Posted by: granny1947 | December 28, 2012

Granny says Goodbye

044

Hello All.

No, I am not leaving you guys.
God forbid.
You guys keep me grounded.
I am saying goodbye to 2012.
It has been a horrible year.

A recap of the year.

I lost my best friend.
I lost my uncle.
I lost the minister who married me.
Twice.( I didn’t lose him twice…he married me twice)
I lost my cat.
Good grief I have been careless.

I left a job I loved.
I left my beautiful beach.
I left my kids.
I left my grandkids.
I left a home I loved.

What did I gain this year?

I moved into a converted garage.
I spend ALL the time with Mex.
We can’t escape each other.
It has a flat roof so I have a built in sauna.

I found a half day job.
That bores me to tears.
But it keeps the wolf from the door.
Mary Lou took me on a wonderful nine day holiday.
And spoilt me rotten.

I went to the wedding.
And spent time with my grandkids.

Oh, that reminds me.
I found a photo of the drag queen DJ.
Here he/she is.

17759_10152340169320029_182837298_nIn case you are a bit slow…
The Drag Queen is the one in the middle.

I lost seven kgs.
So far.
Why oh why did I throw out all my thin clothes when we moved?

So…2013…here we come.
Mary Lou has formed a company for me.
I shall be actively looking at starting some sort of business.
Any ideas?

Responses

  1. Let the good outweigh the bad, G. I hope that 2013 will bring you much joy and happiness.

    • Thanks Pussycat…now I have that all off my chest is is forwards!

  2. How can I “Like” this post when you had so many losses? Hopefully 2013 will be much better to you!

    • Oh it is going to be a good year Benzeknees…I feel it in my old bones….or is that lack of exercise?

      • I also have old bones with a definite lack of exercise.

  3. You’ve had quite a year Granny, I hope 2013 will be the start of good things for you.

    • I am quite sure 2013 is going to be good, Hope.

  4. ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪ 😆 Happy Holidays to You & Yours! 😆 .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

    • Thank you eof737…impressive comment there!

  5. Phew! 2012 was quite a year for you. May you have a wonderful, blessed 2013.

    • Thanks Jacquie…I forgot to mention…have a huge crop of silver hair popping out!

      • Silver hair is good. Sorry you had such a horrible year. Mine wasn’t marvellous, either, so let us both put it behind us and soldier on.

      • Hear, hear Viv.

  6. Granny, I read all your blog posts, but don’t often get to comment so thank-you so much… you always make me laugh. It’s a gift you share so well, thank-you. Like you 2012 has been a challenging year and I’ll be happy to welcome 2013, I just know it’s going to be awesome! Funny thing, as soon as I read any ideas for a business… I thought of “bath salt bags” made with the rocks salts in the Cape… bizarre or not! 🙂 I’d buy them from you, all the way in KZN. 🙂

    • Hi Mands…nice to meet you.
      We have rock salts here?

      • The best Rock Salt: Royal Salt in Parow:
        Contact Details
        P O Box 6254, PAROW EAST,7501
        Tel: +27 (21) 951 6501
        Fax: +27 (21) 951 6501
        Email: saltpark@saltcor.co.za

        [ http://www.donaldbrowngroup.co.za/products/58/royal-salt-products.htm ]

        I know you moved recently, just not sure where?
        I love natural bath salts… and nice stuff with oils and flower essence is difficult to find. 🙂

      • Hi Mands….we are now in Port Elizabeth…I know we have salt pans here!

      • These are two links… just for your interest, so you don’t have to approve the comment. 🙂
        http://www.cerebos.co.za/ & http://www.salt.co.za/

      • Why do I have to keep approving your comments?
        Thanks for the links.
        Will have a look.

  7. Oh dear- what a lot happened in 2012! I hope 2013 works out better. And for your business opportunity – Monopoly anyone? 😉

  8. Roll on 2013, it has to be better that 10, 11 and 12… Think about something you love to do and your new business should encompass that if possible. Good luck!

    • I’m thinking….hmmmmm….what do I love to do?

  9. 2012 was not a good year for you Granny, so 2013 had better be good!
    I second what adee says about a new business – base it on something you love to do.

    • Hi Barb…I would love to do something in the selling line….I enjoy people….must try to get an agency of some sort.

  10. Eat chocolate on New Year’s Eve ~ it ensures Good Luck in the new year OR it tastes good OR both.

    Here’s to Brighter Horizons.

    • Thanks NR…I will drink to that.

  11. You are going to start a business? What do you like to do? Besides photography. Can you do something with that? Beautiful photo of your beach, by the way. And the drag queen, too. Do what you really love to do. That would be the best job, I think.

    • I agree Maire but am not a good enough photographer to make a living doing it.

  12. You had a busy year! Like you, I am looking forward to turning the corner to 2013. May it be a healthy one for all of us!

    • Hi Mar…this seems to have been a bad year for so many people.

  13. You did have a rather tough year — here’s hoping that 2013 is better and brighter! Good luck with the business idea.

  14. Here’s hoping 2013 is peacefully uneventful…or at least the events are happy ones 🙂

  15. Hope next year is better for you.

    I’m still sad about Tom 😦

    • Me too Tilly, me too.

  16. Not a pleasant tally of events! Let us hope 2013 is made of better stuff.

    • Yes please Col…all good stuff.

  17. Goodbye – for now – Granny. Be well and stay strong.

  18. …but I found your blog again, and it’s all going to be okay. I hope 2013 is much, much better. Hang in there, Granny.

    • I am fine thanks Blogbrarian….2013 is going to be great.

  19. I do hope that 2013 will be kinder to you than 2012 and that your new business will bring you the fulfilment that is so obviously lacking right now.
    Happy New Year Granny (and Mex)

    • Thanks Optie…same to you love.

  20. Business…selling… Does SA have Groupon happening over there? Sell businesses ideas for getting more business AND you can write their “ads” with humour.
    Check out Groupon deals in the city closest to me? http://www.groupon.com/browse/victoria

    The idea is – the company offers a really good deal to as many clients as they want or for as long as they want.

    I signed up (free) as a member and groupon sends me all these great savings available in things I like (i.e. they asked me my interests).

    I’ve had great hair-cuts, manicures, spa treatments, new shoes, healthy food, memory foam mattresses – etc…all at really great prices.

    So you could sell this to companies. The thing I love about this…everyone wins. Businesses find that after doing a Groupon deal, their business levels stay higher because of the exposure this brought.

    On business woman told me it was better than running a bunch of ads that MAY get read, but certainly cost her money.

    Just a thought.

    • Oh, the important thing…Groupon people write the ads for the business that comes on board. They are not typical, conventional or boring ads. Some businesses may have concerns about this stipulation at first, but once they see others, they relax and go along with the lightness/humour. It certainly is a refreshing change for most of us!

    • Thanks Amy…will look into them when I decide WHAT my business is going to be all about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

