Posted by: granny1947 | May 9, 2012

granny tries again,and again.

Hello All.

Once again with no photo.
Granny has given up.
It just feels so WRONG with no pic.
Our service provider is coming in to put in my own phone line next Tuesday.
Maybe things will improve.

So I had a fun day today.
I went to have my drivers licence renewed.
I was very chuffed that we found our way to the place first go.
I didn’t even get us slightly lost.
Then I saw the queue.
Oh my word.
I was there for more than three hours.
Fortunately, I could get Mex in to relieve me now and again.
My back was killing me and I needed to walk a little.

I am quite good in situations like that.
Within a few minutes I had the whole life history of the woman next to me.
It wasn’t that interesting.
But it passed the time.
Then I got my e-reader out and read for a while.
Which reminds me.
I haven’t forgotten Twolisas.
I WILL be downloading the preview of your book soon.
I promise.

I was told I needed three photos for the licence.
So we stopped on the way there.
I had the pics taken.
They take four and give you eight.
When I eventually got to the head of the line I was told I didn’t need the photos.
I now have EIGHT really lousy photos of myself.
Think I will send them to my offspring.
It will discourage them from ever moving in with me again.

Tomorrow I need to go to the Unemployment Insurance people.
I am told the lines are worse there.
Think of me.

My physio in Cape Town gave me the name of a physio here.
What a lovely young lady.
I think she helped.
But today set me right back again.
Never fear…I have another appointment with her on Friday.
And the drugs are good.

Now I am off to have a hot shower.
Then one of the above drugs.
And then I shall sleep.
Life is good.
Well, it is getting a little better.

Responses

  1. Glad things are getting better, hope you two are pacing yourselves!

  2. I’m glad to hear things are getting better Granny! Oh, I just hate lines like that. They fixed our Motor Vehicle here so it flows quickly and smoothly – I’m never there more than 10 minutes. It’s the one thing our previous governor did right! πŸ˜‰ Good luck tomorrow!

    • Hi RD….can we borrow your previous governor please?

  3. lots of love Granny you’re doing well

  4. You’re sounding a bit more cheerful, granny. Good luck with the UIF people tomorrow. Hugs xx

    • Morning AD….can’t face another queue today….next week!

      • In that case, just take it easy, and recharge your batteries. xx

  5. Sleep well, Granny. Glad things are on the upswing.

  6. I have to go for my renewal too. My daughter went a couple of weeks ago and said it took her 2 1/2 hours. I hope they take pity on me with my crutches!

  7. You are a woman of great wonders! Thank goodness you have given yourself time to look after all these things and didn’t start a job right away!

  8. You’re a very cool granny, evidently!

  9. Glad to hear things are getting better hon. Thinking of you. πŸ™‚
    *big hugs* to you, Jasmine and Tom.
    MWAH! xxx

  10. There is nothing worse than queuing for hours, my back does not like it much either. Sounds like you’re slowly getting sorted πŸ™‚

  11. You could always copy + paste old photos from earlier posts for now. We wouldn’t know the difference πŸ™‚

  12. Such fun indeed! I am sure everyone is violently envious.
    With your skell at extracting life histories, you should make some money on the side. ‘Thanks for your story – now, would you care to buy it back from me? …’ (evil leer) ‘… or I publish it!’

    • Hi Col…will need to find someone with an interesting story!!!
      Like your idea…especially as I am not working!

  13. Take them drugs Gran, fly high πŸ™‚

  14. The fiasco with the photos made me laugh! I don’t suppose you laughed very much at the time, though. 😦
    Sounds like things are improving/settling down a little.

    • HI Elaine….we are getting there…slowly!


Leave a Reply

Categories

