope it blows itself out by next weekend.

Responses

  1. Believe me last night you unfortunately missed the thrill of the Cape of Storms! And as for pets, yes I will gladly spend that money on them and not people.

    • And I love the Cape storms…damnit.

  2. For sure vets are a lot more expensive than human doctors but take into consideration that a human doctor’s patients don’t (or seldom do) bite!

    • Ok…I will grant you that but they seldom get sued for malpractice!

  3. I’m sorry about Jasmine’s lump. I know about high vet bill’s. Ernie has a bad eye that probably has to come out but I just don’t have the money right now. I just took the guys for their shots to a cheap clinic yesterday. That was expensive enough.

    • Oh that is so sad Maire…does it worry him?

      • It doesn’t seem to bother him so I try not to let it bother me too much. It looks terrible but he doesn’t rub it or anything. I don’t think he can see out of it very well. I know it will have to come out eventually. I’m saving money now that my car is paid off to have the operation. He’ll be more comfortable.

  4. Any government official, on appointment, should be given a state pension for a month and be challenged to live on that. No begging at traffic lights is allowed in that time! Thereafter they can receive a government employee’s pension and do the same. In those two months they will loose weight (mass) and realise what most of their constituents have to cope with.

    • What a brilliant idea…unfortunately they are given a credit card and think it is all theirs!!!

  5. Let’s hope it doesn’t grow, as I’m sure that Premier will How is it possible to spend that much in junk fodder?

  6. Politicians the world over seem to think the public purse is theirs.Hope the growth on Jasmine’s leg doesn’t grow any more. We love our four legged friends but they are costly indulgences.

    • And how…am dreading the bill next week.

  7. What the hell do you spend R759.41 per day on. Is she buying her own frikken’ Nando’s franchise?

    • The gal has some appetite…and an attitude.

  8. I would think twice about spending that on any human I know. That made laugh out loud!

    People with power is never a good thing.

    • Glad I made you laugh…you need it right now…lots of love.

  9. Hope Jasmine has a slow-growing growth.

  10. Hubby’s opinion on situations like these is that we must leave them to eat as much as they want. They won’t last long then. I think he’s got a good idea there. 😀

    Vets are expensive for sure. I always get the Frontline spray for Simba and he’s got growths as well but they’re benign and yes, I know the feeling about it worrying you more than it bothers her. The same with me and Simba. Not much we can do but I am sure Jasmine will be fine and it won’t grow.

    Have a great weekend Granny. 😀 *big hugs*

    • Your hubby is one wise man Sonel!!!

  11. At first glance, she looks like Mao Tse-ung. 😯 Not all prepossessing. What a greedy piggy! Love your “positively disgusting” comment. 🙂 Hoping for the best for Jasmine’s leg. *hugs*

    • Hi again AD..will blog about Jasmines’s visit to the vet tomorrow.

  12. Oh my goodness I’m sorry to hear about the growth on Jasmine’s leg. That is worrisome, but it’s true that sometimes those things never grow or spread. We’ll keep Jasmine in our prayers, she’s a dear companion. 🙂

    • I know RD….have never felt this way about a dog before…she is so special.


Leave a Reply

Categories

