Posted by: granny1947 | March 11, 2012

Granny’s Sunday Somethings.

Hello All.

Murphy is visiting my house.
Does anyone want to invite him over?
I told you my new PC expired.
So I took out my old one.
Corrupt registry.
Something like our politicians.
Apparently this happens if a PC stands around.
Apparently I should have known this.
Apparently I am an idiot.
Anyway, I shall have to take it to work tomorrow.
My sweet IT guy is going to be happy to see the back of me next month.

I have spent the last two days at my friend’s house.
The one who took me to Swaziland.
Twice.
Oh this is silly.
Her name is Mary-Lou.
Hereafter known as ML.
She has her own business.
And was up to her neck in paperwork.
So I volunteered to give her a hand.
She wanted to pay me.
But I said no.
Apparently, I AM an idiot.

She is one of those people who can’t stand being indebted to someone.
I can relate.
So…on day one she gave me a Cross pen.
A VERY expensive pen.
I love pens.
But now I have to keep checking my bag.
Just to make sure it is still there.

Yesterday she showed me her new sunglasses.
She ordered them from overseas.
Something Ford glasses.
Angelina Jolie has the identical pair.
I don’t know how she knows that.
Now she is buying me a pair.
Oh my God.
I am going to be completely neurotic.
I have been known to lose sunglasses.
I have been known to sit on sunglasses.
I am going to have to chain them around my neck with a padlock.

Aren’t those colours fabulous?

We are locked into our village this morning.
The big Argus cycle race is taking place.
There will be a lot of people wondering why the hell they did it tomorrow.
Cape Town is completely disrupted when this race takes place.
The race is around the whole peninsula.
And loads of roads are closed.
We will only be able to get out around about lunchtime.

Once I can escape I am off toΒ  ML for a couple of hours.
The to the airport to fetch Wendy.
Her last chemo tomorrow.
I am so happy for her.

Now I am off to the beach.
The sun has just shown it’s head.
There is a 65 km wind forecast.
Right now it is calm.
Better make hay.

Catch you all later.

Responses

  1. I do hope my niece who is riding the Argus gets done BEFORE the wind really starts.

    • Hi Sidey…well, if the wind is behind her she might just fly around.

      • I hope it goes well for her, she is such a stunning wife, mum and family member, and she really wants to do this!

      • Have you heard anything yet Sidey?

  2. Yea, our semi-locked in day. You forgot to mention the expected 33C this afternoon.

    • Good Morning Newsy…I am trying to ignore that fact…the wind might help the heat…I hope.

  3. Yes, those colours are fabulous. And I share your love of pens.

    • Oh Yes Grandmalin…got my love of pens from my Dad…have quite a few lovely fountain pens from him…not that I ever use them now…don’t think I even have a bottle of ink in the house.

  4. Wow! Stunning photo’s! LOL! Sunglasses with a padlock around your neck. Would love to see that! hehehehe
    Have a great day Granny and love & hugs to you and Jasmine. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Sonel…when I saw those clolours I just had to stop and snap.

  5. Murphy is the one guy I won’t mind being homeless πŸ˜‰ Your friend sounds very generous. For me a good pair of sunglasses is essential; my eyes are very light sensitive. Good luck with Wendy’s chemo. I hope all goes well πŸ™‚ Speaking of the Argus… It’s such a beautiful day; I miss my bike. Hope you get your PC sorted soon πŸ™‚

    • Tell me about it Yada…both computers and the remote for our complex!!

  6. Yes, there are lovely colours in your photo. Looks like it’s going to be a sunny day here, too! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Wightrabbit….it has turned into a stinker here…glad I got my walk in early.

  7. Kathy, you sound soooo much better even with your broken computer. But look you have a Cross pen and fancy sunglasses and Wendy has her last chemo (I pray for her every day) and you’re trapped by the cycling race. What could be better?

    • It was all good Maire. πŸ™‚

  8. Gorgeous colors, Granny! Enjoy your visit with Wendy. And good for you helping ML. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks NR…the colours almost look false.

  9. Hi,
    Yip, fabulous colours. I used to have a photocopy of a pic I took on my visit to Cape Town in 1998 in my office and one of my friends once asked me, “Are those colours actually real?”
    My best friend rode in the Argus race once. She was so proud, she even sent me the newspaper!

    • Piglet….is this you??????

      • No, I’m a friend of Piglet, though. We met at a coffee morning and she is the inspiration I needed to start blogging, too.

  10. Stunning photo! You are blessed to have such a nice friend, as she is blessed to have you. A trick for the sunglasses — never take them out of the car. Before getting out place them on the dash (or wherever you would put them) and you’ll never lose or sit on them.

    • Hehehe Kathy…this is South Africa…if you leave anything on the dashboard it is considered an invitation to break into the car.

      • Oops, sorry about that, living here in Backwater, Alberta I tend to forget things like that. LOL, I don’t know what else to suggest.

  11. Nice to see you back blogging.

    PLEASE, please, do not touch your registry, who or what told you that you had a corrupt registry, you will not get it by a PC sitting around.

    PLease let me know what the pop-up said.

    • Hi Harry…I didn’t see the message.
      Am picking it up again this weekend and will bring it into work.
      It is the computer I want to set up for my Mom so I would like to get it up and running before I leave Cape Town.

      • I will email you to-morrow with a good registry cleaner to use and see how it goes.

        Do’nt use any you find on the web.

      • thank you Harry…that is very kind of you,

      • Granny i sent the email to omnipless, you might need help the first time, but then you could be a smart granny πŸ™‚

      • Thanks so much Harry….will see it when I get to work.
        Am glad you sent it there….my printer at home needs ink.

      • p.s. Please won’t you vist mecannylad(see below) and then tell me how to comment on his post….it looks like a fun post.

  12. So glad to know that they let you out, granny. I bet jasmine was overjoyed to have you home. Absolutely stunning photos. We need one of you in your AJ shades. πŸ˜‰ xxx

  13. Granny! We keep missing each other (you have too many fans lol)…hope you see this – so much to catch up on!

    • Hi the Lisa’s…I will never have too many fans…life has just been so hectic.
      I promise I haven’t forgotten you. πŸ™‚

  14. Love the Cross Pen and the Angelina J shades but more love the idea that Wendy is having her final chemo. Best wishes for that. πŸ™‚

    • Oh Judith…me too thought I will seeing her every three weeks.

  15. We’ll have to call you AJ the 2nd and ask for autographs so we can see that Cross pen. Is it the office thing that turn us on to good pens?

    Yay for Wendy. Isn’t it incredible? More golden blankets for the girl!

    • Oh Souldipper….keep those golden blankets coming please.
      AJ the second?
      Liposuction,facelift and several million dollars and I STILL wouldn’t look like her…don’t think the glasses will look the same on me!

  16. You are a very lucky Granny. wish I had a friend who gave me such nice pressies.

    • You will have to find your own Ruth…I am not sharing her. πŸ™‚

  17. aaah the Argus ..
    one thing I do NOT miss about Cape Town …

    • Hello My Friend….it is SO disruptive.
      How are you love?

  18. Poor granny – cursed with good friends πŸ™‚

    • I know Tilly…it is such a burden!

  19. You always paint a wonderful picture with your posts…… (and thanks for `taking in` Mecannylad ) ….

    • Thank you Mecannylad…sweet thing to say….now where is the turps?

      • I`m still very much a beginner at this blogging lark. Not too happy with `Blogger` as a platform … might transfer to WordPress sometime soon … in the meantime you can comment via my email …. Just a thought; I`m looking for an established blogger to post a guest post on Mecannylad just simply to give me more credibility …. would you be up for it ?…. one problem … I don`t bloody well know how to do it!!!
        Regards, Mecannylad

      • Hi Mecannylad….that sounds like fun,
        I have been over to your post a couple of times and really want to comment.
        Can’t find out where!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        Harry…..help….please visit him and come and tell me!

    • How does one put a comment on your post?
      Wanted to share something with you!

  20. ML is such a wonderful friend! And you’re so kind for helping her out, too. πŸ™‚

    It’s a pain when they close roads for such silly things, but it’s even worse here, I think, because they don’t close any roads and the fund-raising and marathon cyclists are on the same roads with those of us in cars. It’s like they’re challenging us – “we’re cycling in packs, taking up more than half the roadway…I dare you to get too close”. Their attitudes are so annoying!!

  21. Hi RD….Cape Town has a couple of big races and the place is cycle mad(must be the scenery) so I know just what you mean by the attitude of some of them.

  22. That is a dream for sure. So very beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

