Posted by: granny1947 | April 28, 2013

Granny is very curious.

2013_0418sylvia0023

Indoor heated pool at the hotel…which I didn’t try.

Hello All.

Things must be improving.
Two posts in two days.
Maybe I am back.

I had lunch with my cousin on Friday.
He lives just around the corner but we have not seen much of each other.
It was nice to catch up.
And compare ailments.

He gave me three documents that his daughter had got hold of in England.
I am absolutely fascinated.
One is a census done in 1911 and filled in by my Grandmother.
There is a column marked infirmity.
1)Is anyone totally deaf or deaf and dumb.
2)Totally blind.
3)Lunatic.
4)Imbecile or feebleminded.

I was relieved to discover that none of my family were three or four.
Though it might explain a lot.

It also mentions that my great grandparents had six kids.
All living.
I never knew that.
I knew Granny had a brother but what  happened to the rest of them?
I might have a huge family out there and I don’t know anything about them. One of the sisters living in the house was a widow of 33 with two children.
Both kids had the same surname as the rest of our family.
How curious.

The second form is the passenger list for the Dunnottar  Castle on 11/12/1936.
It shows my Gran, her four daughters and my Dad who was eleven.
She had left her husband and came out to this country with her five kids.
At the age of 51.
A brave lady.

The third form is the army paper of my Grandfather.
Dated the 8/7/1917
He was 38 and a butcher.
We suspect he was a naughty bugger.
He appears to have had a second family.
He might have been a bigamist.
Anyway, a good reason for my Gran to leave him.
I would love to know more.

Responses

  1. I was surprised to see you again so soon. But glad. It’s fun finding out about your ancestors. I’ve started doing our family genealogy. I’ve gotten quite a lot done so far. On my mother’s side, with the help of cousins, we’ve traced back to the late 1700s. Almost to the American Revolution. We know one ancestor was in the American Civil War. My father’s ancestors are more recent immigrants from Europe. They came to the US in the 1850s. We have the passport from Luxembourg. My brother actually went to the town they came from. A tiny place in Luxembourg. I hope you’ll do some more exploring. It’s loads of fun, I find. I’ve even done some on my ex-husband’s family for my daughter and granddaughters. I have quite a lot for them. The pic of the pool is quite refreshing. Lovely.

    • Hi Maire…yes, I want to look further. My Dad looked up his father’s “other” family when he went over but they wanted nothing to do with him. Such a pity…I would love to know.

  2. Try Googling the name and surname. I discovered that my maternal grandfather died in November 1941 and a whole lot history too.

  3. Ancestry is very interesting. I have a family tree dating back as far as the 1700’s, but only the names and D.O.B and death in most cases.

  4. Apparently it is relatively easy to work out a family tree using the net. I have thought of it, but I have English, Scottish, Irish and German grandparents so I think it will be much harder than if they all were English for instance.

    • Nice roomy bath you had en suite!

    • That one was to Granny, drattit!
      I was going to say that all those places have pretty good records which one can access online if one knows where to look, Tackle one branch at a time, though.

  5. That pool looks cool! Glad you had a chance to jam with your cousin.

  6. That pool looks very inviting, I’m surprised you didn’t try it.
    Your family tree sounds fascinating – no wonder you would like to know more.

  7. Um…all I could think after the pool picture…is I want to be IN the pool…

  8. One of my grandfathers was like yours, a right so and so. But I remember him as very funny but strict as anything with us young ‘uns.

  9. Whahaha Granny! Clearly you’re not from that family then. We have a huge family too but I really do not want to look for them. Love the swimming pool and would love an indoor one like that for the winter months. Have a fun day hon and big hugs to you and Jasmine. 🙂

  10. Thank you thank you cousin for bringing Kath back to us… missed her alot.

  11. Researching your family’s history is fascinating. I have made a half-hearted attempt to do mine but “stuff” just keeps getting in the way. Nice to see you back so soon Granny, keep the momentum going 🙂

  12. Sorry I know this doesn’t apply to your post but do you know what might have happened to Miss Whiplash? She is gone! No more blog 😦 I will miss her so much. Her email isn’t in my automatic list anymore. My computers fault, stupid thing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

