Posted by: granny1947 | November 24, 2012

Granny is home…at last

Room with a view.

Hello All.

Yes, I got back yesterday.
However, I had over 500 e-mails to sort out and delete.
And I napped most of the afternoon.

Obviously, I can’t tell you about all nine days in one go.
You will glaze over.
I will tell you a couple of days at a time.

I was spoiled rotten by ML.
She is the most incredibly generous woman I have ever come across.
She can also be  very opinionated and demanding.
But no-one is perfect.

She arrived on Wednesday and I took her shopping on Thursday.
Where she decided to buy me an early Xmas present.
She said I needed decent make-up.
Took me to the Clarins counter.
Oh wow.
I walked out with moisturiser, base, cleanser, powder and a big bottle of perfume.
Also, lots of free gifts of hand cream, night cream, day cream and lipgloss.
It cost her thousands.
Really…thousands.

The downside of all this wonderful stuff is I will never be able to replace it.

I also learned something.

NEVER confuse your cleanser for your toothepaste.
It tastes disgusting.
And, it takes about an hour for the taste to go.
On the upside I don’t think my teeth have any wrinkles.
In my defence…the tubes were sort of the same shape.

The hotel is very old.
And very gentile.
I loved the old beams in the dining room.
And all the stained glass windows.
And the food.
And the staff.
And my room.
What can I say?
I am easily impressed.

Responses

  1. I can just imagine brushing my teeth with my moisturizer, yuk.
    Glad to see you again Granny 🙂

    • Hi Hope…it was actually foaming cleanser…and boy did it foam!

  2. Glad to hear you had a superb time away granny, and it’s nice to have you back again – less a few wrinkles perhaps? 😉
    That dining room is beautiful!

    • Thanks Barb…I took more pics of the dining room..it blew me away.

  3. Welcome back and good to see you had a great time.

    • Thanks Newsey…it was great.

  4. Nice to have all these beauty treatments given to you.
    Those two items are certainly confusing, the White Glow should have been in the plain white tube!
    Have a lovely weekend.

    • Hi Pussy…the other word in my defence…I WAS still half asleep!

  5. I was wondering how your stay in luxury went, welcome back to the real world! 🙂 I want to hear more about it, please tell me you took pics of the food?

    • Oh dear Sue…I didn’t.
      I will go back and take a pic of someone else eating!

  6. What a lovely friend!

    I once confused a travel tube of stick deodorant for lip ice…bleurgghh!

    • /try putting cleanser IN your mouth!

  7. What beautiful photos! Sounds like you had a wonderful time. I’m so glad. I think that’s what I need–a spa holiday–but I don’t think I’ll get one anytime soon. I had Thanksgiving dinner with my daughter and her family and survived. It was also my birthday, so I consider it a double survival so I can’t ask for much more.

    • Hello Maire…oh dear…I missed TWO birthdays while I was away. A very happy belated birthday to you.

  8. opinionated and demanding eh! ha! ha! reminds me of someone else I know.ME!
    I am glad that you had a great time , she sounds a very generous friend. But its good to have you back again, even if you did not add a view to my 250+ posts..I forgive easily

    • Hi Patrecia…she is a friend in a million…I get embarassed when she spoils me like that.

      • I am sure that she gets as much pleasure giving as you do receiving

      • I think she does P.

  9. She spoils you because . . . you’re worth it!
    Unless she’s just a bad judge of character. 😉

    So glad you enjoyed your “stay away.”
    And that you followed Dr. Yu Phat’s advice on your return . . . by taking a nap.

    • Thank you NR…I always believe you have to ease into reality gently!

  10. What a generous and kind friend you have there. The confusion over the cleanser/toothpaste made me smile – it’s something I’ve nearly done myself!

    • Ah Elaine…nearly…but you didn’t!!!

  11. This is going to be good. You’ll take a photo of you with all that make-up surely! My face decided it had enough and has become allergic to most anything that touches my face. (Well, a man’s lips seem to be acceptable!) I looked at that as a gift! Good thing I live on an island where naturalness is appreciated.

    Look forward to more about your grand trip away. So happy for you, Granny!

    • Morning Souldipper…yes..I use very little make-up so this will last me for a long, long time. Nice to have a good moisturiser.

  12. Lucky you. I love Clarins, but have never tried brushing my teeth with it. The hotel looks gorgeous, and what a view. 🙂

    • Hi AD..yes…the hotel was great. The view was ok but I miss the mountains.

      • I know you do, granny. I can tell. Hugs xx

      • Big time AD…need to win the lottery.

  13. 😀 better keep the light on in the bathroom.

    • The light was on but I was sleepwalking!

  14. Welcome back… I need to win the lottery! 🙂

  15. Nice to be pampered every now and again, Glad you enjoyed the trip. Wrinkle free teeth – I love it!

  16. What a beautiful place! I’m so glad you had such a great time. ML is so incredibly generous – what a wonderful friend! 🙂

  17. How nice that you were spoilt and pampered for a change. When I think of all the money I have spent on miracle cosmetics and “treatments” in my lifetime I wish I had saved the money instead because nothing will stop the pull of gravity and the wrinkles from forming, but had I save the money I could have afforded a facelift, now that would have been rejuvenating!


Leave a Reply

Categories

