Posted by: granny1947 | May 22, 2012

Granny’s first day

Hello All.

A very quick post as I have to leave for work in a few minutes.

I wish I could tell you I had an exciting day yesterday.
Not going to happen.
I had forgotten how boring office work is.
It was a long four hours.

The boss took me on a tour of the factory.
Which isn’t very big.
But has MASSIVE machinery.
Is noisy.
And smells of oil.
Which I quite like.
But we all know I am a bit weird.

They are a precision engineering company.
And make a lot of little thingies for the motor industry.
A far cry from Cape Town.
Where everything was spotless.

My friend has two Great Danes.
And she brings them to work!
One is an old girl but the other is a lovely dog.
Who has taken a liking to me.
And would get on my lap if she could.
One of them also farts a lot.
I must take a picture today.

Well, I said this was going to be a very quick post.
I need to get ready to go.

Catch you all later.

Responses

  1. enjoy the day, you may need air freshener as office supplies as you can’t leave all the windows and doors open in winter

    • Morning Sidey…don’t think I am going to be sitting in that office too much….lovely dogs…I can put up with it!

      • hopefully you can be active, i end up so stiff after a day of sitting

  2. Good luck with the new job Granny, nice to hear that you have two canine colleagues πŸ™‚

    • Friendly one too Optie. πŸ™‚

  3. My goodness I would be terrified if someone had brought two dogs into the office! And you’d almost got used to not working… mind you four hours a day would be perfect for me.

    • Four hours is just great Piglet…once we have finally finished with the flat I will have quite a bit of spare time to look forward to.

  4. Good luck with the new job!

  5. Hope your first day goes well. Sounds very different, but I’m sure you’ll fit in and add a bit of class to the place. πŸ˜‰

    • Class and me in the same sentence AD?????

  6. Hope it gets better, but tell me how you’re going to take a picture of a dog farting? πŸ™‚

    • Didn’t you see the blue cloud around them Roly????

  7. greetings from Canada, I must have missed some posts, as I am not sure why you moved away, stopped working at old job..and now have a new one? too bad you are not in cape..because we will be coming to visit in oct 2012!! you make me laugh!! hang in there!!!

  8. love the pics,,names ? for me please..thanks, s

    • Hi Susanne…I am now in Port Elizabeth…about 850kms from Cape Town.
      Left CT to come up and look after my parents.
      Am really sorry I won’t get to see you.

  9. Maybe the job will get a little more interesting as you get deeper into it. That’s incredible that your friend is allowed to bring her Danes to work! I’m not surprised that one took an instant liking to you – dogs are very intuitive when it comes to people. πŸ™‚

    Hope your second day goes well!

  10. Congratulations on getting through your first day.

  11. new jobs are always the same until you get to know the ropes…take it easy!

    • I am taking it easy Patrecia…this job is a walk in the park…very little pressure.

  12. Beautiful dogs at work hey I can do that job! How fun. My husband started a new job yesterday as well in a place that repairs huge motors. He said it was like a vacation compared to that last place he worked. I am so happy for him. Especially since he had to lose four weeks of vacation to get this new job.

    • That is great news linda…nothing worse than being unhappy at work.

  13. We had Great Danes growing up . . . three, sequentially, not all at once. I’d love to see photos of your canine office mates. πŸ˜€

    • Your wish was my command!

  14. You will be fine once you know how things run there, and four hours can’t be too bad of a working day!
    Looking forward to some pics of your canine colleagues (minus the farts)! πŸ˜‰ Dogs know a good person when they see one.

    • Hi Again Barb…no farts today…maybe I am becoming immune?

      • πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  15. Lovely dogs, Gran. Maybe you can take one or other for walks each day too! Sounds OK so far… (job-wise)…


Leave a Reply

Categories

