Posted by: granny1947 | April 28, 2012

Granny is Kaput/finished and buggered

Hello All.

Just popping in.
And,for some reason, I can’t download a photo.
This feels so wrong.

Did I turn 65 on Wednesday?
I think my mother made a mistake on my birth certificate.
I feel 165!!!!

It has been a comedy of errors.
I left work at midday on Wednesday.
When I got home my son had packed everything.
And I mean everything.
My bed.
My underwear.
My makeup.
Men do NOT understand what is important.

When I asked him(very calmly) where we were going to sleep he saidΒ  “at his place”|
I threw a wobbly and said….no way.
He already has two bitches that fight to the death.
And I don’t mean my granddaugher and his wife.
Eventually, he agreed to send two mattresses back with elder son.
Who turned up with ONE single bed mattress.

Mex and I can’t sleep in a double bed together.
A single mattress was impossible.
I was still awake at two thirty.
And panicking because I knew I had a nine trip ahead.
So I went and slept on the floor.
Didn’t know I could.
So, I had two and a half hours sleep and we hit the road.

It was not a good trip.
Tom was an angel.
He grumbled a bit but he wasn’t bad.
We let him out of his box and he slept on the floor at Grandson’s feet.
And pee’d once….my car smells delightful.

Jasmine,on the other hand, was a complete bitch.
She panted in my ear.
She whined.
She barked at every person we saw.
She slept for a measly ten minutes.
Ten LOUSY minutes.
I could have killed her.

On the upside she and the resident dog seem to be getting on well.
Tom has settled and sleeps with my Mom.
He hasn’t ventured out yet but I am relieved to see he is using the litter box.

When we arrived I saw,with horror, that our “flat” was much smaller than I was expecting.
I am going to have to toss some of my furniture.
I am slowly getting the place right.
But Mex is suffering in the process.
He sliced a big chunk out of his arm.
He lifted the washing machine and felt his hip jump out.
Fortunately, it jumped right back in again.

I am just hobbling around like an old woman.
I am exhausted.
And tempers are fraying.
But, we will get there.
Eventually.

I will write more tomorrow.
I have supper on the go.
I had better go and look at it.
I am on my second glass of wine.
A few more sips and I won’t give a damn!

Miss you all.

Responses

  1. When you hit the big 7 in five years you will look upon this kindergarten event with a big smile. Happy resettling you will make it.

    • Thanks Newsey…I will get there…it will just take a bit longer. πŸ™‚

  2. You’re a real trooper, granny, and so is Mex. Hope his arm heals ok, and glad his hip can jump both ways. πŸ˜‰ Hugs to you. xx

    • Hi AD….am totally exhausted and am off to bed…lots of love.

  3. Happy belated birthday! I hope you’ve settled a bit more after today.

    • Thanks Pussycat…..I made supper and then dropped it on the lounge floor on the way to the dining room…sigh

      • Oh, poor Granny.
        Lucky Jasmine! No doubt she got to clean up the mess.

  4. Hey granny, i’m missing you soooo much. Send my love to everyone there. And especially to Jasmine. I love you so much and i hope i get to see you soon. πŸ™‚

    • Hello My Darling…I will make a plan…love you to the sky and back!

  5. Even though we never really saw each other often, it was good to know that you were nearby! Miss you already 😦 You drove passed my house and never stopped for a hug 😦

  6. I hope the settling in goes smoothly – well, as smoothly as these things can go!

  7. I am really laughing at this I hate to say. Granny you could make an earthquake and flood sound funny! I can just imagine Jasmine because my dog would have been doing the same thing. Poor Mex. I love that Tom is sleeping with your mom, that is so sweet. You guys slow down and take it easy. Can’t wait to hear more funnies.

  8. A long drive and trying to move everything in on the same day. you should be sleeping in the loony bin!

    glad to hear you got there safely

  9. Oh Granny, you have all my sympathy hon. Really! Wish I could have been there to help or do something, but know that you are all in my hearts and I am sending you lots of good wishes and good energy so everything will be just better every day. πŸ™‚
    Lots of love & hugs to you all. πŸ™‚
    xxx

  10. Oh granny…..I hope all goes well and that you will soon look back on this all and laugh. Glad to hear that you are there safe n sound. Sorry about Mex. Glad the hip jumped back in. Poor Jasmine. My Tasha is a dreadful traveller…usually deposits puke all over the back seat urrgghhh….you should have had take outs for supper luv. Much love to you and I wish you all the best. Happy Birthday again for the 25th. I do hope you got my message xxx

  11. Moving house is exhausting. I’ve not done it more than a few times but each time I vow I’ll never do it again!

  12. Yep! Moved 28 times in my life, it gets easier!
    But we always carry so much unnecessary stuff, don’t we?
    Tomorrow has to be better……
    Fingers crossed.
    Liz

  13. Sounds hectic. Take a break to re-energise πŸ™‚

  14. My gosh! Can’t believe we’re there already. Nice to hear from you; glad you arrived safely. The rest is the journey that you’ll blog about. Looking forward to seeing you find your feet and hearing all the good stories. For now: one day at a time.

  15. Poor Granny! It will all be worth it in the end.

  16. I hope you soon have things to your liking. Quick healing to Mex!

  17. In retrospect (maybe 2052) you will look back on all this and laugh. Just deal with one day at a time and then you will be sorted out and settled.

  18. One thing is certain, Granny, there’s one great big gem waiting for your crown. I take my hat off to you big time! Hope your determination keeps you well centered. Love you, dear woman.

  19. Granny I have done the moving thing more times than I can count. Moving is not fun no matter how I try to fool myself it is. Sending you get settled quick wishes. I am so glad Tom was a good boy!

  20. Happy belated birthday Granny! I can see that I missed a lot during my non-blogging week. Moves like that are never easy, but wine helps smooth things over at the end of the day! πŸ˜‰ I hope you’re settled in soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

