Posted by: granny1947 | July 14, 2012

Granny and winter is here.

Hello All.

When we first moved down here it rained.
Just a few drops.
And I thought it can’t even rain in this damn place.
And the weather Gods heard me.
And smirked.

It feels as if it has been raining for two solid months.
It is pouring as I speak.
Or type.
And I want to tell the world that a converted garage is cold.
Very, very cold.
I do not recommend it.

It is probably not cold to you guys in Canada and America and Bulgaria etc.
However, this is Africa.
We are not geared up for cold weather.
Our houses are designed to keep you cool in summer.

I haven’t been into the main house today.
They have a bad leak in the kitchen.
They might want to borrow my water wings.
I will venture in to cook supper for them.
Hope the ceiling doesn’t come down on my head.
It looks a bit dicey.
They are waiting for a builder to come and give them a quote for repairs.
But he can’t come in the rain.
Big wimp.

I put Jasmine’s blanket on top of the heater.
When I took it off to cover her it felt so good.
I was tempted to join her.
Mex was unimpressed at me covering her.
Says she has a fur coat.
And should sleep outside.
I just ignored him.
Doesn’t she look cosy?
If Mex was away I would be letting her sleep on the bed with me.

By the way…I don’t usually have my drawers standing open.
I took my camera out of the drawer.
Thought I would just clear that point up.

Now I am going to crawl under the duvet.
And shiver a bit.

Responses

  1. Jasmine looks cozy. It’s never too cold here in San Antonio but when it rains in the winter there is certainly a chill. I know what you mean.

    • This is not a chill Maire…this is freezing.

  2. It’s brass monkey weather here as well, stay warm.

    • It is bucketing down here Sue…probably reach you tomorrow!

  3. seems to me that the weather patterns throughout the world are all upside down this year….I feel so sorry for you Granny, it is terrible when you are really cold and the cold gets into your bones…Poor Jasmine is used to normal warm winters …and to be honest I don’t think that you are at all happy where you are. It seemed like a good idea at the time but now I wonder if there was an alternative.

    shall I send you a hot water bottle? Enough love to keep you warm!

    • Awwwww Patrecia…the love will have to do.
      Yes, I think moving here was a huge mistake.
      Will just have to make the best of it.

  4. Jasmine looks so cosy under that blanket. I really feel for you in that cold winter weather, so I won’t tell you that I’ve been at the beach in sandals and short sleeves. πŸ˜‰

    • No AD…please don’t tell me!!!

      • Wouldn’t dream of it. πŸ˜‰

      • Don’t forget now!

  5. Had a strange experience in Cape Town today – we saw the sun!!

    • I am beginning to think we will never see the sun again.
      Pouring here.

  6. Awwww, Jasmine looks super cosy.
    The cold front you’re having never seems to reach Durban.
    I think Pink Aerolite is needed on your ceiling, it might just help a bit.

    • Hi Pussycat…this is a massive coldfront…it is belting down.
      zyes, we will have to do something when all this rain is over.
      Wonder what it costs?

  7. Please move that heater,it’s way to close to the cupboard!Keep warm xxx

    • Hehe Adair…I like warm drawers.

  8. What a blessed pooch Jasmine is! It’s a cold as a bast*rd in CT Muizenberg
    😦

    • I didn’t know PE could get this cold or wet.

      • I think this is a slightly weirder winter than usual – CT’s had icy clear days like Jo’burg. Keeping track of your adventures – good & not so good x

  9. We’re actually having some summer weather – first time! Other parts of Canada are roasting and we were experiencing cold fronts until now. It is lop-sided. Usually we’re the smug ones gloating over warm breezes and good balance of moisture.

    • Right now it is pelting down and the sky is black.
      Reports of flooding here and the national road between Cape Town and Johannesburg was closed because of snow!!

  10. awww, Jasmine looks so sweet in her bed. MEx must go and sleep outside, not Jasmine

    • If you don’t mind Sidey…I am not going to tell Mex you said that!!!

      • hehehe I will

      • Bet you wouldn’t

  11. Jasmine looks very comfortable and cozy with the blanket over her – you should get down there with her and keep each other warm, granny!
    Wish I could send you some sun, but it’s our winter here in Oz – wet and cold. – but probably not as cold as your are experiencing! Get under the duvet and stay there . . .

    • Hi Barb…I was very tempted to do just that!

  12. I am honored to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Please pick-up your award at http://sharechair.wordpress.com/. Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I am very aware that some people do not wish to participate in Awards, and I completely respect that… no strings! But in any case, Congratulations, you have a Lovely Blog πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much Sharechair…loved your blog too.

  13. Oh that is soooooo sweet, you are a good doggie momma. One could only wish that for every dog in the world. Hot as you know what here. Last winter was very mild so next winter will probably be a nightmare.

    • Hi Linda…must say I prefer to be cold…think we might just suffer come summer.

  14. The weather seems to be topsy-turvy all over the world, this year. In the UK the summer hasn’t really started. All our 2012 celebrations – Jubilee, music festivals, street parties and Olympic Torch Relay have been blighted by lashing rain and strong, bitter winds. We turn our central heating on in the evenings and snuggle under a fleece blanket. The cat won’t even go out! So I understand how you feel ~ and trust that you settle and feel warmer about your new surroundings, soon, Granny!

    • Thanks Wightrabbit…maybe when this damn weather clears I will feel a bit better aboout being here!!

  15. Aw, Granny, I feel your pain. It wasn’t all that long ago that we, here in Alberta, were freezing our hinies off, too. Just keep telling yourself that Spring is just around the corner. We’ve been suffering through a heat wave for the past week, but I refuse to complain. Please see the following to exemplify my feelings on that:

    Jasmine looks sweet laying there all covered up — you’re a good dog owner!

    • Hi There Kathy…my new mantra…spring is around the corner….oh hell..can’t hear myself over the rain.

  16. the doggie does look cosy. You need to learn to crop photos, that way you can cut out things like open draws!

    • Hi Piglet…I DID close the drawer….right after I took the pic!

  17. Oh I am sorry that you are regretting the move. Perhaps it is all too much, with Wendy (?) being so ill, the rain and living in a converted garage. It’s been raining here on and off for a few days and it’s cold. Not as cold as Montreal or Glasgow where I have lived, but cold. Can I send you a dog type electric blanket for Jasmine?

    • Bugger the dog Judith…I need an electric blanket…Mex won’t hear of it. πŸ™‚

  18. We need rain and we’re having another brutal heat wave this week with high humidity – there must be a happy medium somewhere! Jasmine looks soooo cozy – lucky girl!

  19. I can so relate to your feeling of cold and fed up ness Granny! But Jasmine looks so snuggly, I think you should join her next time πŸ™‚

  20. If its any consolation at all Granny Cape Town has been very cold too. We adopted a rescue puppy from Darg at the weekend and he has been snuggling under my cross-over fleece dressing gown quite content next to my chest. Now he has taken over Ozzy’s mattress under my desk next to the heater – poor Ozzy is such a gentleman he does not know what to make of that move! Jasmine deserves all the comfort you can give her, I know she gives you so much love, comfort and affection.

  21. Reblogged this on Katie Gonzalez Summary.

    • Hi Katie…thank you for the visit…why did you reblog that particular post?


Leave a Reply

Categories

