Posted by: granny1947 | January 3, 2013

Granny goes a calling.

2010_05160001

Hello All.

The above pic is from my archives.
Have been taking a walk down memory lane.
Not always a good thing to do.

I have been visiting.
On my own.
Mex is still feeling anti-social.
First was a visit to some old friends.
Where we talked up a storm.
And had a nice healthy lunch.

Then it was a visit to my cousin and his wife.
Where I had tea.
And talked up a storm.

Then, yesterday, I met my friend from work.
We had breakfast together.
And talked up a storm.

It appears I talk too much.

Backtrack.

AΒ photo of my trifle.
Because I can.
It IS my blog.

002For the record, it lasted two days.
The folk inside love their puddings.
So does Mex.

Today has been a lazy day.
Except for mopping the floor.
And doing a few dishes.
I opted for an easy day and went out and bought fish and chips for everyone.
Well, grilled fish for my Mom and me (she is on a diet too)
We have had a howling gale all day.
Really unpleasant.
And a bit scary when driving near big trees.
Being flattened by a big tree is not the way I want to go.

And now I am waffling.
I shall give you a break.

Hope you guys are having a great New Year.

 

Responses

  1. Oh, so that’s where the howling wind has come from. It started to blow on the KZN coast a few hours ago.
    Trifle looks very delicious.
    I’m glad you had a chance to talk up a storm. It’s good for the soul πŸ˜‰

  2. That trifle looks divine and talking up a storm is a good thing πŸ™‚

  3. YUMMY looking trifle! Talking with friends is the best medicine, therapy, spirit-lifter, soul-enricher….you name it, it’s the best!! Glad you’ve had so many lovely visits. πŸ˜€

  4. I miss a good trifle! And fish and chips. My own just doesn’t cut it 😦 Have a great 2013!

  5. Your trifle looks good. I didn’t know what trifle was. We Yanks are ignorant people. We don’t go in much for puddings. We’re more into cakes and pies. Cheesecake is big, especially in New York. I’m into cheesecake. So are the granddaughters and they have never even lived in New York. It must be passed down genetically.

  6. The pudding looks devine. I love pudding. I was riding down the road just the other day and saw where a huge tree had blown over all the way across the other side. Glad I wasn’t there when that happened! Not the way I want to go either. It’s been cloudy and cold here for too many days. I am starting to feel like Eyore.

  7. You should have kept your blessed wind. Or is it the storm you talked up? I don’t want it! One advantage of doing a lot of talking is that one hasn’t enough time to overeat!
    I would certainly like to trifle with that pud!

  8. I fancy a dollop of that trifle – don’t you just love the noise the spoon makes when taking the first portion?

  9. I could talk up a storm with you any day, and nosh on some of that trifle.

    • Come on then girl…move down this way…get out of the ratrace.

  10. Talking up a storm with friends is great!

    • I love it Elaine…Mex is a quiet one.

  11. The trifle looks wonderful. Obviously, you have lots to say — and why not? Sometimes, doing the visiting without your partner is lots more fun, anyway.

    • Yes KLRS..then you can talk about them. πŸ™‚

  12. I could eat your trifle myself πŸ™‚

    • I must say, Harry, it tasted good…I had a tiny little bit.

  13. Sounds like your trifle was something not to be trifled with. Here today . . . gone today. πŸ˜€

    • Now you saw it then you didn’t!

  14. Love the look of your trifle, I love my pudding too! You are very brave to keep dieting during the holidays.

    • Hi Benzeknees…even managed to lose another half a kg…Granny polishes up her halo!

  15. Yum, trifle. I’ll eat anything with custard in it. Hope you’re going to have a 2013 full of abundant good, fun, love and laughter. That all includes finances, Granny! πŸ™‚

  16. I can’t believe I didn’t have any trifle this past Christmas, so your lovely photo will have to satisfy me for another 12 months or so πŸ™‚

    • You COULD just make one Ruth. πŸ™‚

      • Hmmmmm, maybe I will πŸ™‚

  17. “We have had a howling gale all day”.
    Well, of course you have…After All…You Did Talk Up a Storm!!!
    ~Happy New Year~
    Oh, by the way…nothing “Trifle” about your blog and photos…
    Bless You

    • Awww…thank you so much Sonsothunder.

  18. Sounds like a nice relaxed time you’re having – enjoy it while it lasts πŸ™‚

    • Hi Optie…six more days to go…sigh

  19. I have never had trifle. I think your picture makes me want to try it!

    • Do you want the recipe Sweetdays…very simple to make.

  20. Gales and big trees definitely don’t go together, Gran.

    I adore trifle any day of the year, but I will have to cool it as I have quite a lot of weight to lose. 😦

    • Hi Adee…I am happy to announce I am almost at my goal weight…then I have to quit the smoking…guess it will all rush back on!

  21. I loooooove trifle! Happy New Year Granny πŸ™‚

    • Me too Piglet…don’t know why I only make it at Christmas.

  22. I have not made trifle for years, seeing your photo makes me want to try again. I hope 2013 is kind to you and yours.

    • Thank you Mar…the same to you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

