Posted by: granny1947 | April 16, 2012

Granny and the myth

Hello All.

So yesterday was 100 years since the Titanic went now.
Not true.
You can’t believe all you read.
Have another look at the picture.
See the name?
It was right there in Kalk Bay Harbour.
It does look 100 years old.
Just wonder where the ballroom is.

I met a couple of lovely bloggers for lunch.
As you know Kalk Bay is one of favourite places.
And I ate this.

And I shouldn’t have done that.
Have been feeling queasy all day.
My body does not do fried food.
Especially fried food in a batter.
It has been telling me off all day.
But the company was great.
So it was worth it.

That was probably my last visit to the place.
Will have to find another dive in PE.
Where the people are from all walksย  of life.
And the vibe is incredible.

They have a waitress there.
With no front teeth.
And an attitude of note.
She had us in stitches.
She came up to us at one stage and said “you have finished eating,you can leave now”
One of the bloggers said “what about dessert”?
Oh she said…we have cake.
What kind of cake she was asked.
FISHCAKE!!!!

Memories part two is bouncing around in my brain.
I might just do it tomorrow.
If I don’t have so much damn work to do.

Mwah.

Oh yes…Older Eyes asked what Mwah means.
Bud …it is a big kiss.

Responses

  1. Haha Glad you had such a good time Granny! That fried platter looks reeeeeally good, but I’d have paid a gastro price for it too. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That waitress either had a crazy sense of humor or she was just nuts! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hi Rd….I have just eaten a big plate of mac and cheese…kill or cure!

  2. Aww man, that sure does look tasty! I can’t believe they spent years searching that wreck, if only someone had spoken up sooner they could have saved everyone a lot of time and awful acting!

    • I am trying not to look at it Dave…makes me want to oops.

  3. No deep-fried stuff for me either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Someone on that old boat has a sense of humour.

    • And how Pussycat….just loved it.

  4. What a FABULOUS day we had!! Thank you SO much for making time for us in your hectic last few days ๐Ÿ™‚ That waitress was a treat!!! We will definitely go back there and have many drinks and “grilled” fish for you xxxxx Love you lots MWHA *hides two cases of Merlot behind Granny’s calendar to help her get to the 25th*

    • Hello My Friend…I was so touched that you came so far to say goodbye….am so glad you had fun!
      I need the wine…have run out.
      Disaster!
      Mwah to you too.

  5. What’s a little indigestion compared to the company of warm and caring friends. Gad you enjoyed the day Granny.

    • It was great Judith. I don’t get indigestion. I get headaches and nausea!!!

  6. Delicious fish & chips – can’t tell you the day last I ate it! I think I would suffer the heartburn gladly for some right now! All the meals in this place are apologies, lol!

    • Oh Dear Adee…do you have to eat there every day?

  7. Oh My Word the waitress!

    • Hi Inswakazi…the waitress makes the place…such attitude…you just have to laugh at her.

  8. hehehe, I smiled at that Titanic. Makes me wonder too Granny, but I am sure you will go and find out…LOL!

    That looks delicious and hubby was there as well one day and he says he enjoyed it so much. Gosh, now I am hungry again! I love fish and chips. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am sure you are going to find a great dive in PE. You are our “traveller” Granny…showing people like me all those places where we would like to go but can’t. Thanks for the lovely photo’s. I love your photo’s. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Whahahahah! Fishcake sounds like a good dessert! LOL!
    Have a great day hon.
    *big hugs and lots of smooches to you and Jasmine*
    MWAH!

    • I absolutely adore that place Sonel…the atmosphere is fantastic.

  9. Kalkbay fish n chips are sooooooo lekker ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I know but next time I will have grilled!

  10. Next time, I’ll split the order with you and we can get side salads to balance out the oil. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hi NR…don’t think they even sell salads…it is pure oil and batter…yech…don’t want to think about it!

  11. I know you don’t want to think about it Granny but it looks absolutely deelicious! Heart healthy, not so much. But it would be a great splurge.

    • You HAD to bring it up again Sweetday….I have just recovered!

  12. I knew if I settled down to erad your blog with a nice glass of wine, I’d end up spilling it! I can’t believe that waitress was she serious?

  13. PS, I forgot to say fish and chips just like the ones pictured used to be one of my favourite suppers in the UK. Made me feel homesick ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


Leave a Reply

Categories

