Posted by: granny1947 | August 9, 2012

Granny is lonely

It is one o’clock in the morning and I am wide awake.
There are a couple of reasons for this.
I have bronchitis.
I have been coughing up a storm.
But I won’t go into details!

On the way home from work I stopped at the chemist and bought some medicine.
It knocked me out.
I slept all afternoon.
And through most of the Olympics this evening.
I am all slept out.
So here I am am…sitting at my computer….typing by the light of the monitor…and freezing.
And I am trying not to sneeze.
I sneeze very loudly.
I do it with gusto.
Jasmine falls off her bed and Mex wakes up.
Mex holds his sneezes in.
I have warned him.
One day his head will explode.

I wanted to play scrabble.
But for some unknown reason everyone seems to be asleep.
I am bored with Rummikub.
Oh ok…I am losing.
I don’t want to turn on the light to read.
Mex is a very light sleeper.
The noise of my keyboard has probably woken him up.
Do you know you can’t type quietly?

So…what shall I do?
Try to get some more sleep.
That would probably be the most sensible thing to do.
However, I am not known for being sensible.
I know, I shall go and read some blogs.
I am just waffling here anyway!

Hey…I put a picture on this post…it has vanished…grrrrrrrrrr

Responses

  1. Sympathy. Being sick is horrid. What to do? Sleep is best, but just how to get there?

    • Hi Sidey…when I climbed back into bed I went straight off…should have tried that first!

      • maybe you needed to get that post off before you could sleep?

  2. Oh granny sorry to hear you’re still under the weather…..feel better soon!!!

    • Thanks Nancy….am almost ready to snooze again and it is 8:30AM!!!

  3. Oh no that is such an aggravating situation. Been there many times. And usually you can’t read because you will fall asleep or the light will disturb someone. Hope you feel better today. I have a friend who scares everyone in the store when she sneezes!

    • I love sneezing but not as often as I am doing it now…means frequent trips to the loo!

  4. Once upon a time, long, long ago, deep in the forest …

    • zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 🙂

  5. Ugh – sick AND sleepless? What a frustrating combination! I feel for you, Granny. At times like that, I’m so happy to have the internet – the place that’s ALWAYS awake with you! 🙂

    • Hi RD…at one this morning it felt as if EVERYONE was asleep!

  6. Feel better soon, Granny. Sneezing and Freezing in the middle of the night is no fun for anyone.

    • It has it’s upside…metime!

  7. Almost the same here and this is the most horrible respiratory ailment I have ever had in my life.

    • Me too Newsey…lungs playing a whole orchestra here.

  8. Poor Granny..nothing is worse when you cannot sleep and everyone else is asleep..the nights seem so much longer. Maybe you should have woken up earlier but then if you are feeling poorly sleep is the best

    Get well soon dearest lady xxxxxx

    • Thanks Patrecia…one more day of sleep and I will be fine.

  9. you’re so right, that photo has gone! Hope you don’t spend all day falling asleep due to last night!

    • I probably will Ruth but that is ok…cold here today.

  10. Oh dear, poor Granny. I hope you feel better soon.

  11. You and Roly sound in the same boat, granny. Do get better soon. Sending you hugs. xx

  12. You’re probably sick because you’ve been under so much stress lately. Feel better soon.

  13. I hope you recover soon. I usually do that too, take meds when I am ill, sleep like a log for 3 hours, then wide awake for a couple hours. Sit freezing at the computer, go back to bed at 4:30. By 5:30 I am comfy and ready to snooze but by that time I usually have to get up to get ready for work 😦

  14. hope you find relief from the bronchitis soon and get back to a steady pattern of sleep.

    • Thanks Mar….did feel better then I had a nap…..now I feel bad again…might be still half asleep.

  15. Hope you feel better soon granny.

    • A leeeeeeeetle bit better today, thanks Barb.

  16. Oh dear! I hope you are soon feeling much better, granny. Somehow, being awake in the night makes it all much worse, doesn´t it?

    ((((((healing vibes)))))))))

    • Thanks Marianne…healing vibes are always great.

  17. Hello Greetings from Canada…
    just getting back to your BLOG. I wrote you ages ago letting you know your BLOG made me feel closer to my dad, as he and his wife lived in Cape Town, (previously johannesburg) we were to visit in October for 3 weeks, but sadly he passed away June 13th, just days after we wishes him happy birthday. My heart is sad, but your blog will heal me some, keep up the good work!!p.s. your notes re wrong parking garage is too funny, sometimes acting crazy works!! we shoulnd’t have to but some folks have no common sense!!

    • Oh Susanne I am SO sorry.
      And you were looking forward to coming out to visit him.
      How very sad for you.
      A big Granny hug coming your way.

  18. Get well soon , dear.

  19. Erg…I had the same thing happen. I awakened at 2:00 a.m. after helping two very hot days at a Farm Festival. My body wanted to heave, but I insisted it’s simply too scary being alone in that condition. So I played Sudoku with a tossing tummy and played in/out with Duc le Chat.

    Finally, I slept, but was a zombie the whole next day. Everything I touched I dropped, broke, spilled or burned. Good think my sense of humour was well-honed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

