Posted by: granny1947 | March 30, 2012

Granny is thinking hard

Hello All.

We met this lovely young lady the evening before last.
Heavy rain yesterday.
So no walkies.
When we got out of the car she greeted us.
But,almost, made herself into a ball in an attempt to be submissive to Jasmine.
Once Jasmine had given her the nod of approval she went ballistic.
Bouncing around asย  she followed us down to the beach.
I was a bit concerned as there was no owner in sight.
Then I caught sight of her collar.
In big writing the words “I am NOT lost”
Too cute.

So the countdown has begun.
Thanks to all the holidays and weekends in April I only have 16 more working days.
They are going to fly by.
And I have seven years of files and private stuff on my computer.
I have to start sorting and deleting.
And deleting.
And deleting.

And then a thought hit me.
At present I live in the Western Cape.
The Western Cape is run by the official opposition party.
It is the best run province in the country.
I am moving to the Eastern Cape.
It is run by the ruling party.
It doesn’t work.
In the Western Cape if a pothole appears it is fixed within a couple of days.
In the Eastern Cape potholes remain until you can tile them and build a swimming pool.

The opposition party is fighting to get control of the Port Elizabeth area.
I wonder if I should offer my services?
The official opposition is run by a woman.
I am a woman.
We have something in common already.
Me in politics.
The mind boggles.

I am off just now to have lunch with an old lady.
Let me rephrase that.
An elderly lady.
She stills goes hiking every week.
I shall spend lunchtime listening to all her ailments.
Again.
But it doesn’t matter.
It is just one hour out of my life.
And it means so much to her.
She is an old family friend of my first husband’s family.
Has never married.
Clever girl.
But I think she is very lonely.

I am furious with Grandson but will vent about that tomorrow.
For now it is a matter of deep breaths.
Lots of deep breaths.

Now…back to work.
Lots to do in the next sixteen days.

Responses

  1. WOW granny, your time here is about done. Need to make a little plan to see you before you leave. Sad at the thought ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Enjoy your lunch!

    • Hi Colleen…yes please….we MUST get together.

      • Working on it…..xxx

      • I see so Colleen….can’t wait to see you all again.

  2. What a lovely “not lost” lady that was indeed Granny! Great shot! I so love seeing your beautiful photographs and reading what you’ve been up to. I think you will do very well in politics. You will give them hell for sure and we will get what we want! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope the deep breathing helps for you. I’m past that stage. LOL!
    Have a wonderful day!
    *big hugs* to you and Jasmine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The one upside to my move,Sonel, no teenagers to stress about.

      • Then I am very glad for you granny. I don’t know about you but I just don’t have the patience for teenage tantrums anymore. I had my share. Now I’ll just kill with a smile..hehehehe.
        Have a great weekend and big hugs to you and Jasmine. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Infact the tiling and the making of swimming pools happens just before the municipal elections – just so we can see something new and shiny.

    • Yes Inzwakazi…the most annoying part of it all is they think we are to stupid to see through them.

  4. How sensible to put on the dog’s collar that it is not lost. Obviously a lady with an independent spirit.

    • Hi Optie…think the owners must have got sick of fetching her from animal rescue!

  5. Go luck on your cleaning out of your files. I do not envy you that task.

    • Hi Maire….am going to have to set myself a target every day…have over 2000 e-mails in my inbox!

  6. I’d vote for you!

    • Thank you Sue…am not sure I would vote for me!

  7. Wow, sixteen days. I’ll bet they go by in a blur. Don’t envy you all that purging and deleting. I hate that chore more than vacuuming. The picture of the beach in grey is beautiful.

    • Hi Kathy….seven years is a LOT of files….sigh

  8. yup- off to the ‘party’ land

    • Hmmmm Sidey….party land….humpff

  9. Oh my goodness, the dog collar message is priceless – that will most DEFINITELY make it into our stories some day! Your move sounds…stressful. You won’t be away from your lovely beach will you?? That would be Tragic indeed.

    Our new book awaits you – can send a gift copy if you have a way to read it electronically. It will eventually be in print too, but that will be awhile yet…we’ll try to be patient & considerate, like you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Lisa….yes…I am leaving my beach…am very sad about that…will have to look for a nice one in Port Elizabeth….minus the mountains.
      Would LOVE to read your book…thank you so much…and I DO have an e-reader.

      • Awesome! What type of e-reader do you have?? I can email you a gift copy.
        Just think of Port Elizabeth as an extension of your beach – they are connected after all (and I’m *assuming* ‘port’ = water) lol

      • Hi Lisa….yes PE is on the coast…but it doesn’t have any mountains…sob.
        I have a Sony E-reader….thank you so much…can hardly wait.

  10. It’s good that you are counting down the time to your last day at work. It’d be horrible if you left nail marks on the walls as they pulled you out of your office!

    • Yep Souldipper….definitely no nail marks…this season of my life is over….let the new one begin.

  11. When I left the University to move to FL . . . I took great delight in purging file after file after cyber file.

    Read . . . Delete . . . Repeat!

    Aah . . . that’s BETTER! Have FUN.

    • Actually, NR…I think you are quite right…getting rid of all that stuff will be liberating!

  12. Hi, so you’re off to Port Elizabeth. I will look forward to your photos from there. I have friends in Cape Town. When I visited in ’85 T. was living by the University and then in ’98 she was in Bloubergrand. Cape Town is the most beautiful city I’ve ever visited!
    Mara – http://africatoalgarve.blogspot.com/

    • That is exactly how I feel Mara….I just love this place…never get sick of the beauty.

  13. Dear old Granny took an axe
    And gave her Grandson fory whacks –
    Afterwards, then, Granny joked,
    ‘Well, I really was provoked!’

    • Hi Col…telling him he is losing his hair is FAR worse than forty whacks!!!

      • Ah, the psychological approach as opposed to the physical!

  14. What a great dog picture with those cute little dog feet in the sand. Oh how I will miss the beach. Why are you moving to a worse area? I must have missed a post somewhere.

    • You missed a whole lot Linda…I turn 65 this month…no more job…am off to look after my parents!

      • Oh ok. Well that is a good reason to move then. I hope all will go well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

