Posted by: granny1947 | June 12, 2012

Granny should know better

Hello All.

No…I am not back in Cape Town.
But I AM a little homesick.

Why should I have known better?
Let me tell you.
I was in desperate need of a haircut today.
Mex and my brother had both been to a hairdresser in the centre nearby.
They said I should try them.
And they have pensioner’s rates.
And a family card.
So, I went to have a look.

The writing was on the wall.
I ignored all the signs.
I found the place and saw it said “Barber”.
This was sign number one.
I looked around but couldn’t see another hairdressing salon.
I peeped in….there were NO customers.
Sign number two.
I asked the woman at the desk if theyΒ cut women’s hair.
Oh yes.

I asked her how long it would take(so I could tell Mex)
She said ten minutes.
Definite warning number three.
She pointed me to a chair.
And then put the sheet thingy round me.
No washing of hair then.
Warning number four.
I glanced around.
No basins.

She lifted a chunk of my hair from the top of my head and cut three quarters of it off.
And I thought “Oh crap”!
I went quiet.
VERY quiet.
My mind was racing.
The same sentence over and over again.
It will grow again.
It will grow again.
Where can I buy a Burka?
The only thing the place lacked was a red and white pole outside.

Mex says it is the best haircut I have ever had.
Well, he would, wouldn’t he?
He recommended the place.
He isn’t stupid.

Responses

  1. Bwhahahaha!

    • You liked it then Sue?????

  2. Not doggone but hairgone! Even at our age it will grow again.

  3. Mex telling you it’s the best haircut you’ve ever had was probably the smartest thing he could say. You’ll probably have to kill him anyway.

    • I am plotting as we speak…don’t tell anyone…am loving your book.

  4. its winter, you need a few hats

    • Hi Sidey…and I am going to be digging them out!

  5. Hi, baldy!
    Hey, has it occurred to you that it may actually look good?

    • Of course it looks good…this is me you are talking about!!!!

  6. Time for a multicoloured beanie! One in Rasta colours will do πŸ˜‰

    • Hehehe Pussycat….now where do I find a joint???

  7. You’re lucky it’s winter – you can always cover it with a hat. I hate getting a bad haircut, I hang on to good stylists with an iron grip! Bad cuts always make me feel uncomfortable until it grows back….and it WILL.

    • Hang onto that thought RD…while I hang onto my hat!

  8. Oh well, you’ll know next time not to take his advice! πŸ™‚

  9. Hi, Granny 47 … haven’t forgotten you … Love, cat.

  10. Larger silver earrings, a little more makeup, a hat now and then, a scarf now and then, everything will be fine. πŸ™‚ Less time to get ready in the morning. πŸ™‚

  11. Just keep telling yourself, “It will grow back. It will grow back.” That’s the good thing about hair. It always does.

  12. Why do we ignore the obvious signs? I used to do that at eating places and I learned the hard way – now I walk past to find another one with customers! Same with hairdressers granny; It will grow back – slowly!
    Mex is in for it now!

    • Hi Barb…I was having a senior moment…would rather change doctors than hairdressers!

  13. Nothing worse than a bad haircut….I have cried before. Seriously. I say Mex needs a wee smack, just for fun, once a day til it grows back. Or he should at least tell you every. single. day. twice. how beautiful you are πŸ™‚ I miss you Granny…take care and keep on smiling!!

    • Great to see you Princess…hope you are still smiling from ear to ear?

  14. Talk about being FLUNG out of the box! Give us a shot, Granny! Bet you are gorgeous anyway.

    • Gorgeous and Granny in the same sentence….I don’t think so!

  15. I want to see it…please

  16. come on post a piccie!

    • Maybe Ruth….maybe not. πŸ™‚

  17. Let’s see!

    • Your wish is my command.

  18. Hey Bles nice to see you let him live. Bald is beautiful too πŸ™‚

    • No Roly…they didn’t shave me…not quite.

  19. I had a Greek hairdresser who cut my hair dry and it was the best haircut I ever had, unfortunately she stood in for my regular who was off for a month and I never saw her again 😦

    • My hair only looks good when I wash it.
      Guess who is washing her hair nearly every day?

      • πŸ˜†


Leave a Reply

Categories

