Posted by: granny1947 | May 20, 2013

Granny goes “Yech”!!!!!

014

Hello All.

The other day my Step-Dad announced that he would love some tripe and onions.
Being a dutiful daughter I went out and bought some on Friday.
They had Ox tripe.
But it looked a bit suspect.
Not that tripe ever looks attractive.
And, for the first time, I saw lamb’s tripe.
This looked nice and white(and small) so I bought two packets.

I took them out of their packets, yesterday.
Horrors…they were whole stomachs.
And looked dreadful.
They were like little pouches.
Only worse.

I boiled them up several times and changed the water.
Then I put them in the slow cooker where they simmered the whole night and most of the morning.
Just now I cut them up.
This was truly vomit inducing.
I tried to keep my eyes shut but it wasn’t easy.
Don’t laugh….I once cut up a whole pig’s head to make brawn.
And never looked at it once.
But I am a lot older now.
And quite attached to my fingers.

The bits I managed to rescue are now simmering in milk and onions.
Just enough for the old folk.
My brother won’t even try it.
After having the smell of tripe permeating the flat for nearly two days Mex and I are in total agreement.
We would rather starve!
I think I shall become a vegetarian.

015I think this guy is a Wildebeest.
But I could be wrong.

On entering the park you are given a map and a list of instructions.
Like do not get out of your car.
Do not feed the animals.
Do not litter etc, etc, etc.
They also ask you not to drive over the elephant dung.
Apparently, the dung is home to the endangered dung beetle.
They eat and breed in the dung.
I really can’t get too excited about a beetle that eats shit.

020

That lot must have been a townhouse complex.

One more elephant.
Because I can.

026Where have all the flowers gone?

Now you know.

Responses

  1. More beautiful photos! I’m with you, Kathy. I think if I had to eat tripe, I’d become a vegetarian. It doesn’t sound appetizing. The elephant dung certainly is large. A whole colony of beetles could live in there. You must have had to manouver the car quite a bit to get around the elephant dung. Watch out for the elephants–watch out for the dung. It must have been a regular obstacle course.

    • Don’t forget the lions Maire!

  2. Tripe NOT for me!!! And the guy looks like a Kudu to me.

  3. I’ve never eaten tripe, but used to bring up puppies on it – raw, cut into small pieces with scissors. It is really good healthy food, but like you I do NOT fancy eating it. A Pig’s head is another kettle of fish (!) the white meat from inside the cheeks is absolutely gorgeous.

    Did you take any dung home for your garden?

    • No Viv…didn’t fancy a pile of dung filled with beetles!

  4. Tripe is one of my favourites. I buy CLEAN ox tripe. I cut it up with scissors. Wash it. Cook it in the pressure cooker with whole onions which go into mush. Make a white sauce. Drain the tripe (saving the onion) and add the white sauce. Then (I make a lot because it takes so long to cook I may as well) I divide the tripe in white sauce into two. Make a curry sauce with onions and mix into one half of the tripe. So we have curried tripe and tripe in white sauce. Delicious! Come on all you flakers, give it a try…

    • Hi Adee…I am not a curry fan but the old man had a second helping tonight so it must have been ok. It fell apart it was in the slow cooker for so long.

  5. I have never been able to bring myself to eat tripe. You are a very good daughter to have cooked it for the ‘oldies’. πŸ™‚

  6. Whahahahaha! Oh, I just had to laugh Granny! You are hilarious! Lovely post and photo’s once again and big hugs to you and Jasmine. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

    • Thanks Sonel…same to you love.

  7. I should have been there for you, my grandfather was a tripe purveyor and I used to work in his factory during my summer hols. Those little pouches need to be slit open and the fat content removed before cooking. Just talking about tripe brings back the smell *shudder* never eaten it and I never will!
    My uncle would let me get away with blue murder and most of the time I spent in the office reading books but my grandfather got wind of my lazy ways and I was made to go to the abbatoir and given a metal hook…I had to sling the green stomachs (they get bleached in acid) into the back of the van. I remember there was one woman who had worked for him for 20 years…she had no sense of smell!

  8. Oh, I love tripe and onions, but nobody has the courage to prepare the stuff!
    That there buck is almost certainly a kudu, as Newsy says. Yip, I think I can see a bit of the distinctive white crest on the spine.
    Dung beetles are surprisingly cute, and in spite of their habits I have never hesitated to pick them up.

  9. Good title for this post . . . πŸ˜€

  10. you are a good daughter! there is no way I would have even thought about buying them let alone cooking them eeewwwwwwwwww 😦

  11. Gah,,,I wouldn’t even have bought it never mind trying to do ANYTHING with it, you are a better daughter than I am my friend xoxo

  12. There is no way I would prepare tripe for anyone no matter how much I loved them, I had the displeasure of smelling it being prepared once when I was a child and remain traumatised by that experience.

  13. Oh dear, tripe! How weird, my Dad just had his 80th Birthday and a great friend of his from Durban (who’s tripe he professes to be the best in the land/world/universe), made some and sent it to him as a treat. Treat?!??! Sorry, I don’t get it. I’ve never tried it. There I was, safe in the assumption that tripe was out of my life and now I’ve seen and heard about it twice in a week. Tut, tut. Good for you, though, being prepared to attempt making it. You are clearly a much nicer person than I πŸ˜€
    PS – think you saw a Kudu there. No matter, it’s beautiful anyway. It’s a WildeKudu – that’s what it is πŸ™‚

  14. My dear friend, I have nominated you for some awards, please accept and visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/7-awards/

    • Thank you so much…I will be over to have a look.

  15. You are a brave lady, and dutiful daughter!

    • Not really Barb… a dumb one.

  16. I have never tried trip and I don’t think I ever will – you are a good step-daughter πŸ™‚

    • You should try it just once Hope…you might be surprised…or disgusted!!

  17. The alleged wildebeest is a kudu, or bongo, as they are named at my local zoo. Magnificent creatures.

    • Thank you for the visit Derek…and the correction. πŸ™‚

      • Did you get a good look at it, or just a passing glance?

  18. Thoroughly enjoyable photos of the animals. After I spent days running around in a jeep with a guide, I think you are very brave to be there in your own cars. The guides would tell us the signs of the animals getting sick of humans or when they were preparing to take a run at us…or something. So I do understand you leaving the door open.

    Yah…our guides were always smitten by the dung beetles. We studied quite a number of the little gleaming things. I still don’t know what they contribute in the chain of thingies and buggies. I’m going to google that.

    BTW – I cannot see a warthog with grinning. I think they are hilarious.

    I’m still thinking about your email, my friend…


Leave a Reply

Categories

