Posted by: granny1947 | July 12, 2012

Granny is down.

Hello All.

Just a short post to explain why I haven’t been blogging.
I find it very hard to blog when I am unhappy.
And I am very unhappy.

Wendy is in hospital in Pretoria.
I don’t know if she will make it back home.
She is very weak.
And in a great deal of pain.
They have given her a month.
At the most.

I can handle the fact that she is leaving.
Well, sort of.
But the fact that she is suffering is driving me to distraction.
I find myself thinking of her all day long.
And I feel so bloody helpless.
Why, why, why does this have to happen to someone so special?

So my friends….please forgive me for not being around.
I really need your positive vibes right now.

Responses

  1. Can’t like because of the message, but can say power to you to ride the wave because “que sera, sera”. Nothing we can do about it. We can however face the inevitable bravely by recalling the happy memories. May the force be with you and strengthen you in this trying time.

    • Thank you so much Newsey.

  2. This happened to us when our daughter died after years of illness, although she was not in pain.

    We spent years in hospital with her, and thats really all you can do, be there for them, right up to the final moment.

    Just be brave and strong, take care.

    • Oh Dear Harry…I didn’t know you had lost a child…how sad.

      • Yes granny, we all have secrets on the web 🙂

        She died at the age of 22 with Cystic fibrosis, a killer.

      • Oh God Harry….you have just put my pain into perspective…it can be nothing like what you went through.

  3. Sending you all the good vibes and hugs I have. Sympathy to you and Wendy. She doesn’t deserve all of this.

    • No Sidey…she really doesn’t.

  4. So sorry to hear that, although from what has gone before it was, I suppose, inevitable. Nevertheless, very hard to take. Intellect tells you that you should have been prepared for it; emotion overrules.

    • Hi Col…yes…if one could only take the emotion out of the equation.

  5. It’s sad to know someone you love is in such great pain. In our family we burn a candle for someone who is ill and will be our thoughts all day.
    Just hope her passing will be easy and gentle.
    Lots of hugs and xxxxx.

    • A candle is a great idea Pussycat…that is what I shall do tomorrow.

  6. Oh my dear friend, once again I can’t say how sorry I am that this awful thing is happening to you, Wendy, and her partner. I completely understand how you feel and wish I could unburden you somehow. My prayers are with you all. These things are never fair. Know that I’m always here for you – at a distance, but *here* nonetheless. Many blessings to all of you.

    • Thank you so much TD…that means the world to me.

  7. I’m so sad for you, granny. It must be awful to be so far away when you feel she needs you. Sending you lots of positive thoughts and hugs.

    • Thanks AD…I asked if I should fly up tomorrow but M. said she won’t even know I am there.

  8. I am so very sorry.

    • Thanks Sue…I know you have been here.

  9. Sending good vibes your way.

    • Thanks Elaine…so good of you.

  10. some of my best work comes from my worst places-its a release, a way to “scream, vent”…you will get it done when it feels right-you are an inspired writer…beebeesworld

    • Hi Beebee….that is about all of a vent I am going to do…I think…watch this space.

  11. So sorry … sending you many good thoughts … Love, cat

    • Thank you Cat…lots of love to you too.

  12. Sending good vibes across the ocean – I hope they reach you and help you through this sad time.

    • Thanks Lin…you have no idea how much that helps.

  13. I hope Wendy will have peace and rest for the rest of her days. Much love to you and her. Hugs.

    • Thanks Linda…from what I hear it is not happening…makes me so mad…why can’t they just make her sleep?

  14. Granny, if it’s any comfort, the medical profession today is geared towards making certain the person is as pain free as possible. The goal is to help them be comfortable when there’s nothing more that can be done towards stopping the disease.

    What you have already done for Wendy is remarkable, Granny. She would have no doubt about your love. Your steady calm is a great gift – whether from a distance or by her side.

    • Thanks Amy…I spoke to her partner just now…she is in terrible pain…I just don’t understand it…want to fly up and scream at the doctors.

      • What…??? I don’t blame you for being furious. Can the hubs ask them to just make her comfortable?

      • I can’t believe it either Souldipper…I thought that nowadays they could control the pain.

      • In Hospice training, we were told by the Doctor who heads Palliative Care, “There is no need for any to be in pain during the last stages of life.”

        Are they concerned that she’ll live a few days less?

      • That is exactlt what I thought Souldipper…they have great drugs.
        I will know more on Monday.

  15. hang in there Granny 🙂

    • Hanging in Ruth, hanging in.

  16. Love you lots and thinking of you and Wendy.
    Monica

    • Thank you so much my friend…I miss you and love you too.

  17. So sad for you and Wendy Granny, I pray the suffering will not last too long. Lots of ((Hugs))

    • Me too Optie…now I am praying for her to slip away.

  18. Sad place to be. Remember that there are lots of more important things than blogs. 🙂

    • Yes I know Roly…blogging has been low on my list.

      • Stay strong and keep well

      • Thanks Roly.

  19. Kathy, I am so very sorry that Wendy is so sick and not doing well. I pray for her every morning. I have no answers for you. It doesn’t seem fair or right that good people should suffer so. Just know that you are in my prayers too because i know that you are suffering too.

    • Thank you Maire…I can feel the strength coming in waves.

  20. There are no words to convey my feelings, The Big C takes even those close to us, it is not picky in the slightest…just know that I am praying for you and for Wendy..Have no fear the Lord will take great care of her when the time comes.

    my love

    • Thanks so much Patrecia…it means a lot.

  21. Dear Granny, so sad for you and Wendy.

  22. Thought of love and support from this side of the world for Wendy and for you. What else is there to say?

    • Nothing Judith but thank you for caring.

  23. So sorry to hear this granny, it must be hell for you and the family to see it happening to someone who is loved so much. I hope Wendy’s suffering doesn’t drag on and that she slips away peacefully.
    Many prayers are being said for you and the family, and mine is right in there too. My heart goes out to you from across the miles.

    • Thank you Barb…it means a great deal to me.

  24. You’re in our thoughts, sending you hugs and prayers.

  25. So sorry to hear this. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    • Thanks so much Yearstricken.


Leave a Reply

Categories

