Posted by: granny1947 | July 17, 2012

Granny and it’s Tuesday

Hello All.

Just a quick post.
I had a rotten night last night.
Kept waking up with cramp in my instep.
And it was too darn cold to get out of bed to do anything about it.
So tonight an early night is called for.

Today we saw the sun.
And blue sky.
What a treat.

Oh yes, last night we met friends for supper.
One of my dear friends was on her way back to Cape Town.
Lucky cow.
The supper was great.
The company even better.
And we got back quite late.
And the old folk were babysitting Jasmine.
I felt quite guilty.
I made up for it tonight by making a huge stew with dumplings.
They should sleep well.

Wendy has pneumonia.
They are treating her with antibiotics.
M. says she is too weak to move to hospice.
I don’t think she will make the month they forecast.
I want her to go now.
Is that terrible of me?
I just want her to be at peace and pain free.

Now a nice hot shower is calling.

Chat to you tomorrow.

Responses

  1. Poor Wendy. I don’t think it’s wrong to hope her suffering doesn’t last long.
    Leg cramps are the pits!
    We’ve had such strong wind blowing the last few days and only a bit of rain.

    • Think our bad weather has just reached you!
      You need not thank me.

  2. I am happy that you had a pleasant evening.

    My prayers are with you and with Wendy and her family….

    No it is ok to feel as you do. Wendy is your best friend and you do not want her to suffer anymore than she has too. Your wishes are made in love

    • Absolutely P….I love her dearly.

  3. No, that isn’t terrible of you at all, you’re a very compassionate person. None of us want to see our loved ones suffer, and if there’s absolutely no hope of recovery, then we just want to see the suffering end. That’s what I’d want for myself as well. I’m just sorry she can’t be moved back home as she wanted, or at the very least to hospice. My prayers are still with you all. Love and hugs to you Granny.

    • Thanks RD…just can’t imagine how bad she must be if they can’t move her.

  4. Hugs.

  5. No it’s not terrible of you to want your friend to be out of sickness and pain. I’m so sorry, granny. Hugs xx

    • Thanks AD…just wish it was over…for everyone.

  6. Sleep well!!!!

  7. I feel the same way about my mother back in the UK, as you do about Wendy, granny.
    My mum is 92 and has been in a Nursing Home since her first stroke 8 years ago; she had another one a few months ago and now cannot speak, walk or even turn over in bed. Her swallow reflex has gone so all her food is mashed to a pulp so she can get it down. I wish she would just let go, and I don’t feel bad for feeling that way; my brothers feel the same. She has no pain, unlike Wendy.
    My prayers are with you and Wendy’s family, always

    • Oh Barb…that is awful for you…you must feel so helpless being so far away.

      • I really feel for my brothers having to see her like that, as she is not the mother we knew and they are finding it hard; at least I can remember her as she was when I visited her last year. I’m so thankful I went.

  8. When someone won’t get better and there is so little quality of life left for them, then it is kindest to pray that they be released. My sympathy to her and to you, she means a lot to you.Hugs my friend.

    • She really means a lot….I so badly need to talk to her right now…and I can’t…pity party.

      • sympathy, i think she knows how much you love her. it is surely a great comfort to her

  9. you are a good friend Granny 🙂

  10. I hope Wendy is as comfortable as she possibly can be and that if she can’t move to a hospice, at least the place where she is will consult the hospice for advice on achieving a pain free few days with the right medications

    • Thanks Pseu…she is in hospital but must be very weak.

  11. I don’t think you’re terrible for not wanting Wendy to suffer. If that’s terrible, then I right there with you.

    • Thanks Maire…I appreciate the support.

  12. That’s called compassion, Granny. If you said that about me, I’d know you loved me. The fact that you have the courage to speak up validates your love for her.

    • And now that it has happened I am devastated.

      • I am so, so sorry. I’m holding you in a hug.

      • Thank you Amy….I can feel it from here…much stronger today.

  13. You love her; of course you want her suffering to end in the only way it can.

  14. All our crazy ethics won’t allow us to do what we would for a beloved pet. I would much prefer to be put down than to linger on to the misery of myself and my loved ones.

    • A touchy subject Col…but I agree with you!

  15. When my very close friend was nearing the end of her life, and suffering as is Wendy, I just wanted it to end for her. My thoughts are with you as you go through this terrible time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

