Posted by: granny1947 | October 20, 2012

Granny reporting in.

Hello All.

Yes, it is really me.
Before I go any further I want to thank everyone for all the e-mails asking if I am ok.
I am fine.
Just SO,SO demotivated.
This too shall pass.
I hope!

We have had a bit of drama.
I think I blogged about my stepdad’s brother who got married in July.
At the age of 84.
Well, about ten days ago he was diagnosed with cancer.
So, on Thursday my Dad and my brother flew up to Pretoria.
I took them to the airport.
At five in the morning.
In the rain.
I have realised that my 90 year old Dad does not handle pressure.
I was waiting at my car when he came out and said goodbye and would I please look after my Mom.
I said …what…are you walking to the airport?
Then he was worrying that the flight would be cancelled.
Because it was raining.
Anyway, I think there is a moral in this story.
Marriage is bad for your health.

It has been raining for three days.
Jasmine has a big plastic basin for her water.
It filled up overnight.
There are flood warnings for our area.
It is freezing.
It is nearly summer.
What the hell is going on?

Mex went up to East London on Monday.
He has gone for his 50 year school reunion.
I wonder what all the wrinklies are talking about.
I bet it is their health.
And comparing operation scars.
What fun.
I think I have just about talked myself out of my reunion in January.

Now let me come over to visit your blogs.
I know I said this before.
This time I am going to actually do it.

Mwah.

p.s. Am still on track with the diet.
My jeans are now comfortable…yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!

Responses

  1. Ha! Last weekend was my 50th reunion and no, we had better things to talk about than our scars etc! Ours was a wonderful weekend in the KZN Midlands and we had a wonderful reception at our old school.
    Read more on my blog.
    It’s raining here, too, and I also wonder what’s happened to summer.

    • I WILL be over just now to read all about it Pussycat.

  2. Nice to see you again! sorry about your uncle, your Dad is obviously a worrier, shame! I haven’t been very motivated to blog lately, been busy as you will see if you read it! *grin*

    • Hehehe…point taken Sue…will be over in a sec!

      • If you send me your email I can share the episode via dropbox, it is a low resolution version but not sure what your cap it? My Mum is watching from the uk but they have unlimited cap. SABC don’t repeat apparently.

  3. I am …so relieved to know that you are ok. I know that you don’t like being where you are and from the sound of the weather..I don’t blame you!
    well done keeping the diet going..one step at a time.
    lots of love to Jasmine, who also misses her past bit of home xxxxxxx

    • Hi Patrecia…thanks for missing me and yes, poor Jasmine is lying on her bed covered with a big blanket.

  4. Nice to see you back again granny. Sorry to hear about your stepdad’s brother.
    It takes a lot to get me motivated these days too.
    Haven’t you found a nice beach yet to take Jasmine for her walks?

    • Hi Barb…there are beaches but they are all so far away. Also, we have had incredibly bad weather since we arrived…pouring as I speak.

  5. Great to hear your stepdad got married. Not so good about the cancer, so sad!
    and the diet…good for you Miss porky here has worms and can’t stop eating!

    • Hi Piglet…once I got into the diet it became easier…it is going slowly but I kid myself the weight will stay off longer.

  6. Kathy, I’m so glad you’re okay. I’m sorry to hear about your stepfather. I hope he’ll be all right. But I’m glad you’re well. I’ve really missed your posts. It’s great that your diet6 is working. Isn’t it encouraging to see results? It really motivates you to keep going. Don’t go away again for too long. I’ll miss you too much.

    • Thanks Maire…I will really try!

  7. Glad to hear from you Granny! I get demotivated here and there, do some PROcrastination, some worry(I am a worrier) and fall off the blogging wagon fairly frequently. I have missed you and your posts.

    • Thanks Sweetday…this has been a fall of note!

  8. Getting married at 84! Now that is amazing to me. What a shame that he is now sick. At least he will have support and love through it all.

    Funny your dad asking you to look after your mom, thats what you are there for in the first place!

    • Hi Linda…amazing…I think a bit crazy. But yes…he was so happy and now everything is falling apart…feel so sorry for his new wife…a lovely lady.

  9. Hooray! Nice to have you back. 🙂

    • Thanks Elaine…yes…I feel I am back but be prepared for some boring posts!

  10. Delighted to see that your sense of humor is still peaking through . . . even if the sun isn’t.

    Hope you have brighter days on your horizon. 😀

    • The rain is unbelievable right now…definitely flood weather!

  11. Here I am in Florida for the winter. It’s really warm here, and not much rain at all. Nice to see you back again. I’m sorry about your stepdad’s brother. I hope he’ll be okay. Hugs to you, granny.

    • Thanks AD…don’t think he is going to recover but one never knows.

      • Whilst there’s life, there’s hope. 🙂

  12. So glad to hear from you again! I was getting worried.

  13. Your soggy weather is very much with us, now!
    Sorry to hear about dramas and all the ferrying you have been doing at ungodly hours. Maybe you should get a minibus and make some money out of it? You’d have to learn to drive like a maniac, though, and would probably fail your bad driving test.

  14. Hello Granny, I’ve missed your posts and was getting a bit concerned about you. Glad that you’re OK but sad to hear the other news. We have a black Southeaster with rain going on in Cape Town now – pretty miserable outdoors!

  15. So, the jeans fit. Great news. I’ve been going to and loving aquafit and have also been slowly shedding the extras. The slower the better!

    I’ve been really bad about getting around the blogosphere, but I figure it’s part of the stages. When life demands our energy, we make changes. I’m really glad to know that I can still find you here, Gran!

    Did you read…one of our major newspapers has asked me to write on its Financial Section Blog? I signed a contract with a three month trial period. It may be far more boring than I want.

  16. Great to hear from you Granny! It’s good to see that no matter what challenges you’re facing, you still have your wonderful sense of humor. 😀 And congrats with the progress you’ve made on your diet!

  17. Good to have you back. Hope things improve for you quickly. Also hope the weather improves soon, as I’ll be in EL in December!!!

  18. […] Source: Granny1947 sent me this joke in an e-mail this morning.  I had to share.  Want to eliminate the middle man? Talk to Granny.   […]

  19. Well done with the diet. I like rain but when it continues for longer than 3 days I get depressed.

    • Hi Gobetween…maybe that is why I have been down….it has been endlessly grey here.

  20. Sorry to read about your uncle… Sending virtual hugs and prayers your way.

    • Thank you so much 737…he is still in hospital.

      • Sending more healing light and hugs to him and your whole family… Blessings to you!

  21. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  22. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  23. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  24. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  25. […] A few weeks ago, Granny sent me an e-mail filled with engineering jokes.  Thanks,  Granny!  […]

  26. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  27. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  28. […] Inspiration:  jokes from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  29. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  30. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  31. […] Inspiration: video clip from Granny1947. […]

  32. […] Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]

  33. […] Inspiration:  One Word Riddle (e-mail from Granny1947) […]

  34. Congrats on your weight loss, granny. Your weather does sound quite dire. Hope Spring springs soon for you. So sorry about your stepdad’s brother. 😦 I’ve never been to a school reunion, and I’m not about to start now. It would be too scary! 🙂 Hugs

    • Good heavens AD…how far back is the post you have just read. 🙂

      • I didn’t look at the date. It just suddenly appeared, so I read it and commented. I see now that I commented at the time too. 😆

      • It’s called old age AD!!!!

      • 🙂

  35. […] Source: e-mail from unknown author (sent by Granny1947) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

