Posted by: granny1947 | June 27, 2012

Granny thinks back….part seven

Hello All.

I will give the memories a break after this.
For a little while.

And we moved again.
Still in the same general area.
A small farm in a valley.
Where three steep gravel roads converged right outside our house.
I was driving down one of those hills one day when something passed me.
It took me a moment to click.
It was one of my wheels.
Still wonder if Hub one was trying to get rid of me.
I don’t think so….I had no insurance.

It had a small shop.
My introduction to shopkeeping.
A very gentle introduction.
It wasn’t a busy shop.
Customers came from the surrounding farms.
If someone wanted to buy something they would give a yell and I would open up for them.

It was a pretty place.
With a river down below the house.
I enjoyed it.
Except for the snakes, wild cats and Legavaans.

I ,also, became a killer.
There was a wild cat on the place that was killing our chickens.
Hubby one had tried to shoot it on numerous occassions.
One day, while he was fetching the kids from school, one of our workers ran in and said the cat was outside.
I grabbed the gun and ran outside.
I knew NOTHING about guns or shooting.
John said the cat was in some nearby bushes.
I told him to go around the side and to flush it out.
He did and it took off.
I shot it from a hundred yards running away from me.
A complete and utter fluke.
When hubs came back John called him and said the cat was there.
He grabbed the gun and ran to the back of the shop.
He asked John where the cat was.
John pointed to right near his feet and said “there… mam shot it”
I discovered that Hubby was quite a bad sport.
I also shot a legavaan that was taller than I was.
Just call me Annie Oakley.
I discovered I did not like killing things and have never picked up a gun again.

We acquired two kid goats.
Jack and Jill.
They used to come into the shop and steal sweets.
Ever had a goat stand on your foot?
It hurts like hell.

Our next move nearly killed me.
More next time.

Responses

  1. I used to shoot pigeons with a .22 quite successfully, but when I used a shotgun to get bigger birds I fell flat on my back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. It is good to look back on your life. You can see the humour in things that once were serious and now make you laugh…. carry on Granny

  3. Please don’t stop the stories, I’m enjoying them.

    • Thanks Sue…I am having fun with them.

  4. I’m LOVING these stories – don’t take a break now, you’ve left us with a cliffhanger!! :<O

    Annie….er, I mean GRANNY….I don't think that shot at the wildcat was a fluke, I think you're a natural-born sniper. Just another of your many hidden talents! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Are Legavaans dangerous? Poisonous? Do they bite? I've never heard of them.

    I'm really loving these stories! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • We will never know if I am a natural RD….really don’t like killing things.

    • We will never know if I am a natural RD….really don’t like killing things.
      I think they can give you a nasty bite.

  5. LOL, you would show up a man who thought he was a good shot! LOVE IT!

    • I must admit…it made my day!

      • Hehehe, it would have made mine too

      • lol…we are very alike!

  6. Oh you must not stop the stories! Girl you should be writing a book. At least we know you can shoot in self defense. That’s always a good thing.

    • it would help if I had a gun!!!!!

  7. maybe you should offer your services as a crack-shot bodyguard! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hmmmmmmmmmm….do you know of any vacancies…I don’t need a gun…the granny look would do the trick!

  8. You have lived in scary places.

    • Hi Maire…I was too young and stupid to think of that!

  9. Please keep the stories going Granny, they are so entertaining. It’s probably a good thing you no longer have a gun ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I think it is an excellent thing Optie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

