Posted by: granny1947 | June 6, 2012

Granny goes to town

Hello All.

No…I don’t know why my “hello” is above the photo.
When I upload a photo I have to keep trying to type words…nothing happens.
Have no idea what is going on.
Come to think of it….there is a lot I don’t know lately.

Today Mex and I went to the centre of town.
Well, what used to be the centre of town.
You do NOT want to go there.
Seedy and scary.
Like most cities in South Africa, the shopping centres have moved to the suburbs.
We were driving along when suddenly we were in a line of stationery cars.
We were there for a while when I said to Mex “I don’t think there is anyone in the car in front of us”
He didn’t believe me.
I was right.
The traffic lane had suddenly turned into a parking lot.
Cars just stop anywhere.
And I never saw another white face.
We were glad to get out of there.
In one piece.
Well, I THINK I still have all my parts.
Besides my mind.
And I think I lost that the first week we arrived here.

I got to work with a minute to spare this morning.
There was quite a bit of traffic.
Make that a LOT of traffic.

I am not going to Wendy this weekend.
She and her partner are going upcountry so I shall go next week.
She needs me right now.
Things are not going well.

Tom has gone AWOL.
My folks are worried.
I’m not.
He knows he is onto a good thing here.
I am sure he will be back in the morning.
Yelling for food.
And making his prescence felt.

Now I am off for a nice hot shower.
Try to defrost.
Crikey it is cold here.

Mwah.

In case Older Eyes reads this…..Mwah is a big kiss!

Responses

  1. Geez Granny, I hope you’re able to find some better areas where you can relax and enjoy some time away from the house! There’s got to be something somewhere….doesn’t there? :<O

    Hope Tom finds his way home – he's probably looking for some new hangouts too! πŸ™‚

  2. Tom is doing what a Tomcat does best!
    City centres have lost their appeal everywhere. Durban is no great shakes, either.

  3. I try never to go into the centre of town here in Pmb, people and traffic are just too scary!

  4. The joys of new city centres. Alas, one needs to change the spelling by substituting the ‘c’ with ‘sh’ and adding an extra ‘t’!

  5. Dear me Granny! be careful! Such is the case with so many cities. Our small town has more than tripled in size in the last 20 years. I used feel completely safe walking around after dark on a nice summer evening. Not anymore. More people, more crime. Isn’t there an island we can send the bad eggs too?

  6. I remember when it was perfectly safe to have a leisurely wander around Hillbrow, Joubert Park and Jhbg CBD at any time of the day or night. It’s so sad that we no longer dare venture there. Hope that Tom has returned home safely. xxx

  7. The only time I venture into the Cape Town these days is to drop my daughter off, or dash to a nice eatery. And those trips are very rare these days. That said, when I have been through there are some really nice places popping up, lots of refurb and bringing life back into the old place. Maybe I need to give it another go πŸ™‚ have a great day Granny πŸ™‚

  8. At last i know..Mwah means ‘big kiss’ thank you for that! I have often wondered..
    It sounds like you are in a place that you do not want to be and it sounds rather scary….
    Poor Tom..I do hope that he is safe..when he disappeared before he was in familiar territory, now like you he is a stranger and I think that he is not happy either….. Do let us know immediately he returns…please! I am very worried about him
    Mwah!

  9. So, I must still be young. I know what mwah is. Take that! all you old toppies who don’t πŸ™‚

  10. Still praying for Wendy.

  11. My hometown use to be fairly nice (well in my opinion) now it looks like a poor derelict area.

    • The name of the game Gobetween!

  12. I like the photo – what a sense of space.

    • Yes Elaine…lovely beach…pity it isn’t safe.

  13. Oh Granny – adjusting can be such a drag. Hope Tom doesn’t stay away long…who would want the stuff his disappearance would bring?

    I’m still wrapping Wendy and you in golden blankets.

    • Hi Souldipper…you have just reminded me…I had better go into the house and see if he has returned.

  14. I had the same photo problem. Now I write my text and insert all the photos afterwards.

    • Thanks Tilly…I shall try that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

