Posted by: granny1947 | January 7, 2013

Granny is trying

2010_09010006

2010_09020002Hello All.

I have been a busy Granny.
I saved all my photos onto an external hard drive.
Now I am trying to weed them out.
Delete.
Delete.
Delete.
I have deleted a couple of hundred.
I still have a few THOUSAND to go through.

Yesterday. I girded my loins (where the hell does that saying come from?) and took Jasmine for a walk.
Today we went for another walk.
Slightly longer.
Hopefully, I can keep this up.
Both Jasmine and I desperately need the exercise.

On the upside I have now lost nearly seventeen pounds.
Only another couple to go.
I even managed to lose a little over the holiday period.
Yes, yes, yes, I am blowing my own trumpet.
On the downside the old skin is still there.
Probably worse.
Going to gym might help.
It is never going to happen!

Once I am down to goal weight I have to quit smoking.
That is another whole ball game.
I feel very, very sorry for Mex.
I already have cabin fever.
Cabin fever AND giving up smoking…this could be a deadly combination.
I will keep you posted.
A daily body count.

Responses

  1. If I can manage to give up, then so can you! I will be five years in June.

    • I know Sue….am very impressed with you.
      By the way….you went into my spam!

    • Only five, Sous? I thought you were a bit older!

  2. I need to do the same with my photos.

    • I find it very hard to delete photos Harry but I have so many very similar ones.

  3. Excellent work Granny! Well done on losing so much weight – and doing it in the festive period too! That must have been hard.

    • Hi Elaine…actually now that I am in the swing of it it has been quite easy.

  4. Congrats on losing the 17lbs. I’m only just begining my journey as you know!
    Keep up the walking. I go walking with other people so it distracts me from exercising. We twalk.

    • Twalking sounds like great fun but will have to wait until I have kicked the weed…I have no spare air!

  5. I think deleting photographs is easier than giving up smoking πŸ˜‰
    I need to lose weight as well, but have no dog or companion to keep me going.

    • Hi Pussycat…having a dog certainly helps…don’t think I would just walk around the neighbourhood on my own…people might think I was a stalker!

  6. You can do it Granny! I know it’ll be hard, but you’re stronger than ciggies are. And congrats on the weight loss – are you having fun shopping for smaller sizes? πŸ™‚

    • Hi RD…haven’t done much in the way of shopping but am still revelling in having my jeans nice and loose.

  7. Congratulations on the weight loss, I know how hard that is….

    • Thanks Annie…now to just keep it off!

  8. Congrats, that’s a huge weight loss – I was feeling chuffed at losing 4 kilos (8 and a half pounds). The problem is that giving up smoking tends to pile the weight back on, so don’t chuck those large jeans yet.

    • I know Viv…it is going to be a huge challenge to quit and keep the weight off…am not looking forward to the double battle.

  9. My automatic response to the statement in your heading has always been to say, ‘Yes, very!’ and run like hell.
    Normal hard drives are for deleting or saving pictures from. External ones are for KEEPING the wretched things, or why bother? They are there for storage. So keep them, or you may find you’ve zapped a shot worth a million. I think the girding thing comes from the Bible, when everyone wore a kind of nappy to go out.

    • Hi Col…read comment above…it was more of a panic thing when I had to clear my PC at work.

      • O, I C!

  10. I’m doing the same with my photos, Granny . . . I’ve deleted 1,000 thus far, but I probably have another 1,000 to jettison.

    Like pounds, they are easier to accumulate than shed. πŸ˜‰

    • Morning NR…when we moved I saved all my pics I had on my work computer onto the external drive..then I copied all the ones on my PC…a lot of the time I had saved the same photos…I really have thousands to sort through.

  11. Good for you Granny! I managed to only put back on 3 lbs over the holidays so I was feeling pretty elated — but, to have lost! That’s terrific. And awesome that you’re going to quit smoking!

    • Hi KLRS…yes I was very chuffed…the smoking is going to be more difficult.

  12. Wow, 17 lbs! I thought that I was doing OK when I lost 2 kg – which is now back on again, lol! I am lucky here in that we have a big central island and quite a few people take a walk around iit once or twice a day, some, like me, on crutches, some lucky ones under their own steam with no aids, and yet others in wheelchairs (if they can find someone to push them). Talk about a bunch of crocks!

    Re giving up smoking, Gran, try chewing gum. It worked for me. πŸ™‚

    • Morning Adee….are you STILL on crutches?

      • I had a walker first, then have been on crutches for about a year. I have a walking stick, but don’t think I am ready yet for it. I can put my weight on the crutches when I need to and there are times when I still have to. I do walk short distances without any aid at all and am trying to extend this slowly.

  13. Granny – glad to hear you and Jas are walking again πŸ™‚ And huge congrats on the 17 lb. Have a super day!! xxx

  14. Good news on the weight loss – 17 pounds is no mean feat!

  15. Congratulations on the weight loss. You’re doing an outstanding job.
    πŸ™‚

  16. 17ibs! Well done!

    What is the etymology of the phrase ‘girding my loins’?

    “Gird (up) your loins,” or prepare and strengthen for what is to come, is of biblical origin; long, loose garments worn in the ancient Orient had to be hitched up to avoid impeding a person’s movement. In 1 Kings 18:45-6: “And Ahab rode, and went to Jezreel. And … Elijah … girded up his loins, and ran before Ahab to the entrance of Jezreel.” The phrase was also used in the New Testament metaphorically : “Wherefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and hope to the end for the grace that is to be brought unto you. … ” (1 Peter 1:13).
    Source: Oxford Dictionary of Idioms

    http://www.quora.com/What-is-the-etymology-of-the-phrase-girding-my-loins

  17. Wow! Congrats on the weight loss! I can’t wait to brag on you for quitting smoking

  18. Well done with the weight loss Granny, I am sure with your willpower the ciggies will soon be a thing of the past too.

  19. Congratulations on your weight loss, Kathy. It can’t have been easy with all the cooking you do for the relatives. walking is good exercise. I know you iss the beach. I wish you still had it to walk upon. Keep up the good work.

  20. I did things backwards from you – I quit smoking at the end of 2011 (between Xmas & New Year’s) & now I have to try to lose the weight I gained from doing it. Congrats on losing the weight, hopefully you don’t gain it back while you are quitting smoking. If I may, try E-Quits – it’s a website where people from all over the world post about their adventures in quitting smoking. There were a few times when I was having a bad craving & really valued their help.

  21. Good for you Granny! I don’t know why I have to force myself to walk. I hate it. I used to enjoy it. Of course the dogs love it. But I have to walk them separetly and Luna walks like a Jack Rabbit. I think I have given up trying to lose weight. Well sort of. My blood pressure is a mess, up and down and all around. So I looked at the sodium content of everything I usually eat and about had a heart attack! Maybe I will lose weight from starvation. I was so shocked by some of the ordinary things like baked beans that have 660 grams of sodium! And my husband who smokes and eat horribly, his blood pressure is fine. What the hell?

  22. Well done – you deserve to blow you own trumpet!

  23. I walk with my camera for exercise and find it helpful. Growing photos on my laptop is so easy and every so often I need to spend an hour sorting and clearing them.

  24. I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Go to my blog to find out about it.

  25. Congrats on the weight loss, Granny! I’ve taken up Aquafit thanks to the encouragement of my Walking Buddy, but now she and I aren’t walking as much. My body is changing, but I tried on a pair of old pants and decided not to force the zipper if I wanted to move! Odd, I’m fitter, but the muscle is pushing out the excess weight – the weight needs to drop now.

    I love a good hike on weekends when another friend is available. She and I walk at the same pace and enjoy being out there for 2 to 3 hours.

    So, I hail your efforts. Good for you and I bet Jasmine is thrilled.

    Yep…I have a cleaning job to do with my photos, too. Wish I’d discipline myself away from, “Oh, I may like it later.” when I download.

  26. Well done with the weight loss. I’m not doing so well and count my loss in grams. Weekends dont help either.
    Hope you manage to stop smoking. It is a mind thing. You need to decide that now is the time to stop and really want to stop. Thinking you want to stop but not having the commitment just doesn’t do it. I stopped nearly 21 years ago and it was the best thing I ever did.
    Have a great New Year as well and may you have all the blessings you deserve.


Leave a Reply

Categories

