Posted by: granny1947 | August 18, 2013

Granny takes a chance

beach3

Hello All.

When Wendy was staying with us,  and having chemo and radiation,  she went off food.
I scoured the shops looking for things to tempt her.
The only thing that worked was ice-cream.
Today, I found a tin of mushroom soup that she couldn’t face.
It expired in January.
It was delicious.
Nothing like living dangerously.
She died a year ago in July.
I still miss her like crazy.

The wind is still howling.
But my brother is parked next to the tree.
So I don’t care.
I can be a bitch.
I practice.

I have just had a nice hot shower and washed my hair.
And am now sitting with damp hair.
I know that isn’t too bright.
However, the last time I went to the hairdresser I told her to cut it short.
And she did.
Now, if I put a hair drier anywhere near my head my hair stands straight up.
I kid you not.
It looks as if someone has just told me real hair raising story.
Or I have just stuck my finger in the wall plug.
Or both.

Anyway, two posts in one day.
Bring out the Ark.
I think I am getting my mojo back.
Here’s hoping.

You will notice I have been going through all my old photos.

Responses

  1. Hahaha! Glad you moved your car from the danger zone. 😯

    • I may be old but I am not senile…yet!

  2. Hahahah…I went to get my bangs trimmed. They are way too short too. Bugger. Thanks for the Sunday morning smile xoxo

    • My pleasure love…good heavens…it is evening here…almost ready to snuggle under the blankets.

  3. Don’t you think that straight-up hairstyle might not start a new trend?

    • A trend for strange looking Grannies…hmmm

      • Try it and post a photo – you never know, it may suit you!

  4. Good thing you moved your car, brother, s car don,t matter. You having a hair-raising day..try gel or mouse then dry dtraight down not upwards. Yourhairshould then lie flat….
    Mojo never went away.It was merely covered by sadness…love p

  5. I practice. Ha you make me howl with laughter! I had my hair cut super short about a month ago then I decided it wasn’t short enough so I cut on it also. I used a razor and sheered a complete bald spot right in the front!! Luckily with gel and hairspray I could pull some of the other hair over it and fix it.

  6. I did notice that gorgeous photo and figured it was from your previous beach. You definitely got your mojo back – you’re a riot! It’s nice to have a haircut you don’t have to fuss with. My hair wants to be Shirley Temple, so it takes me half an hour to straighten it and fix it. Ugh. I can’t believe Wendy’s been gone a year, it didn’t seem that long ago. I don’t think we ever stop missing those we’re close to.

  7. It’s lovely to see the photos of your ‘old’ beach again. Two posts in one day – hurrah!

  8. You sound more like your old self today, that is progress granny!

  9. Very glad to hear your car is not in the danger zone anymore Granny. Good practicing indeed. 😆
    I don’t care much for fancy hair either and want mine to stand up but I don’t want to use hair spray and gel. I hate that stuff. I think the 2 of us will have lots of fun with the hair do’s..hahahahah
    Love to see the old photo’s hon. How far are you from the beach now?

  10. So nice to see you back again, Gran. ♥

  11. Big bunches of love to you and Jasmine! South Africa grows some mighty fine women!

    • Awww…thank you so much Souldipper.


Leave a Reply

Categories

