Posted by: granny1947 | June 10, 2012

Granny tries retail therapy

Hello All.

Another cold an windy day.
Yesterday, we had an incredible amount of rain.
The only time I left our place was to go in and cook supper.
It rained the WHOLE day.
And the heater went the whole day.
We are going to get a horrendous power bill.
I don’t care.

Mex has a cold.
Sympathy is welcomed.
For me.
The upside was it gave us an excuse to eat in our little place.

I have just put a cd onto my computer.
Susan Boyle.
Nice.
There is one problem I have.
When I put the earphones AND my glasses on together….they fight.
I end up with a painful ear.
Nice music.
Chatting to my friends.
Life is good.
Do I sound convincing?

So…the retail therapy?
Mex and I went grocery shopping.
He wanted to go to the hardware store so we arranged to meet in the supermarket.
On the way I popped into a clothing shop.
A really nice one.
A boutique.
With prices to match.
I spotted a jacket.
In a very soft sort of material.
In a pale grey/blue.
You can put it in the washing machine.
Essential for a slob like me.
I tried it on and loved it.
Long enough to hide a multitude of sins.
Told the woman I would take it.
Then I spotted a black one.
In something called peach fabric.
Also gorgeous.
I took a deep breath.
And took both.
So far I haven’t had buyers remorse.
I had a chat to myself.
Convinced myself I need them for when my new business is up and running.
It is so long since I bought myself something really nice.
I feel good.
Am still hoping Mex will pay for one of them.
I will have to be very nice to him.
He DID want to buy me a jacket.
But I think he was looking at the ones in the supermarket.
Pfffffffffft.
My Dad always said “buy cheap and weep”.
He was also an alcoholic who died with nothing.
But let us not quibble.

I think I had better end before I bore you all to tears.

Mwah

Oh yes…what is with all the banana and nut muffins I keep getting in my scam….ten of them today!!!!

Responses

  1. enjoy the jackets

    • Thanks Sidey…think I will.

  2. Aaaaahhhhhh…..retail is the best therapy there is. And you are never boring. My sincere sympathy to you re mex’s cold. Hope you survive it.

    • Thanks Grandmalin…he is on the mend…thank God.

  3. Chin up china!

    • Hehehe Sue…you went into my spam with a nut and banana muffin!

  4. Something new,nice and naughty is just what you needed. Might we see a photo of them….Sorry about Mex’s cold…Has Tom returned yet? you did not say

    • No Patrecia…no sign of Tom…sigh

  5. There are lots of spam about lately πŸ™‚

    • Hi Harry…just don’t understand what they get out of it?

  6. We’ll all be putting on so much weight with all those banana nut muffins. I’ve had at least 20, and now I feel sick. πŸ˜‰ Jacket sounds really nice. Good luck with the new business. πŸ˜‰ xxx

    • Thanks AD…you are so lucky to be in the warm.

  7. One of my readers actually posted a Banana Nut Muffin recipe today – I think she’s hoping the nimnuts will disappear. Good luck!

    It’s grand to find a fit that puts some aspects of us in good question! Glad you indulged.

    What a grand gesture from Mex. Hope he likes the one he gifts to you! Achoo!

    • Well,Souldipper,Iposted them and got four more this morning!
      Mex hasn’t said a word.
      don’t think he is going to bite!

  8. You can buy fairly cheap plug in ear phones instead of the cover the whole ear ones. Works pretty well

  9. It’s good to spoil yourself from time to time with something that makes you feel good, enjoy wearing your new jackets. So sorry to hear that Tom is still missing. 😦

  10. You could never bore us!

    • Awww thanks Tilly…sometimes I bore me.

  11. I am not responsible for any banan and nut muffins (I hate banana bread and muffins) but I’m so glad you found nice jackets. Retail therapy can be oh so good for the soul!

    • I still haven’t had buyers remorse so I reckon I won’t now. πŸ™‚

  12. Tilly is right you could never bore us! You are too much fun. Buy cheap and weap, I love it. Keep warm in your beautiful new jackets and add some snazzy new rainboots!

    • BOOTS….yes….I need boots.

  13. Oh, don’t you just love it when you find that perfect piece of clothing that feels good, washes well, and looks beautiful on? It’s a rare find for me. I’m so happy you treated yourself to those jackets – you more than deserve them!

    • Hi RD…just hope it looks as good as it feels.


Leave a Reply

Categories

