Posted by: granny1947 | June 17, 2012

Granny makes it back

Hello All.

I am safely home.
It took me four hours going there and another four to come back.
For more than half the way they have dropped the speed limit to 100 kms per hour.
And sometimes, for no good reason, they drop it to 8okms.
I think this is to keep you on your toes.
Or for small town cops to make some money trapping you.
What else do they have to do?

On the way up I noticed a sign saying “watch out for animals”
I wondered , idly, what sort of animals.
Elephants or lion?
For some of my overseas friends.
Contrary to popular belief we don’t have wild animals wandering around.
Not in this part of the country anyway.

On the way back I found out the reason for the sign.
I rounded a bend.
Fortunately, quite sedately.
There, in the middle of the road, was a cow.
There was a group of men sitting nearby, chatting.
Probably taking bets to see how many accidents they could cause.
It beggars belief.

Oh yes, the photo above is part of Wendy’s garden.
As you can see from the plants it is sort of sub-tropical.
Much warmer up there.
I met a friend for a late breakfast before coming home.
We sat toasting in the sun.
60kms from home it clouded over and started raining,
It is now darn cold.
My internal thermostat is very confused.

It was an uncomfortable trip back.
I had a Mango juice and a cup of coffee with my friend.
Twenty minutes from East London they wanted to leave the building.
I thought I would hang on until Port Alfred where I need to fill up the car.
I pulled into a service station and asked if there was a loo.
They said Yes but I would have to pay.
God I can be a scrooge.
I thought I would pull into another station on the other side of town.
However, it was packed.
So, I decided to wait for the next little town about 60kms away.
I had hardly hit the road when I came up behind TWO large carriers with new cars on them.
TWo of them.
This made passing them almost impossible along that stretch of road.
There were about thirty of us behind them.
And I was becoming very uncomfortable.

We got to the next town.
A dump called Alexandria.
No…not in Egypt.
Or wherever the other Alexandria is.
AND THE TWO TRUCKS PULLED OFF THE ROAD TO LET ALL THE CARS GO PAST.
Which meant I couldn’t go to the loo.
Or I would be behind them again.
Decisions, decisions.
I decided to head for home.
And pinch.

Now I am off to have a shower.
Hopefully, a nice hot one.
You never know with this damn shower of ours.
Then I need some sleep.
While Mex watches his rugby.

Responses

  1. I would have paid for the loo!
    Glad you’re home safe and sound πŸ™‚

    • The place looked a bit dicey Pussycat.

  2. Glad you are safely home again

  3. Glad to see you are home and safe

    • Hi Sidey…don’t know what is happening…you and Judith ended in my spam and I had to approve you again!

  4. It’s not good for your bladder you know, to stretch it so….. πŸ™‚

    • I know Pseu…I am a silly Granny!

  5. Oh now that is a nice backyard! I do almost anything not to use a public restroom. But the older I get the harder it gets, good thing I don’t usually go too far.

    • Me too Linda….avoid them if I can.

  6. Wendy’s garden looks like a little oasis!

    I howled over you having to watch for a cow in South Africa. That is a riot. In Canada, we put a silhouette of the animal on the sign so we know what may dash out in front of our vehicle. But, no, we don’t do silhouettes of cows! πŸ˜€

    Granny, in the far North, one of the first lessons I learned about long car trips…never drive with a full bladder. If you are in an accident, it will burst and it cannot be replaced. I wonder if that was ever the truth! πŸ™‚

    • What is amazing is that, in rural aras, cows are a symbol of wealth…then they let them roam on highways!

      • ah ha! I hadn’t even thought of that. So if you hit a cow, would you end up paying dearly?

        We still places considered “free range” for farm animals, as well, but in places of very little traffic. When I was in Ireland, I had to really cool my jets…slow, plodding livestock and farmers use the roads regularly. There’s no other route for transferring the little beggers.

        How’s our Wendy?

  7. Lesson learned here – it makes sense to pay for the loo.

  8. I only have to think about a long drive or leaving the house and the loo calls me! glad you got back safely πŸ™‚

  9. my daughter went up to London to see the Trooping of the Colour and she needed the loo…50p they wanted to charge…50p for a little pee! she said she would wait till she got home..just like you xxxxx

    • What can I say…it is in the genes.

  10. we lived just up the ropad frfom alex. used to listren to the ak47s lulling us to sleep.

    • Ahhhh…that was the Alex near Jhbg! This is another one.

  11. The loos in service stations are not always the cleanest – glad you made it home safe (and dry!!) πŸ˜‰

    • Did I say I made it home dry????

      • πŸ˜‰

  12. Push for home always. You could always duck behind a bush if it was that urgent. πŸ™‚

    • And every bush looked so inviting.

  13. Doesn’t sound like a nice trip. I’m guessing it was the cow that was the animal you were supposed to be watching out for. And all that work finding a loo. You did have an adventure, dear.

    • Not really Maire…really stupid on my part.

  14. OMG what a horrible feeling! I’d have paid for the loo…although I’ve never heard of anyone charging for that! Wendy’s yard looks so serene. I’m so glad you’re back home safely. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks RD…I so badly wanted to stay!

  15. I can also be a scrooge, but not about the loo….when I have to go, I have to go, end of!

  16. You had me wincing and pinching πŸ˜‰

    • You know then Gobetween!


Leave a Reply

Categories

