Posted by: granny1947 | May 12, 2013

Granny and the Penguins

014

Hello All.

Well, it has been an interesting week.
Particularly Friday.
When I was very busy.
Sitting around waiting!

My Dad has not been well.
He has had a sore throat which went to his lungs.
And he was coughing up a storm.
I kept saying he should see the doctor.
But he refused.
My Mother read an article that said antibiotics were no good for flu.
So he said nature had to take it’s course.
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Mex phoned me at nine on Friday to say the old man had had a bad night.
I came home and put on my sternest Granny face.
And he capitulated and agreed to see his doctor.
Who turned out to be in Cape Town.
Which is a bit far for a visit.
Anyway, his surgery gave me the number of another doctor who said to come in and wait.
Which we did.

I liked him.
I think I may have found a doctor I can deal with.
We shall have to see.
When he heard about all the different cancers the old man has had he sent us for blood tests.
And x’rays.
Then for a cup of really good coffee and back to the doctor.
The old man has chronic bronchitis and a touch of pneumonia.
And he has to take……antibiotics.
Which he tells me are the new craze.
I mentioned Madame Curie and the fact that they have been around as long as me.
Which is a long time.
But he keeps muttering about them and saying they aren’t working.
The fact he is alive tells me they ARE helping.

This is going to be a long post.
If you get bored, feel free to leave.

Today we went for a drive to a produce market.
Where I didn’t buy a thing.
Then we went to a reserve called Cape Recife.
We had to pay to get in.
It was a glorious day and there was hardly anyone there.
My ticker is valid for a week.
I think I shall go again next week when I am more suitably dressed for a nice long walk on the beach.
In the reserve there is a rehabilitation centre for marine life.
It was fascinating.
Meet some of the inmates.

017This guy, apparently, has a mental problem.
He doesn’t mix with the others and stands around waiting for fish to drop from the sky.
I think he might be quite shrewd.
He knows a good thing when he sees it.

023This guy is moulting.
And really pissed off with life.
It must be similar to change of life.
Did you know that penguins cannot dive for food when they are moulting?
And it can take weeks!
I didn’t.

024

This is a new comer to the rehab.
You can’t tell male from female until one of them lays an egg.
Presumably the penguins know.
I think this is a female.
She is pretty.

 

And finally.

025

This type of penguin has dots on the chest.
They are all different.
It is as good as a fingerprint.
I thought he had a bad case of bugs.

Responses

  1. Aww, I like that poor little mental guy. What an interesting place! Hope your dad is better soon. xxoo

    • Yes Lin…he took my fancy too…such an interesting place…and you get a personal tour.

  2. I hope your Dad’s better soon. I liked your outing.

    • Thanks Viv…it is a worry when they are nearly 90.

  3. I’ve never heard of a mental patient penguin before. 😆

    Hope your dad (and my mom, also on antibiotics for an infection) recover in short order.

    • Thanks NR…me too…Dad looks so frail.

  4. Glad your dad went to the doc. I’m sure he will be better in a few days. Love the rehab and the penguins. Nice pics and it seems like most other animals they too have individual characters.

    • Hi Adee…yes…definite personalities…loved the problem one.

  5. Oh, I love penguins!
    Hope your dad is feeling better soon.

    • Thanks Elaine..I love penguins too.
      Mind you, after the tour and seeing how sharp their beaks are…I will keep my distance.

  6. Hope all improves for SDad, Granny. His ailment puts misery to the test.

    Yah, and those sweet little moulting penguins become miserable as hell when they get so hungry. Down at the Cape, it’s a good thing we could walk on the boardwalk ’cause they’ll nip ankles or toes. Someone stood too close to the edge…:D

    I understand completely! When hungry, I can win wars.

    • Hi Souldipper…do you remember the smell??????

  7. Now you have a mixture of psychotic fathers and penguins to study?
    People seem to battle to differentiate between viruses (which don’t react to antibiotic) and the infections caused by them (which do).

    • I know Col…I shall soon be drooling myself!

  8. I am glad you could force your dad to go to the doctor Granny. I don’t like going to doctors as well but well, you’ve gotta do what you gotta do sometimes. 🙂 Love the penguins photo’s. They are absolutely gorgeous and I am glad you enjoyed. 🙂 *hugs* to you and Jasmine. A pity she couldn’t go with. I am sure she would have enjoyed them. 🙂

    • Hi Sonel…Yes…I want to phone and find out if I can take Jasmine there…she would love that beach…it goes for miles.

      • Now that would make her day for sure Granny. Let me know what they said. 🙂 *hugs*

  9. Hi love, hope your ticker is valid for very much longer than a week…. 😉 lovely post, thanks.

    • Oh my word…did I say that? Hope it isn’t a sign of things to come this week!!

  10. Um…That last penguin could be inspiration for a new Ben and Jerry’s flavor for chocolate chip ice cream. Spotted Penguin.
    As for the mental one…I think he’s just smart. Joining the crowd is usually the indicator of mental issues. 🙂

  11. I didn’t know you had penguins in South Africa. I thought they were in Antarctica. What do i know? I know they aren’t at the North Pole. Polar bears are there. I hope your dad is feeling better. I’m glad you prevailed and got him to the doctor. You don’t get over bronchitis and pneumonia without antibiotics. You know what you’re doing. You’re a good daughter, Kathy. You’re a saint!

  12. Sorry about your dad’s health problems. Hope the antibiotics do the job. Those little penguins are very cute, even with spots. I had to smile at your typo, and hope that your “ticker” is valid for more than a week. 😀 Hugs

  13. So glad your dad is one the mend thanks to those new fangled antibotics! That first penguin has such a sad story. Although the moulting and not being able to dive for fish thats pretty bad. The spotted one is just plain funny. In a good way.

    • Hi Linda…I had a soft spot for the first one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

